We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Miami Beach Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Miami to the Max Tour with Lunch
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Miami Beach Bike Tour
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Miami Beach Art Deco Pedicab Tour
Ranked #18 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small Garden, just 2.6 acres, with a very big mission! We call ourselves an urban oasis in the middle of the glitz and neon of South Beach, a place where locals and visitors can come and enjoy the numerous cultural and artisitic programs that the Garden has to offer. Created as a Miami Beach city park in 1962, the Garden was rejuvenated in the fall of 2011 with a $1.2 Million landscape renovation by acclaimed South Florida landscape architect Raymond Jungles.We invite you to discover the new features of the Garden – a wetland with red mangrove and pond apple trees, an expansive water garden with cascading oolite fountain, a welcoming entrance plaza, and diverse collection of flowering trees, palms, cycads, orchids, bromeliads and Florida native species.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great place to get away from the crowd and enjoy the natural and unique beauty of Florida. Great for families or as a romantic afternoon for two!

Helpful?
Thank Carlotta15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Board oif Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks to Carlotta in Atlanta for perfectly (and succinctly) hitting the proverbial nail on the head: the Miami Beach Bobtanical Garden is indeed an oasis in the midst of the exciting vibe and neon of South Beach, whether one is a solo traveler, a couple or a family. Come see -- and smell -- for yourselves, Plus, it's free, all day, every day (except Mondays)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    238
    103
    24
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

the garden is a terrific small garden with a really diverse collection of tropical plants from all over the world. i would have liked more labels, as many of the plants are not marked. the sculpture in the central pond is disconnected from the mission of the garden and seems out of place. the native garden was disappointing. but overall a very nice garden to visit and in a very convenient location. nice that it is free but a small fee could really help with some improvements and upkeep.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Garden, which underwent a spectacular million dollar facelift a year ago, with the addition of new vistas, large water elements and new tropical plants and trees. Two areas of the Garden which were not included in this re-design, because they were on the 19th Street side of the property which was not a principal focus of the new design, were the delightful Japanese Garden and, behind it, the Florida Native Garden. We, in fact, anticipate enhancing the Native Garden with better signage and improved plantings - so please come visit again the next time you're in South Beach and see how we've improved. Note: our signs must be removed when hurricanes and tropical storms threaten, as Sandy did recently, or else they would blow away and would require continual replacement, so we have to balance extensive signage with budget realities - but your suggestion in this regard is very well taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cute little garden”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is a nice little garden in the middle of south beach. It is pretty, but quite small as well. You don't need any more than 30 minutes to have a walk around but it is a nice spot to relax if you need a change of scenery from the beach

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,202 reviews
409 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

While not comparable to Fairchild Gardens, this is a friendly respite from the raucous beach and club scene.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigoBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks so much for visiting the Miami Beach Botanic Garden and for taking the time to write a review. We agree with you totally - we are a "hidden gem," an oasis in the midst of the glitz and glamor of South Beach. The Garden is a place to escape for a bit from the beach, shopping, the clubs -- all the things that make South Beach truly "America's Riviera." You are also correct in stating that we are not comparable to Fairchild Gardens in Miami - which is considerably bigger (80+ acres vs. our 2.6 acres) and older (they were founded in the late 1930s and the Miami Beach Gardem in the early 1960s - we just celebrated our Golden Anniversary!) and also has an important tropical plant research capacity which our Garden does not. But they also charge admission -- $25 -- and we are always FREE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Held my wedding here”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

the venue is great for weddings. the staff was very helpful and professional. I'd read mixed reviews about the event coordinator Diana, but she was very nice and accommodating to us. I understand they have increased their prices to be more compatible with the other venues in the area, but it is still a beautiful place to have any event.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tesorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Member, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
First, the Staff & Board of Directors of the Miami Beach Botanic Garden want to congratulate you & your husband on your recent marriage at the Garden, and wish you many years of happiness together! Second, we know you could not have chosen a more lovely venue for your wedding! The newly-redesigned Garden now has gorgoeus vistas and water gardens that make a wonderful backdrop for weddings & special occasions of every kind. The Miami Beach Botanic Garden is extremely popular as a wedding location, so anyone thinking about us for that most special of occasions should contact the Garden office (contact info on our web site) quickly. Bells are ringing and our garden is growing beautifully!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing