We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tour with John” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Walking Tour

Art Deco Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 115 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take the #1 walking tour in South Beach with the most popular tour guides in the district. Art Deco Tours, Inc., Will enlighten and entertain you with fascinating facts and stories. Two hours will fly by fast. Stroll along Ocean Drive and learn about the history, the unlikely hero who saved the Art Deco buildings, the role of Miami Vice and Hollywood and other pop culture. You'll admire the architecture from the outside and design & decor on the inside. No bumping elbows in a packed group. Daily small group tours (max 8-9 people) are offered several times a day. Or get the VIP treatment with a private tour with exclusive access to select buildings not permitted to large groups. Your guides will keep you engaged with lively conversation and trivia! Enrich your visit and learn about the culture, history and architecture of South Beach beyond the beaches! Price starts at $30 per person
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour with John”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm a big fan of Architecture. I come from the old world of Europe. I am always so pleasantly surprised when I find places in North America that have charm, personality and great design. Up until last week unbeknownst to me, South Beach is a gem of a town steeped in original architecture unique to America. The tour was intimate, enjoyable and fun, and I learned new stuff! I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed the Tropical Art Deco tour. I can see a lot of effort, hotel relationships and planning has gone into creating this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellemcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    76
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art Deco Walking Tour Tops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Eight women on a special trip to South Beach took this Art Deco tour with Robert. From the time we signed up, through the tour and then the follow up, everything was first rate. We appreciated all the special access to hotels this tour affords, and Robert was a great guide. It was the highlight of our South Beach trip, which is saying a lot for women who enjoy partying, eating, and shopping!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Tropical Deco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I enjoyed my tour with John, he gave us a fundamental background in Art Deco which was just enough to help us understand what we were looking at and looking for. I would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone that wants to get a basic knowledge of this most beautiful Tropical Deco district in South Beach, Miami.

Ron Brodsky

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronskee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating walking tour of Art Deco architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Robert was out tour guide, and there were only two of us on the tour, so it was a most comprehensive tour. This is the best tour company because they have made arrangements with the concierges at several hotels to go inside the lobbies, restaurants, bars, and even taking the elevator to the roof-top for a wonderful view of the Art Deco district and a "birds eye" vantage point one doesn't get from the ground. A very good mix of building exteriors, lavish lobbies and bars, and street-scapes. Robert gave us his personal accounts of coming to SoBe during its nadir, seeing the Miami Vice renewal, the infusion of capital, and the rebirth of the area. We finished the tour at Espanola Way where we learned about Al Capone, Desi Arnaz, Prohibition, gambling, and other fascinating history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice, small group tour. Our tour guide was very informative and interesting; we learned a great deal about this area. After our tour the guide recommended other places that we should go and see (he couldn't fit them in on our tour) and we weren't disappointed when we explored these other sites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Deco Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing