We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"BEST HOTEL EVER ;)"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #97 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"BEST HOTEL EVER ;)"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Hands down should be # 1 Hotel in South Beach,

Pros.
Rooms are cleaned to perfection
Staff super friendly (Monica, Jason, Jaime,Martin)
Large Rooms
New EVERYTHING
Awesome View
Right in the middle of the action
Nice Bubbly waiting for me on my arrival
Everything at your finger tips
Room over looked Ocean Drive
The best experience ever can't wait to go back

Cons
wish I could have stayed longer :(

Room Tip: Pay for the Ocean View it is worth every penny ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sexylucy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    499
    230
    113
    175
See reviews for
207
779
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I went to this hotel with my friend and we totally loved it !
Clean spacious modern rooms, friendliest staff, greaaaat location, internet + sun beds and clean towels for $15 a day.. I would definitely go back to Breakwater !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atena_86s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We went for a couple's getaway and we booked a room at the Breakwater through a travel website. This hotel is in a renovation phase and is located on a prime spot on Ocean Drive. The pool is not yet ready, which is a big reason why rates are so affordable at the present time. The customer service is FANTASTIC. Ivan and Jaime have been wonderful and the Concierge is always available. The rooms are clean and the decors is a modern version of a classic style (many throwbacks in terms of photos and furniture). It is located directly across from the beach and all of the chairs/towels are included (open until 930a-5p) but umbrellas are $12.50 per day. There is a fitness area but I never got around to trying it. No restaurant in the hotel, but there are so many right outside the front door. Rooms do not have tubs, just showers...unless you get one of the select penthouse rooms. There is a penthouse suite with roof access to hot tub and the rooftop bar that is nearing completion. Overall, we would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly instead of using 3rd party website. Ask for penthouse rooms and act before t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianprincessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear asianprincessx,

Thank you for the wonderful comments and the excellent Feedback about our service culture. The staff works very hard to WOW each and every guest. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when our one of kind infinity pool will be completed. Our rates will still be very competitive and the price/value will always be excellent. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Breakwater JUST reopened (June 2011) and while the rooms are neat, modern and well-appointed, the hotel overall was not so great. I think they should have waited until everything was ready before opening. As of July 2011, the spa, pool, room service, business center, internet cafe were not open. This was a huge disappointment.

I will say that the staff was great and did everything they could to improve our stay. The hotel is in a great location, IF you want to party on Ocean Drive all night. Our room was right on the street and (not being huge party people) we heard music all. night. long. No sleep for us.

I think Breakwater has potential, but i would wait a few months for everything to open before staying there.

Room Tip: Room #331 looks right onto Ocean Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear crawfishes,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I am very pleased to hear that our staff has gone above and beyond of making your stay special. I am happy to inform you that our room service is already operated by our current hotel restaurant, the second dining outlet and of course our unique infinity pool is expected to be completed soon. This information is communicated on our website along with an opening special that compensates for the missing pool. We look forward to once again welcoming you back very soon for a splash in our new spa pool. Once again, thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Let me just start by saying if you want real sobe experience stay at the breakwater. If you want to being boring the holiday inn is down the street! Beautiful rooms, excellent customer service. The rooftop is gorgeous!! The private patio of the penthouse makes for a perfect sobe experience. Right in the middle of alll the action, miami never sleeps so this hotel is perfect!!! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonerice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear simonerice24,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I am very excited that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. Same as South Beach, Hotel Breakwater never sleeps. We look forward to once again welcoming you back to the unfiltered lifestyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Im from montreal and i live in DC...went down for 4th of July weekend stayed 4 nights. Jamie, Tricia and all the staff including housekeeping were more welcoming than some of the 5 star hotels in sobe! It is a brand new hotel...my room was not slept in! There is no restaurant as of the 4th...but there were a bunch of French men having a meeting about the opening for the new resto.

The lobby of the breakwater is sleak and modern...and clean. The beautiful staff are fluent in English ...French and i guess spanish...they remember your name and welcome you everytime you walk in. Most importantly...the room was clean and super comfy. There was a rain shower in the gorgeous bathroom. The location ummm...right on the beach. You have free beach service directly opposite the hotel...including towels. Umm Free INTERNET without you asking for it...your password is on your key card! at the Ritz its $75 for the weekend!

Basically, i recommend this hotel. I usually stay at the Ritz (too far)...or the ganesvort ..(way to far)...but i was shocked at the breakwater because of my experiences at other ocean drive hotels.

I got a great deal to stay there for that weekend. However, if this hotel keeps its standards high ...i am expecting it to be more expensive the next time...rightly so.

enjoy!
email me if you want more details. :)

haman
hamanb@gmail.com

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear hamindc,

I am very pleased to hear that we have been able to exceed your expectations and we thank you for the vote of “best hotel of ocean drive”. I will personally share your Feedback with our staff who works very hard to make a difference each and every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in July 2001 and we are going back again in September, can't wait. The hotel has every thing you need to have a great time - from the staff to the food to elegant design of the rooms, I can't speak highly enough of it. Anyone staying here is guaranteed to have a brilliant time .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoniaK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear SoniaK11,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater and recognizing our design and staff. We look forward to once being welcoming you back in September. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#52 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#124 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing