We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Miami Beach Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Miami to the Max Tour with Lunch
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Miami Beach Bike Tour
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Miami Beach Art Deco Pedicab Tour
Ranked #18 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small Garden, just 2.6 acres, with a very big mission! We call ourselves an urban oasis in the middle of the glitz and neon of South Beach, a place where locals and visitors can come and enjoy the numerous cultural and artisitic programs that the Garden has to offer. Created as a Miami Beach city park in 1962, the Garden was rejuvenated in the fall of 2011 with a $1.2 Million landscape renovation by acclaimed South Florida landscape architect Raymond Jungles.We invite you to discover the new features of the Garden – a wetland with red mangrove and pond apple trees, an expansive water garden with cascading oolite fountain, a welcoming entrance plaza, and diverse collection of flowering trees, palms, cycads, orchids, bromeliads and Florida native species.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we had no idea the Botanical Garden existed and this was a chance discovery we made when visiting the adjacent Holocaust Memorial .coming from a city with a wonderful Botanical Garden, we were so delighted to discover this beautiful peaceful garden which is immaculately maintained and contains many interesting plants and sculptures at the moment.. not very big but is a wonderful place to sit and take refuge from the full-on bustle which is only a couple of blocks away and we will definitely visit again if we are fortunate enough to return to Miami Beach on a future trip..well worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank themaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    238
    103
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“nothing special”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The garden was really small, there wasn´t much to see. Would have been a nice place for a picnic though. I guess the garden wasn't really in it's full blossom since it was December when i went there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suomineito90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Happily, the vast majority of our visitors couldn't disagree with you more: we think our Garden is something VERY special. What, perhaps, you didn't "see" were the huge variety of artistic, educational, and environmental programs that occur against our lush backdrop of palms, orchids and bromeliads. So we recommend for your next visit that you check our web site for "events" and see if there are some activities that appeal to you and you will see how the Botanic Garden serves as a cultural platform for all the residents and visitors of South Beach, not simply as a 2.6 acres Garden. Since your visit last year, we have added two temporary art exhibits (one of stone sculpture from Zimbabwe), a free mobile phone guided tour around the Garden (I bet you missed the Japanese Garden, right?), and we now have free WiFi. How does our Garden grow these days? Why, it's something very special, indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Small Sanctuary near the convention center”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice garden. Many interesting sculptures. It is small. Only takes about 20 minutes to walk through if that is what you want to do. Several places to sit, relax and maybe bring your lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and, yes, we believe we are very much a sanctuary or oasis in South Beach. The next time you visit, be sure to take our new mobile phone self-guided tour! Simply dial 305.423.1525 on your own phone when entering the Garden (this number is provided at the entrance, as well), and you will be guided through a series of 13 stops throughout the Garden - all designed to enhance your understanding of and appreciation for the Miami Beach Botanical Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Green haven”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Botanical Garden in Miami Beach is a lovely green haven adjacent to the Convention Center. Well cared for with hidden gems like the Japanese garden and lovely statuary sprinkled throughout. A pleasant getaway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjmmillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Vice President at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
As of July 7, 2013 there is a wonderful new addition to enhance your appreciation and enjoyment of the Garden: our new mobile phone self-guided audio tour! Simply dial 305.425.1525 on your own phone when entering the Garden (this number is provided at the entrance, as well), and you will be greeted with a series of 13 telephone prompts to help you tour the Garden, starting with Stop # 1, the Silk Floss tree at the entrance, continuing to Stop # 2, the Japanese Garden, and continuing in a counterclockwise around the Garden. Listen to each stop, or to only those you want. All stops have appropriate signage to help you navigate. Come visit us today!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little magical!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Botanical gardens anywhere are a must see place for me. It was very hot when I visited this one, but there were gorgeous butterflies all over and a few pretty birds. The sculptures and the grounds are so lovely.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhillyLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing