We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Miami Beach Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Miami Beach Bike Tour
Ranked #16 of 127 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small Garden, just 2.6 acres, with a very big mission! We call ourselves an urban oasis in the middle of the glitz and neon of South Beach, a place where locals and visitors can come and enjoy the numerous cultural and artisitic programs that the Garden has to offer. Created as a Miami Beach city park in 1962, the Garden was rejuvenated in the fall of 2011 with a $1.2 Million landscape renovation by acclaimed South Florida landscape architect Raymond Jungles.We invite you to discover the new features of the Garden – a wetland with red mangrove and pond apple trees, an expansive water garden with cascading oolite fountain, a welcoming entrance plaza, and diverse collection of flowering trees, palms, cycads, orchids, bromeliads and Florida native species.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

While not comparable to Fairchild Gardens, this is a friendly respite from the raucous beach and club scene.

Thank BigoBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thanks so much for visiting the Miami Beach Botanic Garden and for taking the time to write a review. We agree with you totally - we are a "hidden gem," an oasis in the midst of the glitz and glamor of South Beach. The Garden is a place to escape for a bit from the beach, shopping, the clubs -- all the things that make South Beach truly "America's Riviera." You are also correct in stating that we are not comparable to Fairchild Gardens in Miami - which is considerably bigger (80+ acres vs. our 2.6 acres) and older (they were founded in the late 1930s and the Miami Beach Gardem in the early 1960s - we just celebrated our Golden Anniversary!) and also has an important tropical plant research capacity which our Garden does not. But they also charge admission -- $25 -- and we are always FREE!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"holocaust memorial"
in 40 reviews
"convention center"
in 31 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 11 reviews
"beautiful gardens"
in 8 reviews
"trees and plants"
in 6 reviews
"enjoy nature"
in 5 reviews
"monarch butterfly"
in 4 reviews
"water features"
in 7 reviews
"plant life"
in 4 reviews
"free admission"
in 7 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 5 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"guided tour"
in 5 reviews
"walk around"
in 6 reviews
"lincoln road"
in 11 reviews
"acres"
in 11 reviews
Filter

362 - 366 of 674 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

the venue is great for weddings. the staff was very helpful and professional. I'd read mixed reviews about the event coordinator Diana, but she was very nice and accommodating to us. I understand they have increased their prices to be more compatible with the other venues in the area, but it is still a beautiful place to have any event.

1  Thank tesorok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Member, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

First, the Staff & Board of Directors of the Miami Beach Botanic Garden want to congratulate you & your husband on your recent marriage at the Garden, and wish you many years of happiness together! Second, we know you could not have chosen a more lovely venue for your wedding! The newly-redesigned Garden now has gorgoeus vistas and water gardens that make a wonderful backdrop for weddings & special occasions of every kind. The Miami Beach Botanic Garden is extremely popular as a wedding location, so anyone thinking about us for that most special of occasions should contact the Garden office (contact info on our web site) quickly. Bells are ringing and our garden is growing beautifully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great little garden. Had a nice soda walking around it in between conventions. Loved the mixture of art and the plants!

Thank Alfredo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

One of the best botanical garden i have ever been and i really enjoyed every minute of it. Just because of the day I visited may be there were less employee around, i needed to ask some questions but it's fine. And i recommend for anyone who loves yoga and quiet peacefull atmosphere.

Thank Doyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Boatrd of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for letting others so about the best-kept secret in South Beach -- we are, indeed, an oasis of serenity amidst all the hustle & bustle and glitz & glam of the Beach. It's a wonderful place to visit for an hour or two, or just to pop in for a few minutes and take a walk around. We are a small garden, just 2.6 acres, with only 5 full-time professional staff, so it's not at all surprising that you weren't able to meet them the day you visited, as they may have had appointments elsewhere or been off for the day. So the next time you are back in town, try to come on Saturdays at 2 pm and take a docent-led tour of the Garden's highlights. Come see how our Garden grows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

it takes about an hour to tour the whole place, so it's not big, but it's definitely well conserved and worth the time. i'm not sure but i think that i saw that sometimes they have activities for kids/ events so if your'e a family check this out.
it's close to the Holocaust monument so go to both of them, one after the other.

Thank lihi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marty M, Board of Directors at Miami Beach Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Miami Beach Botanical Garden! Yes, we are small (2.6 acres or 1 hectare) but, as we very much like to say, we have a very BIG mission. One of our most important goals is environmental education activieites for children, teens, and adults. On a recent Saturday, we held a rain barrel workshop for kids of all ages to encourage water conservation. The Garden adjoins the Holocaust Memorial and many of our visitors, as you did, combine the two venues in a single visit, and then head off to Lincoln Road Mall for a meal and shopping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing