We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$183
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$329
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$240
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$238
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$204
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$995
$679
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveler rating
682
570
297
147
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
570
297
147
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivesouth beachfree bikesbeach towelsjunior suitebreakfast was includednight lifethe location is perfectvalet parkingpablomiamiactionclubsrooftopnightlifecruisebellman
Filter
Updating list...
1,282 - 1,287 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I visit Miami 2 to 3 times year. This was by far the worst experience we have ever had. One week before our visit, we were notified that their renovations were bot complete which meant no room service, restaurant or pool. When checked in, we were told that our room got upgraded.... I wouldn't call it an upgrade. We were in a separate building that in order to get to, we had to walk through a dark alley that was not clean or safe. There was no security or concierge in our building. To top it off, the staff was extremely rude and unprofessional. I am still waiting to hear back from the manager. I have never been so disappointed than I am after this trip. This is the first time I am writing a negative review.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Dear SP24,

We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations as requested. Please keep in mind that ongoing construction in our pool is still concluding as well and our room service will be fully functioning by this week. Our Hotel is safe and we have 24 hour security to provide you throughout all times. Please do not feel hesitated to contact us anytime to provide you with better assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the the breakwater for a week at the start of October 2011. The staff, the decor, and the location were all amazing. The hotels terrace at the front of the property is the perfect place for people watching and the security team do an amazing job at keeping the hotel terrace for the exclusive use of guests. The differing reviews on this site are down to the fact that the hotel is only partially open, there is no restaurant or bar facilities yet, so no room service, however the best mini bar i have seen in a hotel is great and there are plenty of bars and restaurants just moments away. The hotel pool is not finished yet and the roof terrace seemed to be used mainly for events during our stay, it was open in the day, but no cushions he'd been set up and it did not feel like it was in use, i am sure if we had asked, then the staff would have set something up for us. The beach is across the street and the resort style service of sun loungers and towels made up for the terrace and pool not being open. Having read reviews on this site before going i contacted the hotel with my concerns about the negative reviews and they did their best to make things right by upgrading our room and selecting a quiet room for us to stay in away from the loud bars, they also did not charge the resort fees for the beach as the pool was not open. If your thinking of booking this hotel knowing all the facts then you will have a great stay and it is an amazing hotel, if you have booked as i had believing from the website that the hotel was fully open then you could be left feeling a little let down, however hard the team try to make it up to you during your stay. Five stars for everything they have open and thanks to the team for a great stay.

Room Tip: Email and ask to be in the quieter block of the two they have away from Oceans 10 and Clevelander bars
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lobodoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear Lobodoh,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. Our pool and restaurant will be available soon and will provide all of the amenities that we are striving to provide to our guests.
We are striving to be the best Hotel in South Beach and with these two amenities in place we are sure that will be the case. Once again thank you for your feedback and can not wait to see you in beautiful Miami Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Miami 2 to 3 times per year from NYC for the past 12 years. This hotel was by far the worst experience we have ever had. There pool, bar and restaurant was NOT open, no room service, terrible overall service, we needed to walk around to a dark alley to get into our lobby which was open to the general public which was extremely and completely unsafe and dirty. This hotel should NOT be open in its current state. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel desination point for Miami Beach! Miami is a fun and vibrant place and this hotel will certainly hamper that experience. This is the 1st negative experience feedback we have ever written...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 458Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear 458 Traveler,

Thank you for your prompt review. Our pool and restaurant are awaiting the permits from the city of Miami to be open in time and will be available to all of our guests and patrons. We do apologize in advance for the opportunities presented but rest assured that once available, they will make the experience more uplifiting than ever before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I am a native of Miami and grew up visiting South Beach, but had never experienced South Beach like this before. I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Breakwater Hotel which is located in what we consider the heart of the South Beach Art Deco District, 10th Street and Ocean Drive. Everywhere you want to be is within walking distance. The hotel is a South Beach Art Deco staple having been built in the mid 1930's. The recent re-modeling has produced a modern hotel feautring brand new suites with every ammenity, while preserving the art deco style. To the east, our rooftop terrace overlooked Ocean Drive, the famous, Miami Beach thermometer, and the ocean. To the north, we had a courtyard featuring food, drinks, live music, and a great DJ. We had a brand new, private, jacuzzi with multi-color light show and cascade. The staff were very helpful and attentive. If you are looking for a Magic City experience of the sort you would see in the movies or music videos, then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms will hear music playing until about 2am.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear Raymond D,

We at Breakwater Hotel thank you for all of your encouraging comments. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found your experience to be unique. Our Rooftop solarium is indeed unique and the views of course fantastic. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and can not wait to have you back at your home from away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a wonderful experience!!! My husband and I have vacationed in South Beach several times at different hotels. We decided to try Hotel Breakwater on a suggestion from a friend and we were so pleasantly surprised with our experience. The staff was so warm and helpful. Honestly the most professional and friendly staff of all the hotels we've stayed in on South Beach (including the big ones: Loews, Delano, etc) We got an upgrade when we checked in...beautiful ocean view room. The room was impeccably neat and clean...comfortable size room with fully stocked bar, snacks, etc. bath robes, beach towels, fitness center, rooftop. The staff recommended some new restaurants that we hadn't heard of that were excellent. If you are planning a vacation to South Beach, check out this hotel...you will NOT be disappointed. My husband and I will DEFINITELY be staying here again next time!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Randi G,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We strive day to day to fullfill and pamper all of our guest's needs and wants. Our Hotel indeed is very charming with its retro feeling and look.
Our Hotel is located in the heart of South Beach and with easy access to the beach and its surroundings. We can not wait to have you back in our Hotel to experience our service all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews