We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #117 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I went to this hotel with my friend and we totally loved it !
Clean spacious modern rooms, friendliest staff, greaaaat location, internet + sun beds and clean towels for $15 a day.. I would definitely go back to Breakwater !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atena_86s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

We went for a couple's getaway and we booked a room at the Breakwater through a travel website. This hotel is in a renovation phase and is located on a prime spot on Ocean Drive. The pool is not yet ready, which is a big reason why rates are so affordable at the present time. The customer service is FANTASTIC. Ivan and Jaime have been wonderful and the Concierge is always available. The rooms are clean and the decors is a modern version of a classic style (many throwbacks in terms of photos and furniture). It is located directly across from the beach and all of the chairs/towels are included (open until 930a-5p) but umbrellas are $12.50 per day. There is a fitness area but I never got around to trying it. No restaurant in the hotel, but there are so many right outside the front door. Rooms do not have tubs, just showers...unless you get one of the select penthouse rooms. There is a penthouse suite with roof access to hot tub and the rooftop bar that is nearing completion. Overall, we would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Contact hotel directly instead of using 3rd party website. Ask for penthouse rooms and act before t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asianprincessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Dear asianprincessx,

Thank you for the wonderful comments and the excellent Feedback about our service culture. The staff works very hard to WOW each and every guest. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when our one of kind infinity pool will be completed. Our rates will still be very competitive and the price/value will always be excellent. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Breakwater JUST reopened (June 2011) and while the rooms are neat, modern and well-appointed, the hotel overall was not so great. I think they should have waited until everything was ready before opening. As of July 2011, the spa, pool, room service, business center, internet cafe were not open. This was a huge disappointment.

I will say that the staff was great and did everything they could to improve our stay. The hotel is in a great location, IF you want to party on Ocean Drive all night. Our room was right on the street and (not being huge party people) we heard music all. night. long. No sleep for us.

I think Breakwater has potential, but i would wait a few months for everything to open before staying there.

Room Tip: Room #331 looks right onto Ocean Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear crawfishes,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I am very pleased to hear that our staff has gone above and beyond of making your stay special. I am happy to inform you that our room service is already operated by our current hotel restaurant, the second dining outlet and of course our unique infinity pool is expected to be completed soon. This information is communicated on our website along with an opening special that compensates for the missing pool. We look forward to once again welcoming you back very soon for a splash in our new spa pool. Once again, thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Let me just start by saying if you want real sobe experience stay at the breakwater. If you want to being boring the holiday inn is down the street! Beautiful rooms, excellent customer service. The rooftop is gorgeous!! The private patio of the penthouse makes for a perfect sobe experience. Right in the middle of alll the action, miami never sleeps so this hotel is perfect!!! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonerice24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Dear simonerice24,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I am very excited that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us. Same as South Beach, Hotel Breakwater never sleeps. We look forward to once again welcoming you back to the unfiltered lifestyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Im from montreal and i live in DC...went down for 4th of July weekend stayed 4 nights. Jamie, Tricia and all the staff including housekeeping were more welcoming than some of the 5 star hotels in sobe! It is a brand new hotel...my room was not slept in! There is no restaurant as of the 4th...but there were a bunch of French men having a meeting about the opening for the new resto.

The lobby of the breakwater is sleak and modern...and clean. The beautiful staff are fluent in English ...French and i guess spanish...they remember your name and welcome you everytime you walk in. Most importantly...the room was clean and super comfy. There was a rain shower in the gorgeous bathroom. The location ummm...right on the beach. You have free beach service directly opposite the hotel...including towels. Umm Free INTERNET without you asking for it...your password is on your key card! at the Ritz its $75 for the weekend!

Basically, i recommend this hotel. I usually stay at the Ritz (too far)...or the ganesvort ..(way to far)...but i was shocked at the breakwater because of my experiences at other ocean drive hotels.

I got a great deal to stay there for that weekend. However, if this hotel keeps its standards high ...i am expecting it to be more expensive the next time...rightly so.

enjoy!
email me if you want more details. :)

haman
hamanb@gmail.com

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear hamindc,

I am very pleased to hear that we have been able to exceed your expectations and we thank you for the vote of “best hotel of ocean drive”. I will personally share your Feedback with our staff who works very hard to make a difference each and every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in July 2001 and we are going back again in September, can't wait. The hotel has every thing you need to have a great time - from the staff to the food to elegant design of the rooms, I can't speak highly enough of it. Anyone staying here is guaranteed to have a brilliant time .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoniaK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear SoniaK11,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater and recognizing our design and staff. We look forward to once being welcoming you back in September. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I go to Miami frequently and Hotel Breakwater now is easily my most favorite place to stay! Needless to say that it is just opened and therefore everything is brand new and great looking. The rooms and neat and spacious, beds are comfortable, shower is awesome!!! The price is very affordable for Ocean Drive location... Can't wait to be back this summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mita28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Mita28,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater. I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $157 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing