We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My stay was very unpleasant when in my hotel! I was place directly across from the Clevelander hotel, which equals loud outside clubbing all night! I had to call for housekeeping 3 out of my 5 nights. This was due to no refreshing of my room, the night crew had to come one evening and I couldn’t meet up for dinner with my friends because I couldn’t shower. All the towels had been soiled and the bathroom covered with beach sand everywhere. The housekeeper would neglect to leave wash clothes, and additional soap despite the fact that I was obliviously out. The “PH pool” was not open for the entire hotel guest, rather a very small pool area with no clean towels ever available or clean beach chair covers. My itinerary stated I would be staying in the Hotel Breakwater; however I was given a room in another part of the hotel, owned by them which had a whole different name on the building. There were never any bottles of water in the gym, as the staff of the hotel would regularly drink them all up, and no clean towels twice. The front desk response to me was, “well why you didn’t call”. I called every day for HOUSEKEEPING and I was not in the mood to spend my whole trip complaining about things that should have naturally occurred! I am totally dissatisfied with this booking and for the price paid I expected more. I believe some compensation or adjustment is due to me for my ruined vacation.
Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetBevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sweetbevy,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater as your choice of destination while staying in south beach. We have read your review and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings. We value our guest feedback and consistantly review the comments to ensure we match our customers expectations.

Our Hotel prides itself in having the highest standards of cleanliness as do our housekeeping staff. Per the previous reviews, one can see that our Hotel works very hard to maintain a top level of consistency of cleanliness and service.

Please contact me at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com should you wish to discuss our service standards and assist you in your future visit to Miami Beach.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    520
    256
    127
    188
See reviews for
223
824
82
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to Miami where I stayed in the Hotel Breakwater on Ocean Drive. Let me state, it appears people had different experiences while staying at the hotel. So let me just say that I can only speak on my experience during my stay. The staff at the hotel was awesome to me from the cleaning staff to the hotel manager. In particular one staff member (Marisol) checked with me daily during my stay to ensure all was well with me and my room. I did have a problem with face towels but it was taken care of quickly. The computers in the lobby and my Wifi work every time I needed them. I only wish I could have enjoyed the roof lounge at the hotel but it was being remodeled. The hotel is great for someone that likes to party or wants to be in the middle of things. The area is noisy and doesn't get quite until around 4:30 AM. Its Ocean Drive/Miami Beach at its best. My room was clean daily and the location, beach and hotel bar was great. My stay was during the Miami Heat Championship weekend. Thanks for a great job Hotel Breakwater staff. We all are human and sometimes things are outside our control. My stay was very good. Thanks.
-P. Chester

Room Tip: Room 212 gives you an excellent view of the pool and the court yard club below. Its also a very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay while at the Breakwater!! Natalie was expecting my arrival and that made me feel special!! Both Kenia and Natalie were great! Kudos to them both! Thank you for making my mini vacay a great one!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabo's D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Inside the most attractive area of the DaDe County you can enjoy an incredible hotel full of life and history. '20's style but with incredible sourroundings. In the middle of Ocean Drive in a "full of life" South Beach. What can I say... Incredible rooms (Ocean Dr. view), superb mohjitos at the "Ocean's Ten" and the most attractive places of South Beach at a few minutes of walkin'.
Great for all young and not young people who want to live deeply Miami, night and day.
Just une problem: rooms are not very quite and isolated from the outside noises.
Overall... an experience!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a rest without noise... no rooms on Ocean Drive... But if you want to have a loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family came to visit and stayed at Breakwater for a week. I was very impressed by the chic decor and great service; this is definitely something I didn't expect of an hotel located in Ocean Drive. The Art Deco architecture is stunning and even if Ocean Drive is a very touristic place inside of the hotel is quiet and edgy. The room was comfy and spotless clean, very well maintained common areas. Service good in general. For a week was very good, they were able to walk literally everywhere in South Beach and is just right in front of the beach. There is a restaurant in the 1st level that I do not remember the name but was convenient for breakfast however the food was just average. During the weekend Ocean Drive got very busy but they enjoyed their stay.

Room Tip: Because Ocean Drive is a busy street make sure to request a quiet room at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well, let me begin my stating my disappointment in the service and stay at your hotel. My first two days my room was not cleaned, the Wifi did not work, telephone never worked, and I had to wait for towels. I requested to talk with the manager but he or she never returned my call. This hotel was a great disappointment for me and my staff.

Room Tip: Look again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Garrett M,

Let me first express my sincere apologies regarding your stay at Hotel Breakwater South Beach. We pride ourselves on our customer service and always strive to provide a top notch experience.

Secondly, your comments do not go unnoticed and will be addressed appropriately. We are very thankful to hear our customers feedback to ensure that we can improve.

Please contact me directly at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com for your next stay in South Beach.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked our room back in April for this trip, a one night stay after attending a wedding. At the time, we had no clue that our stay would be on the same night that the NBA Finals Game 7 would be played in Miami. The room was a 'complementary upgrade' to a junior suite, which impressed us. We were in the second building (formerly, the Edison Hotel) on the third floor, oceanview, room 332. The room was gorgeous, and we felt blessed to be there. King sized bed, plush sitting area, iPod docking alarm clock, Keurig coffee, stocked minibar, amazing bathroom with double vanity, terry robes and rainfall shower.

Rony was an amazing bellman, who gave us plenty of tips about where to go and eat. Ana checked us in, and was quite accommodating. The power went out in half of our room when we plugged in our phones, and it turned out that we blew a fuse. Also, the internet never worked, so we were refunded our resort fee because of it.

Since this hotel is in the heart of Ocean Drive, we expected it to be well trafficked, which it was. Due to the excitement from the game, there were even more people around, which we found crowded (to no fault of the hotel). Once the game started, we found that we couldn't escape the play by play (the hotel restaurant was showing it on a big screen, and the commentary on the stereo speakers) as was The Clevelander across the street. We decided to go to the roof to watch the game (The Clevelander used their hotel wall as a screen, and again, we heard the game fine, in stereo). No one was on the roof, and we thought it was amazing that we had access, without disturbing the penthouse guests.

However, once The Miami Heat won the game, the celebrations started. The room walls and windows had been soundproofed, which we appreciated, but as soon as you opened our room door, the emergency exit door was just to the left...and not sound proofed. Because of this, we heard the outside music well into the night, until around 4am.

This is a great hotel, but I hope to never visit again while a celebration is going on. The hotel didn't even offer us the ear plugs I read that they gave others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing