We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great time there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #117 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed there for 5 days/4nights. The hotel is brand new and very well located (just in front of the Ocean, on Ocean Drive). The rooms are very well designed and decorated. Staff are very kind and they help you if you ask sthg.
Housekeepers are very friendly and as soon as you leave the room, they instantly do it. So each time you come back, you room is perfectly clean!!!!
The only bad thing is that I have been charge in twice for the resort fees. The 1st time it was for check-out, so it was normal. They printed my invoice out and I paid for it. But, 3 days after, when I checked my bank account balance, I saw that they charged me for another day. I called them and told me that they did it but they "forgot" to let me know. I think this is not fair and that a 4 stars hotel should not do that.
In any case, we spend a great time there and we highly recommend this hotel for staying few days in South Beach. Just be careful when you check out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludiludi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear Ludiludi,

Firstly allow me to apologize for the confusion regarding your resort fees. As always we strive to make sure that your stay has been a fantastic one throughout. Our Housekeeping staff is always eager to help you to make sure that your demands are met and your room is always looking fresh and properly cleaned. We thank you for having stayed with us and can not wait for a future visit to our Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed in the penthouse which was nothing to brag about. The jacuzzi didn't work. The weatherstripping around the door was not sealed so when it rained, the carpet got soaked. The pool and restaurant weren't open. The service was terrible. I'll never go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyLady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2011

Dear GypsyLady79,

We apologize for the opportunities presented during your stay. The restaurant is currently open and running and our pool will open in its totality within the last week of December. Our Lifestyle maintainance team conducts quality assurance inventories in all of our rooms on a weekly basis and have looked at the rooms to determine wether a leak was present; rest assured that no leak was found and the your comfort is of our highest importance. Please do contact us in the future should you need further assistance with your reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had a wonderful time at the hotel Breakwater! Rooms are beautiful and very stylish. All stuff was very friendly and helpful! Housekeeping service is great! I highly recomend Breakwater hotel!
Cant wait to comeback!!!!
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olga v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

Dear Olga V,

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We feel real glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Breakwater and look forward to your return once again to our beautiful and stylish Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel! Super clean and boutique style designed rooms, VERY friendly and helpful staff, perfect location - right across from the beach and 10 min walking distance from Lincoln street. Keep doing good job! Thank You:)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariska W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Mariska W,

Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel! It certainly gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide you with the best service available. We look forward to have you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel was located in a perfect location right in front of the beach in between the best night clubs (mangos, oceans, and the Clevelander) just to name a few!
Driving wasn't necessary and walking was a pleasure from the hotel. Our room had a fabulous view of the ocean and Ocean dr, and oceans 11 with live music every night. We also had a window sofa where we could read and watch TV from...very nice! The room was clean, very well attended and really comfortable.
Special thanks to Serge for the outstanding service from her and the rest of the staff.
A very positive experience!
We will definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: Beach front room corner suite made the trip more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whooooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Whooooman,

Thank you in advance for your feedback in our Hotel! Indeed we are located nearby great restaurants and entertainment facilities. We also take great pride in knowing that all of our staff is highly dedicated to serve all of our guests and to make your stay a memorable one. Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future should you need any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel Breakwater. The staff is amazing and go out of their way to help you. Many thanks to Venera, who checked us in. She was very helpful and informative, gave us great advices on places to see and dine. Location - across from the ocean, rooms -specious and well decorated (we stayed in Penthouse room), service - excellent! We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Hotel is in the middle of nightlife. If you are not a party-animal yourself, ask for a quiet room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Douglas H,

Thank you for your feedback! Our staff as always is ready to service you at every possibility. Our rooms are very spacious and provide the comfort and care that our guests have come to expect. We are centrally located and as such our Hotel is nearby great restaurants and great clubs. We are really glad you have enjoyed your stay and can not wait for your prompt return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We wanted a getaway and found your hotel. "Breakwater". The location is fine. Moving aroundfrom that location is pretty easy. The rooms are simple but breathe taking. I really appreciated the few "Housekeeping" staff that I came in contact with. Please keep doing a good job of keeping the rooms and hotel that clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 322milly322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear 322milly322,


Thank you very much for your feedback. We take great pride in our service and our Housekeeping department makes sure no detail goes unseen to provide with your basic expectations. We sincerely hope that you are able to return to our Hotel so that you can continue to experience the Breakwater unfiltered lifestyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $157 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing