We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new SPOT in south beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #113 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First time at this hotel with my boys in miami after a succesful football game, we decide to stay one more night in enjoy south beach and deciced to sat at the BreakWater Hotel and it was the best experience. As an African American have never see a place with such great customer service. We were greeted by a bellman, cool guy he's name is Jerman i belive help us (8 of us) with our luggage, greeted by every single employee that is passing by and the front desk young lady she told me her name was Daphney was super helpful and greeted us with her sexy smile (she is pretty and nice). she help us with getting a reservation for dinner, VIP table at a hip hop club called Mansion, suggested that we eat at the nine restaurant for good breakfast (it was delicious/not pricey) and call us after every request we had for housekeeping to insure we had it and she also tried to get us a discount because i work for the Government but she got the General manager to speak to me, oh and the room are brand new Daphney said they just open and remoled about 1year/half ago, they have two towers we stayed in the EDDISON. What hotel and staff you will find to accommodate your EVERY need? BREAKWATER WILL, trust me book your reservation now dont believe those reviews, if you complaining abt the noise then south beach is not the place for you, point blank...AWESOME HOTEL

Room Tip: Corner suit are larger and Oean front is BETTER but a lil noisier but nothing you cant sleep thru
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as I found a 50 percent off deal, but even at this price I found the hotel to be poor value for money. The location is fantastic but I found the service very mixed, good occasionally but most of the time poor, and on occasion dreadful and completely rude. The hotel room had an air of being not quite clean. The wifi did not work either which was annoying. I have stayed in many boutique hotels in Miami beach and this was definitely the worst, I would not recommend it.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jojochristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

jojochristoff,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! However I am happy to hear that the experience, was not completely terrible, and that you were able to enjoy the area for the most part. Regarding our WIFI we are doing everything possible to fix our connection issues as it was an internal problem with our server. If you plan on coming back please feel free to contact us directly and we will be more then happy to make sure your returned trip is the best experience possible.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3-5 September. This was a great place to stay and very easy to find and get parked, reasonably priced (rate includes continental breakfast, wi-fi and all telephone calls - yes, even international calls. Natasha the front desk girl was was very helpful. breakwater hotel will be out new south beach hotel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Monica H,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post such an amazing review on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am extremely happy to read that you had such an amazing time while staying with us! I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our phone service that allows, you to call Internationally, locally, and long distance for free. I am glad that Natacha was extremely helpful, as we always strive to provide the best customer service possible to all of our guest, we will make sure to praise Natacha for her good work. Thank you so much for selecting Break Water hotel as your future home for your next vacation, we will be thrilled to have you visit us again.

Sincerely, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

First off let me start by saying I absolutely love this hotel. The rooms are well maintained and the staff is very knowledgeable about the area and extremely friendly. It was my husband’s and I first time coming down to South Beach, We stayed in their VIP Penthouse with a beautiful view of the ocean. The bed was heaven. The front desk girl, Natasha, was thee best. She recommended a local restaurant, Prime 112, where the food was absolutely delish and she give us passes to club Mansion. I wish all hotels on South Beach and elsewhere had this kind of A+ service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dee W

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you had such a fun and relaxing time while staying with us! I am so happy to hear that we made your first trip to South Beach a memorable one, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our VIP Penthouse, and its most comfortable bed. I am glad that Natacha was of great help, and recommended one of the best Restaurants in South Beach, we will make sure to advise Natacha of your great praise. Thank you for staying with us, we hope you return soon!

Beats Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First time to this hotel, WILL ABSOULTY STAY AGAIN. Staff was very helpful, including Daphnee the front desk girl. was a great help! cant wait for our next vacation and to stay at this great hotel. Great location, food, drinks, and service. valet was simple, check in and check out was a vreeze. definently recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Brandon P,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you had such a fun and relaxing time while staying with us! So happy that you will choose us again for your next stay in South Beach. I am glad that Daphnee was of great help to your needs, we will make sure to advise her of your great praise. Thanks for your feedback on our Valet service, glad to hear that they provided you with great service, Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I were in Miami on a short weekend trip. The hotel was a very pleasant surprise as it was absolutely beautiful and extremely clean (I'm very picky about hotel cleanliness). The staff was great and very accommodating. We will definitely return next time we're in Miami. For the reviews that complained of the noise, first of all - why would you stay right in the middle of South Beach anyways if you're on a business trip and you have to get up early every morning and sit in boring meetings all day?!? Second of all, it's South Beach which boasts one of the liveliest nightlife's in the world - a little noise is to be expected. The only reason this hotel didn't get 5 stars is because we didn't stay in a room with an ocean view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

KDL17,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you had fun on your short trip to South Beach, with your husband, I am very pleased to hear that our hotel cleanliness, met your expectations as we always strive to have well maintained rooms for all of our guest. Indeed we are centrally located on Ocean drive where most night clubs and restaurants are located, good to know that you enjoyed the wonderful night life South Beach has to offer, hope you will be back soon to stay with us again.

Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was very nice! It is smack in the middle of the very busy ocean drive, so please understand that it may not be as quiet as you may like. However, this is not the hotel's fault. IT IS SOUTH BEACH. If you don't like noise, go home. I had the suite with the jacuzzi on the balcony, and it was absolutely wonderful! The staff was very nice also. I also loved the many pics of Marilyn Monroe around the hotel and in the room, since I am a fan. The hotel is a bit pricey, compared to other hotels on the strip, but nonetheless it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Shay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,940 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#120 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dream South Beach
Dream South Beach
#47 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,414 reviews
0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#53 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $171 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing