We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Breakwater South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Breakwater South Beach”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have nothing but the best to say about Hotel Breakwater. I have stayed at this hotel previously in April 2013 and returned again in October for Columbus weekend and reffered my dad to get a room in this hotel as well. They are definitely a class above the rest !!!!!! I stayed in the pent house suite this time and loved it !!!!!!! Spacious, standing shower, jacuzzi, hot tub on the back porch with a day bed in the back and a spacious area for friends to come over and hang out.As usual service was always A+. I am now an offical Hotel Breakwater guest and will be staying no where else once I am in miami!!!! So convenient to everything (beach, food, drinks, parties)

Room Tip: Any room is A+
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    520
    256
    127
    188
See reviews for
223
824
82
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel as a whole was a great experience. I had the superior oceanview room for 2 days and a regular superior room for last 2 days. The rooms look awesome and spacious for hotels on ocean drive on south beach. Me and my friends are young so noise didnt effect us. Disclaimer if your looking to sleep and not have any noise than don't stay on ocean drive, try hotels on collins ave. The location is incredible in the middle of everything and Clevelander right next door for eats and entertainment. Everything was good in hotel except for customer service. Several days when they service the rooms didnt give me any wash cloths, other towels and toilet paper. The key cards never worked properly. You have to swipe cards 10 time to get in the side doors, elevators and hotel rooms (THIS ISN'T A EXAGGERATION). Also, i called front desk for towels and ice (no ice machine on 4th floor) and three hours later wasn't send but they offered to take off resort fee for a day. The customer service isnt good, but had no problems with hotel room. Overall, its a good hotel on ocean drive that needs so work to its key cards and customer service. Lastly, we tried there hotel restarant for breakfast and was over priced, food wasn't good, bad service and wouldn't reccommend going there. I would stay in hotel again, but just know your key cards don't correctly work and customer service is not good.

Room Tip: if noise bothers you dont have ocean view room and i wouldnt recommend staying in the thick of ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffreyH617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the art deco district of Miami Beach, facing the beach. It is fully renovated. We were proposed a quiet room at the back of the building: this is a great idea if you want to sleep quietly. This zone in Miami Beach is in the middle of an outdoor dancing bars, so it is pretty loud after 23h... Room was clean, staff helpful. We found a deal through internet a few minutes before getting it: watch for specials ( 50%, 2 nights). We enjoyed complimentory bicycles, free longdistance calls. Watch for hidden fees: $35 a day for valet parking, $25 if you park yourself. The chairs at the beach are also complimentory but you have the rent the umbrella ( $15).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toujoursavacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Overall we had a really good stay. The hotel is in a great location on the main South beach Art Deco strip, which inherently means it is a busy area of the city where prices are generally a little higher and in the evening it can be quite noisy out on the main road.

This did not bother us as we had booked the one night break knowing we were right in the centre of where we wanted to be, the rooms were clean and modern and the staff in the main hotel were friendly and welcoming.

If I ever had the opportunity to visit the area again I would certainly consider coming back here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Awesome place and location..Can't complain about anything. I've been here three times and would not stay anywhere else. The staff are friendly and will do whatever you need. They have a resort fee added to the bill but it includes daily beach charis on miami beach which would cost you more if purchased individually (so it's worth it)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_gaff_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at the Breakwater. Pros: The best value of the hotel is the location. In the middle of South Beach and across the park from the beautiful blue water south beach. During check in I made the hotel staff aware of the loud music complaints from the tripadvisor member reviews so we got moved to the quiet area of the hotel and received a room upgrade to a suite without a charge (that was great). The rooms are spacious, modernly decorated and clean. The entertainment was nice but ended up spending our time at the Clevlander next door. Cons: room service was terrible. The cleaning staff didn't clean our room until 7 PM. The hotel phone was down most of the time. Had to go down to reception to ask for service. We didn't get our request for two hours. Valet parking cost $30 per day and hotel fees another $18 per day which includes chairs and towels at the beach (didn't include breakfast). The beach towels weren't available until after 3 PM and the beach services close at 5 PM. Overall it was a good experience. It's Miami beach after all. Lot's of fun.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnib99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Breakwater during our short break in Miami Beach in September 2013. We had read the less than positive reviews of the hotel but we had no such problems. Yes, the area is quite loud at night but that's Miami Beach! That said with the balcony door closed I could barely hear the music outside and it certainly didn't keep me awake.

After checking in we had a bit of a relax by the pool which was really wonderful, the water was warm, the sun was hot and the loungers were comfortable. What more could we want?

The room was a good size and was clean and well equipped. The bed was particularly good, I often get a poor sleep in hotels as the beds tend to be extremely soft and often quite small but no such problems here as the bed was very big and just the right firmness.

The only slight niggle was that the sliding door on the bathroom didn't want to stay closed and even if you wedged it closed it wasn't a very effective screen against the noises going on in the bathroom. The shower though was lovely, with a big shower head fixed to the ceiling and a hand held shower head. So rarely do hotels have hand held shower heads and as such I often find I leave the shower feeling as if I haven't rinsed myself properly. Not overly pleasant.

We have no complaints about our stay and would consider staying there again next time we are in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing