We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miami Beach Botanical Garden

Miami Beach Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Miami to the Max Tour with Lunch
Ranked #18 of 116 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small Garden, just 2.6 acres, with a very big mission! We call ourselves an urban oasis in the middle of the glitz and neon of South Beach, a place where locals and visitors can come and enjoy the numerous cultural and artisitic programs that the Garden has to offer. Created as a Miami Beach city park in 1962, the Garden was rejuvenated in the fall of 2011 with a $1.2 Million landscape renovation by acclaimed South Florida landscape architect Raymond Jungles.We invite you to discover the new features of the Garden – a wetland with red mangrove and pond apple trees, an expansive water garden with cascading oolite fountain, a welcoming entrance plaza, and diverse collection of flowering trees, palms, cycads, orchids, bromeliads and Florida native species.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and it smells awesome. Definitely worth a visit. If you're in Miami you should stop by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank indyadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    229
    95
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The park is free. There are plenty of seating areas to relax and enjoy the view. The only disappointment is that it is right by the convention center, which is sometimes loud.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyEAlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review from Texas, and we couldn't agree with you more! Actually, locals think of the Miami Beach Botanical Garden as the 'oasis' in the middle of all the South Beach glitz and glamour. It is a wonderful place to sneak away from all that other noisy stuff and just 'smell the roses' or, in our case, the amazing Ylang-Ylang tree near the entrance to the Garden, whose oils are an ingredient in Channel No. 5 perfume! Ample (shaded) seating, free WiFi, a wonderful free telephone audio tour, rest rooms, vending machines for drinks - and open every day but Monday from 9 am to 5 pm - with NO admission fee! We also agree with you about the current Convention Center - not a plus, but change is in the works and in a few years we'll have something great there, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
258 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A welcome relief”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

A welcome relief after the Holocaust memorial. Informatiive and enjoyed our time there. We spent an hour wandering around

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_1st_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Green in the Middle of Urban Gray”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My first and only visit here was for a wedding reception. There wasn't much to see here, but it is all pretty. The garden is located in the middle of a concrete jungle so the contrast to the tranquil is immediate. The hallway that leads to the sliding door room and the courtyard will remind you of the community center complete with bright red Coke vending machine. Parking is not fun and a little direction for guests if you choose this place would go a long way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheeto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only so-so, but free”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's within walking distance from South Beach Art Deco tourist area. Not a very extensive collection, but a nice diversion

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We certainly agree with the second part of your review's title (we are free, every day of the year except Mondays, from 9 am to 5 pm. And free WiFi, to boot!) but we beg to differ about only being "so-so". The Miami Beach Botanical Garden is, in fact, a small garden of only 2.6 acres but we have a large footprint on the cultural life of Miami Beach and that's the part you may not have been aware of during your brief visit. We support numerous environmental education programs for children and adults, and have an extensive series of workshops and seminars every year on everything from orchids to edible plants. So give us a 2nd look the next time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing