We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An average hotel in the middle of south beach but with excellent service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Trosa, Sweden
1 review
“An average hotel in the middle of south beach but with excellent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel keeps an average standard in the middle of South Beach, Clean and OK but the shower in our room was wrongly constructed so the water ran out out the bathroom floor and carpet. Broken lamps etc. also takes down our judgement. The restaurant was also no better than the average South Beach restaurants offering nothing else than the others, nice staff however.
Best of all was our porter Rony who was extraordinarily service minded, allways happy to help out with anything we needed. Rony also contributed with that "extra" that is so important for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and give our best regards to Rony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and observations. It was great having you here with us. I will share your delight with Rony's service and use your observations to focus our efforts to ever improve the guest's experience in our fun, active and entertaining property. We look forward to you visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    448
    204
    97
    149
See reviews for
185
681
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel was just what we needed for our vacation. Rony and all others in customer service were helpful, always smiling, and very welcoming. Rony also carried our bags to our taxi, about a block over, on our last day. So amazing! Our room was facing another hotel that had music playing all night, but it did not bother us. What do you come to South Beach to do? Have a blast!!!! We want to thank everyone who helped make our stay great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and observations! It was great having you here visiting with us. We look forward to having you here with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Check-in was easy and smooth, but they pre-assign your rooms and so you have no say in whether you face a back alley or the loud noisy club/pool. The city garbage trucks come every other day and are very loud and startling and the club on starting on Thursday nights and through the weekend goes until 2 or 3 am and earplugs cannot even tune it out. So staying here for other than partying and pleasure should not be considered. They have the air conditioning turned off when you get to your rooms. All signs and plaques are missing letters. Fortunately my husband has some muscle because we had issues opening and closing our door. We stayed there last year and it was not this bad. My parents were in the same room as last year and we pointed out maintenance things that needed to be fixed and they had yet to fix them a year later. Our shower has mold. The cleaning ladies leave the bare minimum with the towels and coffee so day after day we had to call the front desk for more towels. They have black out shades, but light come in through the sides so bad on the windows. They have a patio on the top floor for guests but it wasn't always open and the door would lock randomly. Also half way through our stay they decided to start maintenance on our pool and the closest pool was 2 blocks away. And don't let them fool you with the "free" breakfast that comes with the resort fee. It is hardly enough to eat nor edible. On a better note. They do offer bicycles you can use for free to ride along the beach. They have towels for you to bring to the beach and they have valet guys are quick and are good about helping you get a cab. All in all it's just not a place for the well traveled people.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngbutsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your observations and suggestions. It was great having you here with us. Your comments will help focus us on ways to make our guests every more comfortable in our energetic and active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Our location can sometimes be a bit noisy because of all the activity in and around our property. It being a historic building, we continue to work within those parameters to consider measures which minimize noisiness for our guests. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last Thursday night (1/30/14). We were very impressed with this hotel. From check-in to check-out the staff made us feel like family. We must give a special thank you to the young gentleman who checked us in and showed us our room, Darlon. He really made us feel welcome from the second we stepped into the lobby, and took his time to answer all of our questions, even though he was very busy at the time. Once again Darlon, thank you! We will forever stay at this hotel every time we are in South Beach!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
It was great to have you visiting with us! Thank you for your kind remarks and observations. I am glad you two enjoyed yourselves at our fun, active and energetic spot! We look forward to having you here with again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Almost everything in the hotel is good or better. Room, people, free usage of wifi and computer, including printers, at lobby, location directly in Ocean Drive, etc. Only two points not that good. First, breakfast. Everything was good, but, assortment was very, very, very limited. Second point is about noise. During the night the music in the outdoor bar in Ocean Drive arrives very strongly to the rooms not facilitating the sleeping at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arruxo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
It was wonderful having you here with us! Thank you for your observations and suggestions. They are very helpful focusing our activities to provide an ever more comfortable guest experience in our fun, energetic and entertaining property in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Our wonderful location is very fun and at times noisy because of the the activity, live music and general merriment that is South Beach. We are seeking methods in our historic property to minimize some of the noise in the rooms when our guests want to rest from all their activities. We look forward to having you here again in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We arrived from our flight at 7:30am and were forced to sit, sleep and wait in the lounge AND dinning area until 3:30pm! When a room was finally made available, the room had a used condom wrapper in the ccorner of the bed, mold in the shower, and broken A/C. The room was 80 degrees for the 1st hour we were in the room! The service and cleanliness were horrible!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_hays_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
First, I am very disappointed to hear about the inconveniences you experienced while visiting with us! Please accept my apology! I know when you were with us that a very large group arrived at 730am, when our guaranteed check in time is 4pm. Many guests had to wait in our lobbies and lounges while our in-house guests checked out (check out wasn't until 11am and several left later than that) and rooms were prepared by our staff knowing many people were waiting to get to their rooms. Still, there is no excuse for finding the conditions you mention in the room. Thank you for your observations as they will serve as a focus for ever improving the comfort of our guests. Please contact me directly on your next visit with us so we can enjoy our fun, energetic location properly as our guest.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I prepaid my rooms on Hotel.com, called the day of arrival to confirm of late arrival, as yet when I arrived at 11 PM, there is no room for me and my daughter, excuse was the A/C in the room does not work and we had to be moved to other hotels!! I insisted to be on Ocean Drive, they put me to Edgewater, 4 blocks away, and I have to walk, dragging my luggages with a security man escorted to Edgewater..I was so upset as I did call in the morning, I was promised to an upgrade the next day which I had..I was on the penthouse level. The room as a balcony, no ocean view, The hallway carpet is old and needs to be replaced. The room is new with modern decor, adequate space with good bedding. The bathroom is modern with rain shower. I have to call maintenance to fix the sliding door as the stopper is not properly adjusted and I mashed my knuckles agains the wall as I try to close it. There is no hot water and the handheld spray shower is leaking ...breakfast is included with eggs, bacons, mini croissants, bagels, etc..It has a restaurant but we did not try. The hotel charge 22 dollar per day on top of the prepaid charges by Hotels.com. It has bike that you can check out free for 2 hrs...I give three stars as the staffs are good, very helprhul, especiall the young man at the front desk, named Darion, he knows that we were upset, so he tried hard to please us ..Would I stay there again? Yes, the location is good, but quite loud if your room is not located at a right floor, We were on the PH floor, so it is fine for us..
I highly recommend that the carpets in the hallways to be replaced, and the extra charges should be told in advance at checkin.

Room Tip: Penthouse level is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. First please accept my personal apology for your being displaced to another hotel due to our air conditioning issue. I am happy to hear you did return to enjoy the hotel. Thank you for your observations and suggestions. I welcome them and will include them in our ongoing improvement efforts. We look forward to your next visit with us very soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#71 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#109 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#104 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing