We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #115 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Breakwater over the weekend. We had read the reviews ahead of time so we knew it was across from the Clevelander and it would be loud at night, but you are in South Beach if you want quiet, maybe you need to stay in Miami and take a cab to South Beach. The property is very clean and the attendant got us a early check in fairly quick (about 1 hour). Room was modern and clean and had a nice amount of room in it, we did not feel cramped. The bed was comfortable and the staff was attentive. There is a resort fee of $18, that includes internet cafe, Wi-Fi in your room, free bike rental and towels and chairs at the beach. Stay here if you don’t mind the noise (its on the party strip how is this the problem of the Hotel??), if you want to be centrally located in the mix of everything, and if you plan on using all the things you pay for in the resort fee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxingTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ok so first, the bad: the pillows were too puffy for our liking; the WiFi blows balls; drinks sre expensive (but so are all drinks that you order on ocean dr.); and lastly this place may be noisy for boring couples who want to go to sleep early. FYI, if you're looking for a place that resembles a retirement home, this hotel -- or even this destination -- is not for you!!

However, the positives clearly outway the negatives: you're on south beach, on ocean dr., this is the place to be; the staff are excellent (especially: Ana, Natalie, Avram, the baggage gentleman, and the other nice hosts who kept getting the doors for us); the infinity pool is great for a nice dip; the hotel provides funky coloured bikes for you to ride all along the boardwalk (rentals included with hotel booking); vouchers for beach chairs provided; food is great! The staff will even provide you with ear plugs if you're a light sleeper -- we didn't need them...we actually enjoyed listening to live performances in the courtyard while getting ready to go out, or when falling asleep. ;)

Honestly, we'll be making sure that our friends stay here if they go to South Beach Miami.

To the staff: thanks again for making our experience great!

Michele & Ricardo from Toronto, Canada (Room 214)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laparisienneeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! We read reviews on Trip Advisor, but still booked here because of the hotel's central location. We knew people said they got no sleep so we phoned, months in advance and were guaranteed a quiet room. We stressed that this was most important and were assured we would be looked after. On arriving, we were given a room right above the night club (which is right next door). When we checked in we explained what we were promised and the guys on reception said that we shouldn't have been promised that.
We stayed out til 2am when the club shut, just so we would get some sleep - but that didn't help as the clean-up starts early in the morning, and that's noisier than the music. Don't stay here. It's worth staying a bit further up the strip as you will get more sleep and still be walking distance from the night-life.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by hotel promises as they won't be honoured. They'll offer you ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We celebrated a bachelorette party for one night here. Staff is excellent. Rooms bright and stylish. No need to go far to find action, even on a Wednesday night. My only caveat: beware of drink and food prices. Breakfast is touted as 5.99$ but it is misleading.
Two cocktails were 39 bucks. But hey, this is Miami.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyna57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Hotel break water and enjoyed a pleasant stay. There should be no surprises here. It is centered on Ocean Drive across from the Clevlander, party spot. As you can read in the many other reviews this is a happening spot so understand what your getting. The staff was great and very helpful. We had the Jr. Ste and loved it. Great view and great size. The bathrooms were huge!

Con - The cleaning staff could be much better very slow. One of the rooms we had they didn't even clean one day.

Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ended a cruise with a day and night in South Beach. Fun place to be. The Breakwater was a great hotel in every way. we had no problem with noise. They gave us a room on the quiet side of the hotel (not near the outdoor bar), and had us in our room by 930 a.m. despite a 4:00 p.m. check in time. Very clean, chic retro, great little plunge pool with ocean view. Fun place to stay! staff went beyond to help us with computer glitches, gave me a key to the other side of the hotel to access the ATM, despite having already checked out. We were provided with a voucher for towels and beach chairs but were not able to get towels...In all fairness, we didn't check out the beach until later in the afternoon. Nice stocked bar fridge but items very pricy. Huge bathroom, great bed and bedding. Nice open lobby, free computer use for guests. Great location on Ocean Drive.

Room Tip: Great central location on Ocean Drive. $90 cab ride from Port Everglades Pier in Fort Lauderdale, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mharper800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It literally sounded like the club was IN my room all night. I have videos if you care to listen of how LOUD the music was from my bedside with all of the windows and doors completely shut. I could hear every word of the music and beat of the bass, there was no sound isolation at all. The nightclub Ocean's Ten is on the hotel property which is the real problem here.

The property was sold out so they couldn't even move us to another room if there was even one without this "feature".

My girlfriend was sick from food poisoning and the noise certainly wasn't helping the situation. I literally had to call the cops because of the noise, well past 4 AM and when they should have stopped playing music. We had to LEAVE the hotel and check into another one to get away from the MADNESS. Do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY.

After talking to the manager Jaime and explaining the issue, he offered to refund the "resort fee" (yes, that's right, they charge a resort fee, I guess it's a privilege to have must all night in your ear) and agreed to a refund as well but then went back and told Orbitz to deny the refund and acted as if he never agreed. Horrible service on top of it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#112 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $156 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing