We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #114 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“"Amazing!"”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Went there for New Years week and had an incredible time! The rooms were great-modern and elegant and plenty of room. The pool is beautiful!! The staff was curteous and attentive. The drinks were delicious. The view from the rooftop was outstanding and a great place to welcome in the New Year. Ive stayed at Miami many times before and would highly reccomend this place. I will be staying there next time I go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Paul346,

Thank you for your comments. As always our hotel is prefectly located in the heart of Ocean Drive and in the middle of the entertainment district. Our hotel also offers the beautiful rooftop with amazing views of the Ocean. Thank you for staying with us and we can not wait till you are back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    529
    265
    132
    201
See reviews for
237
846
82
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This newly renovated hotel has very pretty and comfortable rooms with great bathroom. We usually stay in the quieter Collins Ave beach-front hotels, but chose to try this area so we knew it was going to be noisy all nite; slept fine with ear plugs, but do ask for a room in the south side of the building if you can not handle the loud music.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Rachclaire,

Thank you so much for posting a review about our Hotel. The Breakwater is conviniently located in the heart of South Beach within meters away to the entertainment. Our Hotel offers all the amenities that you need and our service always strives to provide you with the best service available. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I booked our stay at the Breakwater after looking at their website, reading all the different types of rooms and
looking at their pictures (there are 5 types). I also called the hotel to inquire about their rooms vs. "suites." As it was a special occasion, I booked a "suite." When we got here, there was no "couch" in our room, nor an additional "sitting area," as their website, and my confirmation email, said there would be. I inquired about the lack of space and additional missing furniture and was told it was a "mis-print" on their website...only "VIP penthouse suites have these areas." I was also told that "we would upgrade you if we had an open VIP suite available...but there won't be one until Tuesday." I checked the website 2 hours later, and that of booking.com, and they both said that 3 were available. In the end, we just gave up. I have never posted a negative review of any hotel before but beware of this place! They are not what they claim to be, nor do they seem to care about their customers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lostcherub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Lostcherub,

Our Hotel offers rooms in different categories that include sofa beds and extra living areas. After reviewing with our Front Desk and reservations; it is apparent that the reservation was made for a PH level room. Because we were in a sold out situation, there was no more inventory that had pullout sofas. Our staff placed your reservation in a PH room as was made through the original booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel was the $25 mojitos they serve at their restaurant. They messed up our meals: Didn't care. Food was stale: Didn't care. We couldn't sleep due to the band outside our window: Didn't care, offered earplugs. EARPLUGS! At $500/night, you should not have to wear earplugs. The people at the front desk were incredibly rude.

If you are looking to shake your booty like a spring-breaker until 4am, you'll probably love this place.

If you are looking for rest and relaxation, this hotel is NOT the place for that. Go a block up to Collins and stay there!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south and west sides should be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PreshFest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear PreshFest,

We sincerely apologize for the noise level suffered during your recent stay. We are reviewing our city codes with the local governement in order to minimize any loud music coming from our neighbouring hotels. Our Breakwater Hotel is readily equipped with sound proof windows to minimize outdoor noise and because we are located in the heart of Ocean Drive; enterntainment is always alive and abundant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My friend and I wanted a Mom’s weekend of relaxation and were delighted to find a package on Expedia for a flight to Fort Lauderdale, rental car and three nights at Hotel Breakwater. We’d never been to South Beach before so were excited about visiting a new place.

We found the hotel easily. It’s worth noting that parking is difficult to find in that area of South Beach so we elected to valet park at the hotel for $33 per day. There is also a $15 per day resort fee which includes a nice set up of towels and chairs at the beach and wifi throughout the hotel and on the beach. We were told upon arrival that we were being “upgraded” from the Garden View room we paid for on Expedia, to an Ocean View (Room 317). This sounded wonderful! Once we unpacked, we went down to the hotel restaurant to enjoy a mojito. The mojitos were excellent, as they should have been at $25 each, and you really only need one. Promoters and the like don’t hesitate to interrupt your meal, it’s a bit like being on a beach in Mexico in that regard. Upon returning to our room, we realized that the music from the open “club” area attached to the hotel was incredibly loud in our room. (If you have to stay at this hotel, I would advise you to ask for a room that is not on the North or East facing sides.) We went out to dinner, returning to find that the music was still blaring, making even a bit of tv watching impossible. After trying to sleep for several hours, we phoned the front desk around 2am to request the Garden Room that we’d originally booked. The front desk staff rudely said that they were fully booked but they could bring up ear plugs. I then called Expedia, as we’d booked through them, to see what they could do. Having booked through Expedia many times before, they are always very helpful. They called the hotel and were told that a manager would not be on duty until the next morning at 8:00. So, we waited. The next morning, Expedia repeatedly phoned the hotel for a manager, each time being told that they should call back in 15 minutes. Expedia needed the manager to approve us leaving, so that they could rebook us at another hotel. Needless to say, the manager never made him or herself available to us or Expedia so we were stuck at this noisy place for the duration of our trip. Additionally, the maids were slamming the doors early in the morning, as they cleaned, so that woke us several mornings.

We dined at the restaurant on several occasions. The first night, as I mentioned, was very good and we appreciated our waiters’ advice on where to go and things to do. We dined for lunch another day and the wrong order was brought for me. 25 minutes later the correct order was brought with no credit for this waste of time on our bill. Most restaurants would at least offer a free drink or something for the inconvenience, but that is the general feel of this place. We had breakfast there one morning and my friends French Toast was horrible. We didn’t even bother mentioning it as we knew that they just wouldn’t care. They have your money so they don’t care if you find the accommodation or service or food or anything about the place horrible. It is a very rude atmosphere. Even upon checkout, we asked that they split it 50/50 and they were completely put out that we were making this request. No “How was your stay?, Did you enjoy your trip?” nothing. We met several employees around the property, that were not front desk staff, that were very nice. We even asked them if many people complained about the noise and were told that it is a constant complaint. That probably explains why the managers and front desk staff showed no willingness to make any accommodation to help us.

Both my friend and I have stayed at hotels all over the world. We have never had an experience like this. I just cannot properly convey how loud it was in our room from around 5pm – 3:30am every night and how horrible the service. When you are paying for a place to sleep, you expect to be able to do so.

Room Tip: If you have to stay at this hotel, I would advise you to ask for a room that is not on the North or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear worldtravelerco,

Thank you for the feedback provided. We are indeed located in the heart of Ocean Drive and are surrounded by various entertainment venues. We take your feedback seriously and will review our processes with our Restaurant manager based on your feedback. We will also review our processes with our Front Office to determine the cause of our actions. Indeed, our Hotel was sold out on the weekend that you mentioned making it a bit difficult to relocate you to another room. Please rest assured that we always strive to be better and will take all of your input and use it wisely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My friend and I live in Florida but wanted a "staycation". We originally booked our room through Hotwire at the Hotel Ocean and when we arrived we were told that we were "upgraded" to their sister property the Breakwater. A note to fellow travelers, never fall for the "upgrade". We went to the Breakwater which was maybe 3 blocks away and that is where the experience truly took a turn for the worse.

The Good:
Martin, the Bellman was wonderful, from the minute we arrived, he was extremely friendly and accommodating (the only staff to do this). The location is great for South Beach nightlife. I didn't mind the loud music from the clubs because that is what is expected from this location.

The Bad:
We arrived at the hotel for our "upgrade" and immediately the Front Desk agent said she didn't have our reservation. She said she was speaking with her manager. We waited for about 7 minutes in the lobby and then the manager came out. He said that the other hotel hadn't sent our reservation and that they were trying to figure it out but that the good news was that they had a room. Wow! Was that even a possibility?!? Homeless in South Beach!?!? He thought he was doing us a favor by explaining all if this. I could have cared less, if you had a room, just put us in it! After another 5 minute wait to put the reservation I the system, we're finally granted a room. The manager came back out and reminded us again how luck we were that they even had a room, like this was our fault. The Front Desk was telling us that the hotels were managed by the same company, sounds like a mess to me. The worst is yet to come, stick with me.

We get to our room #102 and it is at the end of a hallway that is shared with the public bathrooms, hotel storage and employee entrance. If they try and give you room 102, do not take it, demand another room. In the morning when the staff began arriving, they all walked by our room, talking loudly, we heard radios, housekeeping carts, chatting and due to the tile floors in the hallway where this was taking place, it was all amplified. This appeared to be the gathering area, at one point, we needed more shampoo and were able to pop our head out the door and speak with a few of the staff members who were chatting in the hallway.
THE SCARIEST PART OF OUR STAY, happened at about 1am. We (two girls in our mid-20's) couldn't get into our fabulous room so we went to the Front Desk for assistance. She asked us our hotel room number and then made a key and sent us on our way. No ID verification, no confirmation of the name on the reservation, nothing. We could have been anyone or asked for a key to anywhere. This was beyond bad service and truly scary.
This hotel is a mess and clearly the don't care about the service or SAFETY of their guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Kate E,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. We take great pride in our processess and our standard operating procedures. Our Hotel is safe with our security staff ready for any uncomfortable cirmcustance. Please rest assured that our Hotel is equipped with a state of the art security system that covers all outside and inside areas of the Hotel. Because of our over sold situation at Hotel Ocean, your reservation was brought to its sister property Hotel Breakwater. We will review once again our processess with our staff to determine where we can become better so that this does not happen once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

If you want a sleepless night this is the place to stay. They rent out their courtyard to a night club and the music (bass complete with sirens) went until 4:15 AM) We phoned management at 2AM and were told it would end at 3AM. Alas no such luck!!! We went mad as the sound was way above 90 decibels. The hotel said they were trying their best but couldn,t even give us a refund as we had booked through Expedia " a third party". Don't stay there.
Sleepless in South Beach

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DivaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear DivaMJ,

Thank you for the feedback provided on our Hotel. We are located in the middle of the enterntainment block of Ocean drive and thus neighbouring enterntainment venues located accross from our Hotel tend to provide shows unitl late hours of the evening. We work closely with the city to control and report bothersome noise leves. We sincerely apologize for the level of noise experienced and we are working dilligently to overcome this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#87 of 208 in Miami Beach
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing