We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #58 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Prompt check-in with complementary champagne and someone to bring our bags up, followed by a dim-lit chic room with a transparent bathroom (easily covered up once asking the front desk). This 5-story hotel is in an excellent location in the middle of Miami Beach. The roof-top pool and vibe are amazing, except the roof closes around 10. Everyone at the hotel was very nice, especially Andres the concierge helping us discover clubs to go to at night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Awesome! Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are so happy that you loved our hotel and got to enjoy all the amenities and design elements that make us one of the coolest hotels here in South Beach. Thanks for choosing Dream, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    704
    230
    82
    48
See reviews for
123
1,254
120
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Property is beautiful, and wonderfully located.
Rooms are nice and well appointed and pool and roof bar really outstanding!
Nice spa too.
Negative points:
- bad room service in the morning (no way to get a coffee or breakfast at 7 had to call 4 times to finally have a cappuccino at 8!) and also unerasonably expensive
- awkard and poor lighting system in the room. Impossible to put make up on or to see your face in the bathroom mirror!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippi_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experiences. We love hearing that you loved our beautiful property and got to enjoy our rooftop and spa! However, is is distressing to hear that you had a negative experience with our room service. I would like to offer my apologies that this caused you some frustrations during your stay. During your stay, we were transitioning between the old restaurant concept and our newest addition, Serafina. I am happy to say that we are now fully open and operating smoothly!

All of us here at Dream hope that you will consider staying with us again, so that we may provide you a flawless hotel experience and show you why staying at Dream is the best choice you can make when coming to South Beach.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very chic, but the complicated lighting failed to make up for the lack of sunshine in sunny Miami. It was also tiny in comparison to the other hotels I visited in Miami at similar price points. The lack of a proper door (it is glass) on the bathroom was also awkward. My biggest complaint was that, upon booking, we were not informed that the pool area was to be closed for the entire day owing to a private party. I had originally booked with the intention of spending my day by the celebrated pool, and in retrospect I should have cancelled my reservation upon check-in and found someplace more accommodating. For $350, I would expect use of the standard facilities advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sselhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that you were not able to enjoy the pool due to the private party during your stay. Here at Dream, we work to accommodate all of our guests to make sure they are having the best experience possible, and it is unfortunate when the enjoyment of some guests negatively impacts others.

I would love a chance to speak with your directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-4747, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope to be able to speak with you soon! Take care!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Dream South Beach is the place to stay if you are looking for a well-located, off-beach hotel. The design is fantastic (although lighting in the rooms, although ultra cool, is confusing at first). The pool is an excellent roof-top oasis and the restaurant is very legitimate.

The walk to the beach is very easy by the way.

Room Tip: elevators are a bit slow so 2 floor would be ideal. the stairway is nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aschwegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your nice comments. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy our location and the super easy access to the beautiful beach! We really appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The bed is great, fine sheets, comfortable and great pillows. Being able to sleep on vacation is important for me and the room is designed for sleep, or at least for stying in bed. The room is dark with the lights on as high as possible. Don't plan to spend time in the room unless you plan to stay in bed. Our room was small and a bit overdesigned as with trendy hotels.

Great rooftop pool and sitting areas, and nice staff.

Maintenance in the hotel is poor considering that the hotel is fairly new, our bathroom door would only open half way, an obvious problem that housekeeping should have but did not address. The hand dryer in the restroom at the pool was broken and the soap dispensers were both empty, for four days, the pool tempearature was up and down.
Overall the stay was nice, but I probably would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream and sharing your experiences with us. I would like to offer my apologies that you experienced some issues with the condition of the public areas. Here at Dream, we hold ourselves to very high standards, and we take it seriously when we fail in an area such as this.

I would love a chance to speak with you directly about your stay, and hopefully you will allow me the chance to restore your faith in us. I may be contacted at: 305-673-474, or johnwalbridge@dreamsouthbeach.com.

Thank you again for staying with us, and I hope to speak with you soon!

Sincerely,

John Walbridge - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here for 7 days when I was down in FL for a conference. It was a nice boutique hotel and in a great location - near restaurants, shops, nightlife and a block from the beach. The rooms were super dark and there is no business center so I don't recommend it for business travel. I would definitely return for a personal vacation though. The rooms are super trendy and the rooftop pool was amazing. There is a restaurant in the lobby but I never ate there during the visit - it was never really that crowded so I am not sure how long it will survive.

The hotel was clean and the service was excellent. Note, check in is in one building but you may stay right across which is no big deal - gave me a glass of champagne when I checked in which was nice. Also watch, because there is a daily resort credit that is charged no matter if you use the beach/rooftop pool.

Note - No gym - have to use Crunch down the block which costs $20/visit.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyz2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us, and your nice recommendation! We agree with you 100% about our rooftop pool and lounge - it is awesome up there and the best way to relax in true South Beach style. We are all smiles knowing that you we were able to provide you with excellent service and that you could enjoy a nice glass of champagne during your check in. Thanks again for choosing Dream, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is in a great location right in the middle of everything in sobe. that is about where the magic stops. the rooms are very small, I've been in cruise ship rooms bigger. the walls super thin
which makes sleeping in almost impossible. not to mention that you can hear everyones bathroom schedule (unless your into that kind of thing)

with the second tower rooftop bar be ready for a music filled night till about 2 am which is early for sobe. but chances are if your staying this close to the club's then, your out anyway.. also if you do stay here and they put you next to the elevator run as far as you can back to the front desk and change rooms trust me.... trust me. all in all would I stay here again... no. with the area so small and plenty of cabs I would choose a higher quality hotel with better amenities and sound proofing. and just cab it anywhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dt1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream for your trip to South Beach! We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our prime location - you really can't get any better than the heart of South Beach!

It is disappointing to hear that you were disturbed by outside noise during your stay and that you were not able to relax as much as you had planned. All of us here at Dream would love a chance to welcome you back and ensure that you have an outstanding experience! Thank you for your business, and until the next time, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#70 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#85 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tides South Beach
The Tides South Beach
#68 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing