We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have been wanting to check out the Breakwater since it was remodeled and I finally did. Thanks to Natalie, who not only helped me with my booking but also was very nice and pleasant. My original reservation was cancelled on accident through a 3rd party and she made sure I was able to get the same rate and date. I loved the hotel, it has a great location and the room was very clean. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are happy we were able to fix the booking issue you had with the outside company We loved having you here visiting with us! Natalie and the Team look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Best regard,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    450
    204
    97
    149
See reviews for
185
682
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The room is ok and breakfast as well. Otherwise not too impressed by the people working at the reception. The location is pretty good but it is quite noisy because of a bar with very laud music. Overall I do not think I will come back to this place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
The Team and I loved having you here visiting with us. We hope you will reconsider and visit with us again soon. Please contact me directly to organize a wonderful time for you.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice hotel with very helpful and friendly staff (Mario and Natalie)! In spite of outdoor clubbing at night, we did not hear a lot of the party "noises". If we will visit Miami Beach again, we will definitely consider booking the Breakwater Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We loved having you here! Mario, Natalie and the Team look forward to having you here visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

In the heart of Deco District right on South Beach. Venue is nice, room are good price quality ratio and they also have choice of quieter rooms so u don't have to listen to the parties till 5am. Wish they offered king size beds rather than queen.
Staff service is ok and if they improved the overall level that would be better. Reception very friendly and a bit confused on room costs charges etc.
Not my recommended location for Miami after being coming for several years.
Ciao

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your experience visiting with us. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit, but we loved having you here with us! We look forward to having an opportunity to have you visit with us again soon so we can provide you with a wonderful time.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by the breakwater hotel after out can took us to south beach , we wanted to just come to the beach but we had all of our luggage and bags with us, the hotels bell boys and manager assisted us in out requests even though we weren't guest and had no intention of staying . They then stored our luggage for a small
Fee of $5 , and helped us in touring south beach. It was a lot to ask for even though we weren't guests , but they helped anyway. They even arranged a car service to transport is to Ft lauderdale to catch our flight. I know for a fact the next time we're in Miami we're staying here

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments! It is our pleasure to take care of everyone we can. We look forward to having you visit with in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My sister, best friend and I needed a place to store our luggage until our flight and the staff was so nice. It was $5 a bag but Mario even went and booked our transportation to get to the airport just out of courtesy. The hotel itself was in a great location. Next to everything you would want to go to. When I go back to Miami I'm def staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjoseph16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments! We loved you visiting with us. Mario and the Team look forward to having you here in the center of South Beach with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

excellent location, very nice and friendly team especially nathalie and pablo .
A bit noisy, but fun in the center of ocean drive! Great week in general
lots of restaurant close to the hotel
Will come again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
So great to hear you had a fun time here with us! We loved you being here. Natalie, Pablo and the Team look forward to you visiting with us here in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#72 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#108 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#106 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing