We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, a few flaws.”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #53 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, a few flaws.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in the Dream for two weeks, and absolutely loved it, even if there are room for improvements.

The good stuff:
- Our room was cool with a very comfy bed, big TV, mini fridge + different amenities. Didn't have any problems with the lighting. Easy-to-use safe.
- Helpful staff (especially loved the towel lady up in the pool area - never caught her name, but she was a star, always smiling). Both Youssef and the other concierge was also perfectly nice and helpful, but more about that later.
- Stealth housekeepers.
- Cool design.
- Perfect location, and you can actually walk to the best restaurants and shops. (OR take the SoBe Local (bus) for 25 cents!)
- Nice restaurant connected to the hotel, the Serafina.
- PERFECT rooftop pool, and we were stunned that we always got a sun bed there - we actually preferred it to the beach!

The not so good:
- My wife and i actually got married during our stay in Miami, and we didn't expect to be upgraded to a suite or anything because of this, but we didn't even get a complimentary bottle of cheap champagne on the day of our wedding day. And both previously mentioned concierges were aware of the date of our wedding, having helped us with some simple services concerning a driver etc. I'm sure the manager would have complimented us somehow, but we're not the kind of people who goes begging for it...
- Cleanliness: Although we liked that we were never disturbed by housekeeping, we would have preferred them being more thorough when they were there. The floor was (poorly) cleaned once during our stay - which is weird as there is a lot of sunscreen and sand involved in a Miami Beach stay. Tip: Do a healthy round with a vacuumer at least every other day.
- See-thru bathroom doors. Don't mind the one for the shower, but the toilet?? Should be easy and cheap to at least frost the glass...
- Desk staff: Super pleasant and nice. However, the first night I went down to borrow an AC adapter, but was told I needed to go to a store and buy one, that cost me $40 (yeah, probably a rip off, well..). My wife then saw in the service book that the hotel provided adapters if needed. The next day I told them, and sure, now they had an adapter for me! Things like these really annoy me..

Conclusion:
The negatives weren't big and/or important enough to ruin anything about our great stay in SoBe. Seeing as management are reading all of the reviews in here and replies, I just think this stuff should be adressed, to make this brilliant little hotel become even more brilliant! For the two weeks we stayed we had a small taste of luxury, however, small steps can be made to make it feel quite luxurious! We'll without a doubt recommend the hotel to any couple who are going to Miami.

Green Features: Great, we love that they don't change linen before you ask them to. Could be a better system separating used towels from another, though..
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeerNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your recent stay, and for taking the time to share your experiences with us! It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay and got to really enjoy the hotel and the local area. I would like to apologize for the small issues that you did experience, as these are not typical of the level of service we take pride in providing. However, we are very happy knowing that you had a memorable stay, and hope that you both will come back and visit us...perhaps for your first anniversary! Thank you again, and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    772
    243
    89
    53
See reviews for
151
1,343
138
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been to south beach couple of times, and I can honestly say that this was the best hotel we've stayed at. clean, trendy, great food, but the staff was the icing on the cake. super accomidating and friendly. loveeeee love love

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Pretty sweet! Thank you so much for your glowing review! We loved being able to take care of you, and hope that you will come back and visit us again very soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel has very nice décor and a sexy feel but not worth the rate of about $200+ per night. The Deluxe King room is very small. The bed is extremely comfortable. Like previous reviews the bathroom and shower doors are clear glass. The lighting system is annoying to figure out. The dim lights are nice if you're looking for a sensual environment but not good if you need normal lighting. There is absolutely no view from the windows because they are frosted. They do not provide a fridge or a microwave in the room. In fact, after our extremely long trip to Miami we had some food we were looking to dig into as soon as we got there. They explained, "We cannot provide you with a microwave nor can we heat up your food for you. It is against hotel policy. Maybe you can try the restaurant across the street." They did provide us with a very small fridge upon request.

We were not offered help with our bags on arrival. You get one free drink, a robe, and an umbrella that's not even a beach umbrella. The pool and bar are nice but the closing time of the rooftop area and pool is too early. The drinks are good, especially the passion fruit mojito. All house cocktails are $13. If you do decide to stay here stay on weekdays because there is buy one get one free happy hour on the weekdays only from 5-8pm. The music on the rooftop and the little daytime party they throw isn't anything special. It is in a good location but now that I am familiar with South Beach, any hotel on Collins or Ocean drive is a good bet if you're looking to be right in the action.

Another, very important reason for the poor rating is because the hotel charged us for the correct amount of our stay when we left and after a few days of a typical "pending authorization", or hold, on my credit card, the charge was authorized. That is standard, but come a few days later a new "pending authorization" from Dream SoBe appears. To my horror, it happens to be a repeat charge of our stay plus some more $$! Now I am stuck waiting for these repeat charges to be removed. The Dream SoBe customer service rep made this sound like standard practice so if it is BEWARE!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor near the hotel lobby which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browneyes0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. It is very unfortunate that we were not able to live up to your expectations! Here at Dream we take great pride in being able to provide a comfortable and relaxing environment, so it is distressing to us that your impression of our hotel was affected so negatively. I do hope you understand that there are some elements of our hotel that we cannot alter. However, from the rave reviews we receive from our guests, we are fully confident that we are providing a delightfully unexpected and very cool hotel experience for our guests.

With regards to the billing issue that you are experiencing, I would love to get some more detailed information so that I can ensure any pending issue is being resolved in a timely manner. I may be reached directly at: johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com, or 305-673-4747.

Thank you for taking the time to express yourself, and I look forward to being able to help you with any concerns that you may have.

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in dream hotel for 4 night.
It was really nice experience.
Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are nice and decorated in art deco styles.
The best about the hotel is the location-just one block from the heart of Miami beach but not right on Ocean drive which is too noisy and trashy.
The breakfasts in the hotel are much better then in the hotels/bars around, the atmosphere is very relaxing.
One funny thing is the decor of the bathroom and shower-there are glass doors instead of normal doors so it might be not so convenient for some people:)

Besides this one thing-it was a perfect experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shavasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream, and for taking the time to share your experiences! It is great to hear that our friendly staff was able to take good care of you and make sure you had a great time. Great job on taking advantage of our prime location here in South Beach - you really can't beat how close we are to all the best things to do in the area! Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the dream hotel for one night on our way from london to belize and we loved it! The service was great and a glass of champagne on arrival is a nice touch.decor is really chic and modern-especially the rooftop terrace and bar which we made use of in our one evening in Miami,cocktails were great and you get a view right out to sea.location is great-just off south beach so you avoid the noise and bustle but its still so close.its not cheap but I would definitely recommend the dream to anyone looking for a special hotel close to south beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sj112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Fantastic! We really love being a part of special occasions like honeymoons, and we are so pleased to hear that you had a relaxing and memorable stay with us! Thanks for your nice comments about our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back for your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Upon arrival the service was immediately great! trendy spot helpful staff. The room was extremely clean and up to date. We had an issue with our AC on the second night and within 5 minutes of informing the front desk it was attended too! Great up stares pool area with a bar and great view of SOBE. fab location if you want to go to the beach, party, or shop! the restaurant Seraphina that is attached to the hotel was delicious as well and the staff was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlodolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Very nice! Thanks so much for choosing to stay at Dream and sharing your nice comments about our staff. All of us here love taking care of our guests, and we are very happy to know you had a great experience. We appreciate you business and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The decor is very chic and contemporary. The rooms are tiny. While the vibe is supposed to be sexy, just a caveat for new couples getting away for their first romantic weekend...There is NO privacy in the bathroom! While this is fine for my husband and me who have been together for 15 years, being able to see your partner on the toilet from the bed AND through the shower from the hall may make some of you uncomfortable.

The features are the interior decor as there is no view in the rooms, however the price reflects that. The champagne offered at check in was a nice touch. The rooftop pool lounge, the servers were quick to approach with towels and drink/food service. However, you are not allowed to bring food or drinks of your own.

While this hotel location was close to the beach, if you're looking for the party scene, you'll need to go up a few blocks. I got a terrific deal by booking through Jetsetter which I found gave me additional credit when I signed up though the invitation link: http://bit.ly/16qAzJl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsfabulousNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Dream, and for taking the time to share your comments. It is nice to read that you had a relaxing stay and got to enjoy some of the amenities of our hotel and enjoy our awesome rooftop. Thank you for your business and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,390 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,724 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,568 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing