We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want parties, alcohol and a beautiful beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #115 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I surprised my wife for her 29th birthday with a weekend in South Beach. After a lot of research I decided that I wanted to be in the middle of the party on Ocean Drive between 9th and 10th to get a perfect feel of what this beach is all about! When you stay around this location a car is not needed, you are within walking distance of shopping centers, clubs, restaurants, beach, etc.

As for the Breakwater goes…It was between very good and Excellent. You have to consider the fact that this is not a resort, it doesn’t try to be one either. Customer service is GREAT. The team took care of us and we felt that if we had any issues they would be more than willing to fix them. Everything looked clean and fresh.

Some fees to consider:
$35 all day Valet Parking (24 hour period) get you car as many times as you want!
$18 resort fee: Includes the following - towels for the beach and beach chair (no umbrella), unlimited phone calls from room, international too!, bicycle rentals (2 Hours max. per rental), internet in the lobby, pool, gym and spa.

Continental breakfast was included in our Double Superior room.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk staff, they will make every effort to find something that suits your needs/wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

One week early I stayed in Hotel Avalon. I payed there 30% less tem in Breakwater. So, I hope the in Breakwater everything will be better. It's not happedend. The room was small, the service was terrible, the breakfast a shame, poor. The resort tax an absurd. So, I will never indicate this hotel for any friend. For example, One day I ask my car in the lobby and it cames after 45 minutes(payinf U$ 33,00 a day). In the pool, I never find towers there. Three times I tried to talk with the front desk from my room. They never answer the fone. All the times it was necessarly to go down and ask the service,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Front Office Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear betoppo,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments mean much to us and are being reviewed by management. We take great pride in delivering the best services to our guests and as the reviews show service is our highest mission. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your needs while staying with us but hope to have a future opportunity.

Please contact me directly at info@breakwatersouthbeach.com for your next stay in South Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really liked this hotel right in the middle of the action in South Beach, but we had a room away from the noise of the street (ask for one) and the bars (just some early morning garbage truck noise). The room had lots of space, was well laid out, with many amenities. The staff were friendly and efficient, and were helpful in responding to questions we had. The green colour decorating scheme was uplifting and the atmosphere, fun. You can walk almost anywhere in South Beach, but definitely walk the beach if you want to avoid the 'calls' to enter the many bars!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our June 7 - 10 trip to SoBe was to celebrate with our daughter on her 30th birthday and to witness her boyfriend's marriage proposal. It was very emotional; it was great; she said "yes" and we all cried. The only damper was the cost of the dinner at the 530 Ocean restaurant which, even with a Groupon, was close to a whopping $400 for the 4 of us!!! And unless you have no problem paying $20 for a shot of booze (this is not a misprint), don't ever have a drink or a shot of booze there. (This was NOT at the restaurant at the Breakwater. More on that later). Also, be aware that a tip AND a service charge are included in the check total.

Now to the other stuff - the Breakwater Hotel was really very nice although the floor squeaked a bit in room number PH5 and the swimming pool was very small. And if loud music at 2AM is a problem, get a room away from the courtyard. The staff, as represented by Anna at the front desk and Manuel in housekeeping, was fantastic. The entertainment at the covered, outdoor stage/bar/courtyard area was also great and the beach (just across the street from the hotel) was wonderful. The restaurant at the Breakwater, however, or more specifically, the morning hostess at the restaurant at the Breakwater was EXTREMELY rude and all but killed our Breakwater experience. We complained to management and found out that the restaurant is not owned by the hotel but is a separate entity.

Bottom line - we would definitely stay at the Breakwater again and we would hang out and party on the SoBe "strip." But we would NOT eat or drink there. Instead, we would go to a wonderful outdoor area at Espanola Way and Washington Avenue which is about a 9 block walk from the hotel and closed to vehicular traffic . The food is better and is VASTLY less expensive. (See http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g34439-d527277-Reviews-Espanola_Way-Miami_Beach_Florida.html).

Room Tip: If sleep is important, ask for a room facing away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Being my first Miami experience, I wanted to ensure I stayed in a great hotel. Not only is Hotel Breakwater great, it's everything I hoped it would be and more! We were so warmly greeted! The staff put us right into the positive and lively Miami vibe. They took great care of us from start to finish! They took our luggage before we even stepped foot into the hotel, they gave us a thorough explanation of everything we needed to know about our stay, they even stopped at our room mid-afternoon to see if we needed anything! (We loved the fluffy robes). The hotel is absolutely spotless from the lobby to our room. There are plently of travel toiletries. The rooms have really good blinds to keep the light out and don't forget the ipod docking station! A must in prep-time! The pool is beautiful! and clean!!! And the food could not be better! Curtis at the front desk was outstanding! The entire staff was very courtieous and polite. I will be returning over and over and will consider this my Miami home! Hotel Breakwater is a must-stay for your vacay!


*Sonya

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonita2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a great hotel for both couples and singles...but this is a party hotel, so if loud music from the onsite restaurant/bar/club at 3am bothers you...don't stay here. Hotel is in a great location at 10th and Ocean, next door to the Clevelander, on the same block as Mango's and two blocks from Wet Willies...and of course the beach is just across the street.

The hotel overall is very nice, most guests are young people just looking to have a good time in south beach...a mix a couples and singles. The Ocean's 10 restaurant/bar has live music Thurs-Sat and a DJ starting a midnight...the place gets pretty live and jumping! Staff was very attentive and helpful. Hotel has a resort fee of $18 per night which includes two beach chairs and towels out on the beach, bicycle rental and that's about it.

Rooms were some of the biggest I've been in in South Beach and pretty good size for the money...rooms were clean and very nice and comfy. Pool is in a unique location right about the restaurant/bar...location gives you the feeling that you can see everything that's going on but are still kinda secluded.

This hotel exceeded my expectations and I'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a room in the tower that used to be the Edison hotel it will get very loud on that side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had a great time on my first trip to Miami. My friends and I stayed for Memorial Day Weekend (May 23-27). Although all of the rumors we have heard over the years we had a fantastic time. The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of South Beach and across the street from the actual ocean. Hint Hint "Ocean Dr" lol. Our suite was really nice and spacious. It was 4 of us and we all slept comfortably. The staff was always willing to help. My friends mentioned Curtis, from the front desk, gave great tips on restaurants and must sees in Miami. We did not get to eat the hotel's restaurant but the food looked great. The hotel's continental breakfast was good. The croissants were my fave. Miami Beach is a beautiful city, completely opposite of what I am used to in Chicago. I am already planning on visiting Miami again this year and I will be booking my stay with Hotel Breakwater. I can't wait!

Room Tip: Suites are large and feature great amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#111 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $156 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing