We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream South Beach-Worth every cent!”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #47 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I took my husband on a vacation which included Miami Beach, Islamorada and Orlando. I chose to stay at higher-end hotels throughout our travels and, I must say, our favorite hotel was Dream South Beach. The customer service and ambiance of the hotel was outstanding!! The photos of the rooms on the website are just as they appear in person. The rooms have state-of-the-art lighting and ammenities. It was quite impressive! The restaurant, the staff and the food live up to the "five-star" rating as well.
For persons that travel often, Dream South Beach is our favorite hotel ever:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are all smiles knowing that we have the honor of being your new favorite hotel - that is a very high honor indeed! All of us here at Dream take great pride in providing outstanding service to our guests, and it sounds like you had a perfect stay. Thank you for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great, hotel, great staff, great rooms, amazing roof terrace and bar and a great location, only thing I didn't like was the lighting in the bedrooms. Trying to do your makeup was a nightmare, The lights were dim and wouldn't go any brighter! The positives though, by far our weighed the bad lighting!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneSimpsonBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and nice comments! We love hearing that you were able to enjoy our hotel and interact with our friendly staff. We hope to see you again for your next trip to South Beach, and remember that our friendly bellmen can always bring extra lighting to your room. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Dream South Beach was a good choice on South Beach. As you can see in the pictures, it has a very interesting (strange?) lighting system that gives the rooms a blue glow. But the rooms do feel very modern and have a cool vibe. The bed was super comfortable, and the room was very clean.

The pool is small, but is sufficient for taking a quick swim and cooling off. There are a lot of comfortable chairs/beds around the pool. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach, and beach chairs are included in the hotel's $8/night resort fee.

Location is great. It is right by some decent restaurants and within a few blocks of a lot of the prime nightlife on south beach. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Dream South Beach and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! We are so happy to read that you were able to enjoy the hotel amenities and relax on our awesome rooftop. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and all of us here hope to welcome you back again soon for another great stay. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

...I was supposed to travel to Miami with my girlfriend and expected to spend some days in this dreamy hotel, but unfortunately we have been confirmed just few days before our departure that my girlfriend's mother was seriously ill, and we decided to cancel our journey. Despite the free-of-charge-cancellation was not allowed for the reservation I have consciously made few months upfront, the hotel manager has been outstandingly kind and refunded all our money straight after my emergency call to her. I simply want to that her so much again, again, again and again, and I promise should I ever come to Miami in the future, I will come to meet and say thank you personally, and it goes without saying, I am not gonna book any hotels rather than this. I am simply sorry I couldn't remember the name of the person I have spoken to publicly thank her, albeit I hope the hotel Director could recognise and reward her appropriately for her great, outstanding, service's mindset.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank enri-enri-enri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We are so pleased that we were able to help accommodate you so you that you could take care of your situation. Here at Dream, we take great pride in being able to take care of all our guests, especially when the unexpected happens. We all look forward to when you are able to make another reservation and come visit us in beautiful and sunny South Beach! Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I really, really REALLY wanted to love The Dream, and in some respects I did...For one, I loved the vibe of this place. It's so trendy and cute. Miami weather sucked rocks while we were there so we did not get to use the rooftop pool (or the beach chairs...grrr) but we did go up for a spell and it's really groovy up there. The staff was very friendly and check in/check out was a breeze. It's walking distance to everything cool in SOBE so you feel like you're right in the middle of "where it's at." I just wish there were a few more square feet, somewhere to store a couple of suitcases perhaps..and a little more light for those of us fumbling around in the dark. Now, I've been to SOBE before so I know the rooms are not huge by any stretch of the imagination. Or even small-ish. But this room was so. freaking. tiny. If you bring more than a single overnight bag, then you're going to be tripping over your luggage, falling face-first into your suitcase, banging your pinky toes on the bed platform over and over, squeezing by your significant other trying to get from the bed to the bathroom, and using body wash on your hair instead of shampoo because the lights are SO DIM in the shower old fogeys like us can't read the bottle. Yes, all these things happened to me and hubs. By day three I wanted to scream between the space issues and being not imaginative enough to figure out the lighting and knocking over every single item I had lined up on the vanity. Word to the wise - avoid this place if you are not super-intimate with your roommate and very familiar with their bathroom habits because you'll be sitting in his lap doing your makeup while he goes potty. Literally.
All griping aside..this is NOT a negative review, although if I had known what I know now I probably would have chosen another place based on almost comically tiny size of the room and the fact you need night vision goggles to see your feet. I am not a little slip of a person and my husband's a big guy...we just needed some wiggle room. It's very nice...Just not our cuppa tea.

Room Tip: Bigger is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thanks very much for choosing to stay at Dream and for sharing all the details of your experience! I am sorry that you had a few challenges during your stay, but I am very pleased to read that you were able to interact with our awesome staff and allow them to take care of you. We would love a chance to welcome you back for a future stay in one of our awesome junior suites, so please don't hesitate to call and book directly with us so we can make sure you have a fantastic return visit. Thank you again for staying with us, and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The staff were all very nice. The room was clean and modern. Everything is downhill from there. Room was tiny. Lighting in room was lousy. View was non existent. If the price was $99/ night instead of $400, I'd have been tolerant of the place

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback. We love hearing that you were able to interact with our friendly staff.

I am sorry to hear that there were some elements that were not to your liking. Here at Dream, we completely understand that there are certain things that may not be for everyone. We are fully confident that we are providing a truly unique hotel experience for our guests, and from the rave reviews we have been receiving, we know we are doing just that.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments, and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rooms were clean and very beautifully decorated but were small. We literally had to make our way over our suitcase to go from one side to the other. Staff was friendly and helpful. Common areas like restaurant, rooftop pool and bar were nice too.

Overall a good stay but could have been better with slightly bigger rooms !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,561 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,870 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,695 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,385 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $184 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing