We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and too dark”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #47 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The rooms are small and have no space to store clothes so this is a bit of a problem if you are staying more than one night. The lighting is really annoying. There are a million buttons to press for switching the lights on but the room is always dark and you can't see anything. I'm not sure what the hotel is trying to achieve in terms of creating 'mood lighting' but it basically just consists of a blue light behind the bed. The rooms don't really have a view as the bed hides the window, making the room feel claustrophobic. The walls are thin so you can hear everything going on next door. The general decor of the hotel looks like the inside of a cheap night club. You can find much better on south beach for the same price or less.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and that the design and lighting in the hotel became such a frustrating issue for you. Thank you for your business and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a nice boutique hotel. We were greeted & offered (after a LONG day of travel) a glass of Prosecco (nice touch) and told we could eat in the restaurant. We went to the restaurant, and were told it was closed?! Tried the next night to have dinner, and it wasn't open then either?! Don't bother with the Continental breakfast.....just order coffee. One morning they brought 2 small slices of dry toast, with nothing else.....just had to laugh. Room service runners were great. Rooftop pool area was closed for a private function when I tried to use it Friday. Not sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 108 has great windows (corner room) which help with the lighting problem. Only major complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! I apologize that you did not have a positive experience at our restaurant. They are transitioning from one theme to another, as well as redesigning the physical set up and I believe this contributed to a not-so-smooth experience for you. All of us here at Dream hope that you will come back and visit us again soon, as we are fully confident we can provide an outstanding experience for you. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are traveling for business choose another hotel with better lighting. If you just want a few nights to get away for fun and romance, consider Dreams South Beach. Pros: decent location within walking distance of clubs and restaurants. Nice rooftop pool and sitting area with bar. Enough room to have some privacy. Cons: room is very small (didn't bother me) but the cool lighting (all blue that dims) is a little too dim for me. You get a free glass of champagne upon arrival. Very friendly staff. Not as expensive as surrounding larger hotels. I would go there again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DianeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thanks very much for sharing your comments! We really appreciate your business and your nice comments about our friendly staff. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon for your next trip to sunny South Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really nice boutique hotel with a great location. Only challenge was ongoing construction in lobby and restaurant areas that I was not made aware of prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dream Hotels
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us! I am sorry about the renovation going on in our restaurant during your stay, but I hope that you will come back and visit us and be able to enjoy our brand new restaurant which is going to be awesome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Besides being comfortable and clean, the rooms are very exotic which makes it perfect to impress your date. In case you are thinking about spending your Valentine's Day over there, I would suggest you to talk to Oscar, he is the person in charge of the customized romantic packages.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Awesome! Thanks very much for your nice comment about our awesome concierge, Oscar! He is a master of his craft and had a really nice time taking back of you both for Valentine's Day. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent a long weekend here last month and had a great time. Perfect location. Friendly staff. Very trendy decor. Would definitely recommend and return. Glass of champagne upon arrival was a nice touch :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Excellent! Thanks for your great review! It is very nice to hear that you had such a fun stay, and we all hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Trendy decor and modern refurbishments look good but dont work well for travellers. We had three suitcases. There are only two small drawers for clothes. No other areas to store anything. We are walking around our cases all the time. Very trendy modern lighting system that my wife found impossible to use. So we felt we were in a partly lit cave the whole time.

The rooms are well designed but bottom line their is minimal space and storage in these funky rooms.

Staff is excellent, and restaurant downstairs does a good breakfast.

If I could find a Springhill suites or Hyatt house within south beach area I would take it over this place every day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. As a boutique hotel, we do understand that our rooms might be smaller than some travelers are accustomed to, but we are very proud of our friendly and efficient staff being able to provide a very fun and relaxing stay for our guest. Thank you for your business and perhaps one day we will welcome you back. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,609 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#40 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,918 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,474 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,813 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $199 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing