We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Valentine's Day”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #58 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Perfect Valentine's Day”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Besides being comfortable and clean, the rooms are very exotic which makes it perfect to impress your date. In case you are thinking about spending your Valentine's Day over there, I would suggest you to talk to Oscar, he is the person in charge of the customized romantic packages.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Awesome! Thanks very much for your nice comment about our awesome concierge, Oscar! He is a master of his craft and had a really nice time taking back of you both for Valentine's Day. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    758
    241
    88
    52
See reviews for
144
1,319
133
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent a long weekend here last month and had a great time. Perfect location. Friendly staff. Very trendy decor. Would definitely recommend and return. Glass of champagne upon arrival was a nice touch :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Excellent! Thanks for your great review! It is very nice to hear that you had such a fun stay, and we all hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Trendy decor and modern refurbishments look good but dont work well for travellers. We had three suitcases. There are only two small drawers for clothes. No other areas to store anything. We are walking around our cases all the time. Very trendy modern lighting system that my wife found impossible to use. So we felt we were in a partly lit cave the whole time.

The rooms are well designed but bottom line their is minimal space and storage in these funky rooms.

Staff is excellent, and restaurant downstairs does a good breakfast.

If I could find a Springhill suites or Hyatt house within south beach area I would take it over this place every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. As a boutique hotel, we do understand that our rooms might be smaller than some travelers are accustomed to, but we are very proud of our friendly and efficient staff being able to provide a very fun and relaxing stay for our guest. Thank you for your business and perhaps one day we will welcome you back. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great service, great room, awesome rooftop pool. Given a glass of champagne on arrival. Room has really neat lighting. Didn't check out the beach lounges due to short stay so can't comment on that. Location is great, close to restaurants in Espanola Way.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smdnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thanks for your excellent review! We love hearing that you loved our hotel, and all of us here at Dream hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Dream is ok, but I probably won’t stay again. Like many have stated, the rooms are very small. The bed essentially encompasses the entire room. But based on other hotel reviews I've read, that seems to be the norm in Art Deco buildings. The lighting/buttons situation is also ridiculous. It's a cool/gimmicky concept on pictures and when you first walk in the room. But then it just becomes a nuisance. When I first read complaints about these issues on here, I assumed people were nitpicking. But I'll admit, the room size and lighting can REALLY get on your nerves after about a day. There was also something wrong with the lock on our door. I had to visit the front desk about four times to change out the room key, smh. Anyhow, Dream is probably the best value in the area. It's clean (including the bathroom, which is very important to me), conveniently located to popular spots like Wet Willie’s, and appeared to be much nicer than nearby hotels. The bigger hotels further down the beach (e.g., the W) are ridiculously priced. But then again that also seems to be the norm in Miami. By the way, beware of the restaurant scams along the beach. Verify the prices on everything before ordering and don't trust the special offers!

Room Tip: You should probably get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpier7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, and taking the time to share your comments! I am sorry that the room size and lighting were not what you were expecting - as a boutique hotel, our rooms can be a little smaller than some guests are used to. We are extremely proud of having an amazing staff who are highly efficient and responsive and help deliver an outstanding and relaxing hotel experience for our guests. Thank you again for choosing Dream, and perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you do not plan to spend much time in your room it will not be important that the rooms are so small. Ocean Drive is nearby, and the people watching is excellent. We were surprised that the door to the toilet was clear glass, but we have been married so long there are no surprises. We were delighted to watch a parade from the roof the first morning we were there (Art Deco Weekend).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! It sounds like you both got to really take advantage of our outstanding location here in South Beach and see all there is to see. We appreciate your business, and hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I was happy with my 2 nights stay. The hotel is different, small rooms but great bed and shower. Lighting in the room is tricky, but after a few tries, I understood how they work. Dream is in a great location, walking distance from the places I wanted to go. GSAs were polite and bellmen were helpful.
Unfortunately, it was raining during my whole stay, therefore I was not able to enjoy the rooftop pool as much as I wanted.
Please note: there is minimal privacy with the bedroom and bathroom, but at least that did not bother me. For sure this can be an issue for other guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MariJoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We certainly hope you will come back and visit us again soon, and hopefully the weather decides to cooperate next time! Thank you for staying with us and allowing our friendly staff to take care of you and your family. Thanks for sharing your comments, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#80 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Tides South Beach
The Tides South Beach
#67 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing