We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
omaha
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Amazing Hotel with an equally amazing staff! The perfect place to be if you want to experience the spice of South Beach. Everything and everyone is beautiful here, from the simple eclectic elegance of the lobby to the check-in girls to the doorman waiting to pull the red carpet ropes aside to make your grand entrance! Right smack dab in the middle of everything, you can sip champagne while sitting on the hotel veranda and watch the beautiful people walk by. If you can afford the penthouse suite, DO IT!! Breathtaking views across Ocean Drive straight to the ocean from your own rooftop patio, complete with an oversized Hollywood lounger and Hot tub. Overlooking the party scene at the Clevelander hotel, you won't need your I-pod, you've got the best music streaming through your windows, yes, it goes on all day and night, but, you are in South Beach, what do you expect?! Beautiful bathroom with a massive european style soaking tub and separate shower. OH wait, step outside the bathroom door, to another patio overlooking the city and you have yet another outdoor shower...but...leave all your inhibitions inside the room, yes, you can be seen taking a nice, hot shower...but, this is South Beach, what do you expect?! The room is quite lovely...nice, fresh, light and airy, with lots of light coming through the windows. Thanks to the manager and the wonderful staff for a GREAT start to our vacay, can't wait to come back when it's all finished!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniquegetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear uniquegetaways,

Thank you for all the great comments, indeed the Penthouse rooms are some of our most popular ones since they do provide you with exclusivity and great views of the Ocean and our neighbouring hotels. I will pass along the feedback to our staff who eagerly awaits your return.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    520
    256
    127
    188
See reviews for
223
824
82
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

just checked out yesterday & all i can say is that i soooo love their service! superb! our room is in the middle of the 2nd floor (literally where the Breakwater sign is!). very nice view. on our last night, i saw my friends who are in Miami doing their residency & hang out w/ them in their apartment in Brickell causing me to come back to the hotel the following day late for check out! but they were sooooo considerate. i so love them! i HIGHLY recommend this hotel. walk to the beach. def in the heart of SoBe!

***** five star rating!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_PrincessNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Traveling_PrincessNY,

Thank you very much for the 5-Star rating which you awarded us. I agree, our rooms are very unique and specifically the one in-between the Breakwater sign is definitely spectacular. The opportunity to offer the late check-out was our pleasure, we are always here to help and serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were extremely dissatisfied with my recent stay at this hotel. Housekeeping service was poor - did not refresh our toiletry, supplied 1 towel for 2 guests. We put the DND sign on the door on our last day, they still walked in and we came back to our room with an open door. We reported a leak on the vent above the toilet and it wasn't fixed for 4 days. Concierge also lacked expertise - gave wrong directions& had no clue what to do when we asked how to return a rental car. Because of the location, it was very noisy which we expected but what we did not expect was a fire alarm at 4am apparently caused by accident. They also had a separate entrance for the other tower so after checking in, you have to walk outside the hotel with your luggage and walk on the other side of the street. Guest elevators were very small. There was no service on the beach aside from the beach chair and the umbrella is not included in the resort fee. Needless to say, we will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In2Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Booked a suite online and ended up in a small one queen bed room because they had to meet another guest's demands!! be sure to confirm what you are getting prior to getting there if you got no other choice. also be warned, no parking available at the hotel. they charge 33 dollars for valet parking and they drive your car several blocks away to a remote parking! the most awkward hotel I ever been to. It was not the first time for me in miami and it was the worst experience I ever had. Will never go there again..

Room Tip: be sure to confirm what you are getting prior to getting there if you got no other choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayo_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear tayo_n,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I apologize that the size of the room did not met your expectation. Please keep in mind that we have 6 different room categories that offer various sizes. I would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you in a room that fits your demands better. Our Lifestyle Agents can be reached 24/7 by calling the hotel directly; we would love the chance to customize a package for you. In regards of the parking, please note that no hotel on Ocean Drive offers direct parking since there is no space; all cars are being parked in various lots which are all several blocks away. The cost per night is also a standard in most cases and very competitive considering that Breakwater is one of the few hotels that actually uses a secured garage rather than an outside non secured parking lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel was excellent. The concierge was always there to help with recommendations and reservations. They went out of their way more than once on our trip. We will definitely be back here next time in Miami!!
Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_gaff_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The Hotel far exceeded my expectations. In the early opening stages and was just perfect. The Staff is professional and uber friendly.
The Decor is "edgy" and upscale and a delight. I am so looking forward to returning when the renovation has been completed (restaurant, swimming pool etc.) The rooms, lobby and comfort areas are all complete.
The location is ideal. Everything in walking distance. The Beach, the restaurants, the part-eee places.
Everything from the curb to bed is delightful. As a single woman I was treated ideally. Definite a return visit is hoped for.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms along side a next door restaurant can be noisy at night..as South Beach pulsates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jano1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear jano1932,

I am very pleased to hear that our team has exceeded your expectation. I will share your kind words with our staff who is highly motivated by positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Breakwater very soon. Thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I had planned a destination wedding in Miami Beach from San Francisco and unfortunately was scammed out of my ceremony/reception venue (also vacation rental) by a horrible person. Fortunately The Hotel Breakwater on South Beach saved the day.

The day before my wedding I sat in their office with my caterer and planned an entire wedding within half-an-hour!

The outcome was a beautiful rooftop ceremony overlooking the beach and a super-modern pent-house suite (large, clean, & modern). It was quite overwhelming and remarkable.

The staff was really friendly and professional.

It was all really wonderful!

THANK YOU HOTEL BREAKWATER!

:)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleshti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#45 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing