We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The quintessential South Beach experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The quintessential South Beach experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Breakwater. The staff is awesome- they are friendly, helpful and will do all they can to make your stay fabulous. The rooms are perfect for SoBe- reminiscent of 60s Miami. There is an aquarium-style pool that overlooks the restaurant/bar and dance floor, with glass walls that allow you to see into the water. The $15/day resort fee includes beach chair service, in-room wi-fi, and even bikes for cruising the beach. It's also in a primo location- right between Mangos and The Clevelander. And the best part-- it's a steal compared to other beachfront hotels in South Beach. If you are looking for a true Miami experience, you can't go wrong with Hotel Breakwater.

The only (possibly) negative thing I can say is that the party and music go well into the night--so if that's not the atmosphere you are looking for, I'd recommend a quieter hotel. But if you want a fun, energetic spot to play and party...this is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilMsSunshineSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    448
    204
    96
    149
See reviews for
185
677
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Breakwater Hotel is designed for fun. The lobby bar and restaurant are good, though the drinks are too big and the entrees in the restaurant are over-the-top large, mostly to justify their high prices. There's a club that clamors on all night long, and if you happen to have an interior room that overlooks it, forget about sleeping. That said, the club is a LOT of fun if that's what you have in mind!

The rooms are very nicely designed - spacious and modern, with amply sized bathrooms. However, housekeeping barely showed up and maintenance could have been more on top of things. Don't be confused by the term "Penthouse;" the top two floors are all called "Penthouse" and are described as having balconies, though they are actually widow's walks for smokers, who left their butts all over them. Unfortunately, when a smoker is on the ledge, forget about privacy in your room. It looked like only one of the Penthouses actually had private outdoor space.

The hotel is on the busy Ocean Drive, directly across the street from the beach so the location is pretty much in the middle of things, with easy access in every direction.

The hotel staff was friendly, though largely hands off and might have brought more of a service-orientation to the moment. Restaurant and bar staff were very attentive and kept everything moving smoothly.

All in all, this is the perfect spot for young partiers who want to take a walk on the wild side. Those over 40 might think twice.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, definitely request a room that doesn't overlook the club. The sound trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
620 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were not staying at this hotel, only popped in for a bite to eat. We sat outside on the porch looking out on to Miami Beach. The setting was lovely.
Good menu choice and the food was good. The waiters were attentive, professional and polite

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falkirk_Tiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

For the price, this place screams mediocrity. Pulled up with no valet in site and had to circle the block, 3 times before i could find someone to park my car. Reception was not overly enthusiastic, more like, hmmmm it is 5:30 pm and your room might be ready, let me check with housekeeping. Not a good first impression.

The room itself was sizeable (jr. Suite) and had a real comfy bed. The pool was the size of a sandbox. The resort fee covered wifi, bikes, and long distance calls to anywhere in the world.

We knew it would be loud outside the room and indeed it was, with music going until 4am, garbage trucks at 6am, then the powerwashing of the sidewalks at 8am....all on a Monday night. That said, i had no problem sleeping considering the good meal and drinks consumed prior.

The Breakwater will always have its great location, but the total package is lacking, just average.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Agent_Wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived after flying in from Australia. The staff were wonderful, upon finding out it was our Honeymoon, they upgraded us. The room had everything and was perfect for the short stay as we were only there for 2 days. The beach was a short walk and restaurants superb. The only thing to be aware of the the bar next door which plays loud music until very late. It wasn't an issue for us as we were jet lagged but could be a downer for some.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the time we pulled up to the front of the hotel, to the next day when we checked out we were very impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at Hotel Breakwater. The location of the Hotel is perfect if you want to be in the center of all that South Beach has to offer. Our room, and especially the bathroom were very roomy. We did have a problem with one of the shades in our room, and within three minutes of calling the front desk there was a repairman at our door to fix the problem. The only negative thing I could say about this hotel was that the hallway carpets were worn and somewhat dirty. All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julhob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Breakwater for three nights while at Miami Beach for a conference. The room was very nice, but "all rooms" only have one king bed, although my boss had reservations that stated double beds in one of the rooms. (The hotel did provide a comfortable cot for no charge.) The room that I stayed in overlooked the Clevelander hotel, which hosted a raucous night club atmosphere until approximately 4:00 am each night. This atmosphere of sleeping was not conducive to early morning meetings, but would be great if you are visiting South Beach for the party atmosphere! Do watch out for the "resort fee," which is a daily $15 fee that includes the not-so "complimentary" wi-fi. We told them at check in that we did not want the "resort fee," but it snuck onto our bills at checkout anyway. All in all, great location for the party atmosphere of South Beach, not so perfect for a work trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank jmebgiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#24 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#71 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#108 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#106 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing