We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Design”

Miami Beach Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Miami to the Max Tour with Lunch
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Miami Beach Bike Tour
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Miami Beach Art Deco Pedicab Tour
Ranked #18 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small Garden, just 2.6 acres, with a very big mission! We call ourselves an urban oasis in the middle of the glitz and neon of South Beach, a place where locals and visitors can come and enjoy the numerous cultural and artisitic programs that the Garden has to offer. Created as a Miami Beach city park in 1962, the Garden was rejuvenated in the fall of 2011 with a $1.2 Million landscape renovation by acclaimed South Florida landscape architect Raymond Jungles.We invite you to discover the new features of the Garden – a wetland with red mangrove and pond apple trees, an expansive water garden with cascading oolite fountain, a welcoming entrance plaza, and diverse collection of flowering trees, palms, cycads, orchids, bromeliads and Florida native species.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Design”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Everywhere that you turn there are great shots to take with your camera or to just enjoy as you amble through these gardens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizBuzzBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Reading your other reviews, Liz, it sounds as if you certainly made the Miami Beach rounds during your time here over Thanksgiving/Art Basel, and we are delighted that you chose the Botanical Garden was one of your destinations. You really hit the nail on the head in describing the photographer's paradise that awaits you here - around every corner, in every nook and cranny are gorgeous botanical specimens, blooms and butterflies just waiting for the click of your camera. Wedding photographers are particularly fond of the Garden and its "hidden" Japanese garden just inside the main gate, to the left. Come see for yourself - and be in all the pictures! Open every day except Mondays from 9 am to 5 pm - and always FREE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    238
    103
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Yes -- do spend a few minutes here”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a very pleasant oasis in the middle of South Beach -- a great way to return to nature for a few minutes. There is no admission charge; the grounds are compact and well laid out (you could walk the whole thing in 15 minutes without rushing); and it just doesn't seem like you're in the middle of Miami Beach. It's located just west of the Convention Center and a very short walk from the Holocaust Memorial.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Place to go and visist”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The gardens are abt a 10 min walk from Lincoln road. Its a great place to go and chill - especially if one wants to get out of the pump and grind of SoBe. The gardens are just under 3 acres but what they have done is amazing. I am glad I went!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbbyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We love when visitors make their way from the hustle & bustle of Lincoln Road to the calm & quiet of the Miami Beach Botanical Garden. The Garden is just - as you point out - a stone's throw away from the South Beach glitz & glam, but it is a wonderful world apart. We like to think of our Garden as an oasis in the middle of the city or, as others say, South Beach's backyard. Take our free audio guided tour (using your own phone - directions at the entrance to the Garden) or just stroll around on your own and admire the beautiful botanical specimens. Free WiFi. Free Admission! And open every day except Monday, from 9 am to 5 pm. Don't forget to check the Garden website in advance of your visit for special events that may be going on: Farmer's Market Days, Yoga Classes, Saturday Seminars - you name it! Come visit us soon - you'll love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was very surprised to find a botanical garden in front of the convention center in Miami beach .
I went there with my wife and daughter , and we had a very nice time .
The visit is completely free , the place is very well maintained and clean and you can spend a couple of hours there , in total relax, and then just walk to Lincoln road that is 2 minues walking from there .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alonmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Can't Believe I Didn't Know It Was There All Along”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

People kept telling my wife and me the Miami Botanical Gardens was located at the north end of the convention center parking lot. I kept asking where, where?

We finally stopped in on Friday evening as the sun was setting and found the gardens to be absolutely beautiful and realized why we had never noticed the spot before. By Botanical Gardens measurements Miami's is more like gardens you would find surrounding an estate, something a wealthy botanist might own. While the grounds are small they are enormously well landscaped and planted. There are plenty of places to sit and just enjoy the layouts or the diverse gatherings of palms, bamboo and other exotic trees and plants. Here and there are pieces of sculpture to admire as well. There's a pond with a Japanese bridge and there is even a "great" lawn for picnicking. A beautiful little spot Miami has a right to be proud of.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DelrayJack07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It was always especially gratifying when a TripAdvisor Top Contributor lavishes such high praise on our Garden, and we certainly appreciate yours! We are small, as you point out (just 2.6 acres allotted to us by the City of Miami beach), but we do a tremendous amount with what we have, both as a Botanical Garden and as cultural platform in the middle of South Beach. Visitors love the Japanese Garden, and the Great Lawn is the stunning venue for major social events during the fall and winter season, starting October 26th with our Ghosts in the Garden Halloween extravaganza, and in January our always popular Taste of the Garden (where the city's top restaurant set up tasting stations on the Great Lawn, and a great time is had by all). These are fund-raising events for the Garden which help support our numerous environmental activities, for kids, teens and adults. So, thank you again, and come back and see us soon for one of these gala events. Our web site has all the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing