We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baby Blues”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #48 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Friends of ours and us stayed at the Dream for the Miami Marathon. We really enjoyed our stay the the staff made us feel right at home. I was glad to have the opportunity to see our friend's handicap room. The handicap room has a much larger bathroom (with a door!) - so just a suggestion when you make your reservations. Our regular room was just perfect from a size perspective - of course its not huge but who is spending much time here? The lighting - which everyone comments on - is really cool, at first, but then the novelty wears, but still really awesome; nice to see some creativity! Daily we opened the window shade every day, problem solved. The bed is extremely comfortable but wish there was a regular duvet cover instead of two sheets over an insert. Tossers and turners will have this pulled apart quickly....as I soon discovered. We came with earplugs from reading previous reviews but didn't need at all. The shower is big and plenty of hot water fast. The toilet - well, you've read about this already so hope you're not shy. Staff here is phenomenal, everyone was super nice and friendly. Hats off to Melissa at Highbar for ensuring we were well taken care of. The drinks were good, wine selection reasonable and food from Serafina fast and delicious. The pool is warm and beds/chaises comfortable with plenty of various stylish seating options around the roof to provide whatever view or sun/shade requirements you have. Downside to Highbar is the awful rooftop club a block away blasting music that is just too damn loud; it completely drowned out the great lounge music Highbar plays throughout the day. But note this was only really a problem one day. Try to take the stairs to Highbar, the elevator is without competition, the slowest on the planet (but the first full-length mirror you'll find to check your outfit!). The deal on chairs at the beach is great, and only one block away. From a design point of view, the hotel is just gorgeous, much like its sister Dream Downtown in NYC. Starbucks is just one block away (poor service daily). We'd definitely stay at the Dream again .

Room Tip: Try to get a handicap room for a bathroom with a door.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Congratulations on competing in the ING Miami Marathon and thank you for your review. We truly value the comments and suggestions submitted by our guests and strive to utilize them to improve the hotel. Thank you also for your recognition of Melissa at HighBar. She is an example of one of our many dedicated employees who work hard to provide our guests with exceptional customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back next year - or sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,310)
There are newer reviews for Dream South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 2,310 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is a gorgeous place. The room was perfect and the rooftop pool/bar is amazing!. Everyone was friendly. Very clean and cool. The bathroom only works with people you know well and don’t mind seeing you in the buff. It is however mostly couples. I went with two friends, which worked also only because we had two beds, there are only a few rooms with two beds.

Did not get a chance to eat at Sarafina, but had some food sent up to the rooftop and it was delicious as was the champagne specialties. The seating and sunbathing on the rooftop was the best part. They also have a bar with a tv up there perfect for when you have sunbathed enough and want to chill up on the roof.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogiforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your long weekend. I agree that our pool and rooftop High Bar is a special place and chilling with drinks and food with an ocean view is the way to go. It is true that Dream South Beach is primarily designed for couples, but we do have a few rooms with 2 double beds. It's important to reserve those as they do fill up quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent one night here just before a cruise. The staff is polite and helpful, the rooftop pool and bar devine, the restaurant great for breakfast. The location can't be beat. the only problem is the lights! Make sure you get guidance from the staff on how to turn on the bathroom light without turning them all on so you don't wake each other up like we did. I assumed that the other comments about the lights being a challenge were due to low IQs, but we couldn't figure them out either.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments. We agree that the rooftop with the view is one of the features of the hotel that makes us special and unique. It's true that the lighting can be tricky to master but any of our friendly staff is more than willing to show you how to use them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Dream South Beach was one of the highlights of my visit to Miami. If your Miami is the cool, laid-back, fun Miami (as opposed to the pompous, over the top, shopping freak Miami), this is the place for you.

The location is perfect, right in the heart of South Beach. You will be surrounded by shops and restaurants and just one block away from the beach.

The decor is a lot of fun. Yes, it might seem a little tacky to Wallpaper's subscribers. But I really enjoyed it. The building itself is very charming, deco style and recently renovated. The swimming pool and bar at the rooftop are just fantastic, by far the hotel's best feature. I was surprised it was mostly deserted at night, since it really is a great place for a drink, but maybe that was because it was January - it could be different during the Summer.

I got one of the junior suites - really just a larger room. I definitely recommend it. It was a nice, spacious room with a very comfortable king bed. I was travelling with friends and they got a regular room, which seemed REALLY small for my taste.

The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. Everyone did everything with a smile on their faces. There was one african-american waitresses (shamefully I forgot her name) who was probably the nicest waitress I ever met.

When we arrived, we were received with a glass of sparkling wine, which was refilled more than once during check-in. Nice touch.

We did have a few issues with the room, though. The first one they gave us had an awful cigarette smell. We called the front desk and they promptly offered to move us to a different room. We stayed on the new room for one night, only to find that some of the lights were not working properly. The next morning we went back to the front desk and they moved us again. It took a while, but we finally got a great room - and the staff was very helpful throughout this process.

The hotel gets some extra points for the Serafina restaurant - great food, great fun, good prices - and the concierge team.

I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the ground floor, since delivery/trash trucks come very early in the morning...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarceloSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation as well as the comments that will help us to improve our service to future guests. I'm happy that you enjoyed the Junior Suite and Serafina Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Dream South Beach two years in a row. The first year was great even while they were going under renovations. However, last year they had Fire Alarms sounding at 3 am causing all the patrons to leave immediately and stand outside for 30 minutes. I appreciated they have a working system but they could have offered courtesies to the patrons for such an inconvenience.

The room is small.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbear6927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your return stay. I was disappointed that your return was disrupted by the fire alarm and I want to assure you that this is an extremely rare occurrence and thankfully a false alarm. I would like to encourage you to try us again in the future and would encourage you to contact me directly via email at peggybenua@dreamsouthbeach.com so I can personally see to a flawless repeat visit. I look forward to hearing from you.
Peggy Benua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Perfect! I stayed at Dreams in 2007 before the pool was completed and had an amazing stay. To celebrate a dating milestone I decided the perfect romantic get-away with my boyfriend would be to stay at Dreams. My boyfriend works in the hotel industry in Europe and it is pretty hard to impress him but he was in amazement when we got to our room. The room was exactly as pictured. The junior suite was gorgeous. The chandelier light over the bed was beautiful; the room was spacious and even had a couch in it. I loved the amazing glass bathroom that still afforded us privacy. The lighting is adjustable so you can create just the ambiance that you desire. The rooms here are the best in Miami period; we did not even want to leave but decided to explore the rooftop pool and bar. The pool did not disappoint, it was heated, spacious and clean and it was just fun being up there as the clientele was not crazy but a rather classy bunch. The hotel staff took good care of us; they were welcoming, polite and friendly. We received complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and mojitos in our room and while checking in we got complimentary champagne at the front desk. We didn’t get a chance to check out Serafina but there was a really good deal where you get a free pizza with lunch. The restaurant was decorated nicely and next time for sure we will dine there.
If you want a romantic getaway in Miami, this is the place for you, perfect, unspoiled and gorgeous. It doesn’t get better than this.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi Stacey,

Thank you for your awesome review and I'm so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your experience at Dream South Beach. Many guests tell us that our hotel and rooms are designed for romance and I'm happy that you had the experience you were looking forward to. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peggy Benua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dream South Beach is a very chic and trendy hotel. Yes, the rooms are small but aren't they all here in South Beach.? In addition, the staff here is very attentive to your needs. John made an excellent and favorable impression upon checking in and assisted us with some supplies since our bags were delayed in arriving at the airport. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable which made it much easier to sleep. The only negative is of course the noise. Though it is a block away from Ocean Drive there is quite a bit of drunk fools running around until the wee hours of the morning. Especially on the weekends. We only tried the restaurant for breakfast. But it was very good and was pleasantly surprised. The pool on the top floor is right nice and peaceful actually. It closes down nightly at around 11 o'clock so there really isn't any noise generated from this area that would affect sleeping, unless one went to bed before 11 o'clock. And why would you do that here?!!

Room Tip: if your on the third floor take the stairs one level up to the pool. convenient.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, General Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for posting your review of Dream South Beach and for your compliments about the property and staff. I agree that John is a superstar and thank you for taking time to recognize him.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peggy Benua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,462 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,762 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#40 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,592 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $144 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing