We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional friendly hotel at South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #109 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional friendly hotel at South Beach”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night right after our flight from Europe.
Right when we arrived we have got assistance from valet, to the reception, to the rooms and futher on the day and nex morning we experienced alway helpfull and smiling stafmembers.
The rooms (we had 2) where very clean and comfy. We stayed on the highest level, so didn't had to much problems with outsite noises. However, the other 2 of our party had a very huge airco-engine right onder their balcony and they did hear this all night.
The resort fee, you have to pay, gives you the opportunity to use beachfacility's, we did so and got a nice place on the beach. It felt a bit childish that we had to pay extra for a beachumbrella, apparently it wasn't included in the resort fee.
Situated in the middle of the Art Deco District, restaurants and shop aplenty. The hotel itselves have a restaurant too, where we had an delicious breakfirst.
We had a great time at the hotel, when you want to stay in South Beach it's the best place to stay.

Room Tip: book the penthouse and ask for a room in the insite-patio of the hotel for a quit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    514
    245
    124
    186
See reviews for
219
809
82
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The best hotel I've stayed at byfar, the staff was great and I can't wait to visit again. Because Miami is such a well known and visited city I recommend you purchase their valet service, although pricey it's worth avoiding all the hustle with trying to find public parking..... If you enjoy the Miami night life breakwater is the place to stay at, it's right across the beach and all the popular restaurants

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acabrera6097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

lovely art deco hotel perfectly situated on ocean drive ,rooms are clean & stylish, had a sea view room, downside is you will need ear plugs to sleep as music & night life goes on till 4.00 am so prepare to party. only black mark was could,nt get into room till after 3.00 pm and receptionist was,nt very helpful gave the impression if we were not happy there was plenty of customers waiting on a room .

Room Tip: ask for room to the rear away from music
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was overall great and very clean. Good location if you want to stay on Ocean Drive. The hotel charged resort fees but it gave you access to beach chairs which was great. The hotel staff were vey helpful in suggesting restaurants to eat at and making reservations for us.

The one complaint we had was that over the course of four nights, housekeeping never changed our wine glasses in the room which were clearly used.

I would definitely stay here again. The price was very reasonable for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and i just recently stayed at the breakwater from the 16-21st for her birthday, and from the second we stepped in, to the second we left, the staff at breakwater and the hotel itself was everything we could've asked for. When we got there to check in we were greeted by Natalie at the front desk with nothing but smiles and great customer service. She actually upgraded us when we told her we were there for my girlfriends b-day. The room was incredible. It was spacious, clean, and had a great view. The room also wasnt loud at night like some people on here have said, and the black out shades were great. Breakwater is right in the heart of sobe, bars and restaurants are just steps away on both sides, and you almost feel like you could throw a stone in the ocean from your room. If you are like us, love to beach it up, party it up, and also be able to rest in a comfortable room, i strongly recomend Breakwater. Natalie, you and your staff were awesome, and if you see this, we thank you again. See you guys again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot fault my stay here. Everything was absolutely superb but by far and away the outstanding feature for us was the quality of the staff. They made us feel incredibly welcome and coming back to the hotel literally felt like coming to a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceinwen_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is an outstanding location that only gets better with the outstanding staff at Hotel Breakwater. We have just enjoyed our 2nd stay there and will return for many more.The access to beach and all SOBE bars and restaurants are at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#51 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#134 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#41 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing