We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST READ!: Beware!!!!The worst management and treatment ever!!!!”

David Barton Gym & Spa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MUST READ!: Beware!!!!The worst management and treatment ever!!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was very excited to go to the David Barton Gym and Spa located in the
Hotel Perry South Beach, after dealing with a devastating hit from Hurricane Sandy, being without power for five day, 5 month's pregnant, and just an hour after getting off a flight from New York City to Miami. I
couldn’t wait to get pampered and gain a sense of peace. However, from the
moment I checked in for my Prenatal Massage the experience took a turn for
the worst. We (myself and a friend) where rushed into the changing room to
put on filthy holey whitish robes and use gross flip-flops that seemed somewhat infective. I choose to walk bare foot that how nasty they looked. The waiting room should have been relaxing, it was everything but; extremelycold, cheap decor, no fruit or beverages. It definitely did not seem like the
cleanest of places, especially for such a "high class" spa. The staff was very unfriendly and seemed unhappy. My massage therapist seem nice, but she gave a horrible massage. I had a prenatal massage for $180 dollars. For 50 minutes. I am carrying my 3rd child and have experienced two other prenatal massages at other spa's which provided huge body like pillows and/or a specialized table were the center is cut out. No special accommodations were made; just a standard massage table was used. My
therapist, had rough cold sandpaper like hands and barely gave me any pressure.
It was clear that she was inexperienced and not motivated. She never dimmed
the lights, never had any music playing, no candle, ect.... no tranquility
or peace and let’s not talk about her complete lack of technique and lack of
communication she never spoke a word. I left sorer than when I first walked
in. The following day Sunday 11/11/12 I returned to the David Barton Gym and
Spa located in the Hotel Perry where I was spending my weekend getaway. I
explained to the staff member at the front desk of the Spa I was experiencing great pain in my upper shoulder/ back area. Muscle like tension to the point I could feel a knot and great discomfort. I was unable to move my arms above my head. I asked if a therapist was available to help relieve
the pain, something was not right. The desk women explained that no therapist was available at the time, and she would call me once she spoke with the same therapist that worked on me. I asked if another therapist would be available to assist me. I never received a phone a follow up phone call. Now Monday 11/12/12 my final day at The Hotel Perry, During check out. I explained to
Megan Barry Front Office Supervisor of the Hotel my less then stellar experience with the David Barton Spa, she expressed her sympathy and assured me that she would have someone from the Spa contact me to workout the matter. Barry was extremely professional and helpful it was clear the Spa
and Hotel personal do not receive the same costumer service training. I finally received a call as I was in flight heading back to New York City, a voicemail that expressing that "David Barton" was sorry to take so long to
contact me back and wanted to check on my current condition. Once I settled
in I contacted the Spa back and was told the therapist herself wanted to
speak with me personally. The receptionist confirmed my contact info and
within 20mins the therapist called me back from [--] phone number,
another establishment which was extremely unprofessional. She explained to
me that she noticed the knots in my back during the massage and due to the
type of massage "prenatal" that was not her job to work on the knots. She
became very snappy and told me she did her job! I explained to her that she
must have aggravated something because I was experiencing pain that I had
not had before treatment. She should have informed me during the massage that she noticed knots and was unable to get them out, and I would experience pain. As a "professional" you should always inform your client and provide them with options, this was not the case. She advised me to use a heating pad to help with
the pain, and then massage to the area lightly. I told her I felt my service was
extremely poor, I shouldn't have to pay for a service that I now need to complete on my own. I could have had my husband do a better job then her. Overall, I had to book another therapist because she didn't do her job.I explained to her if this was the case I feel David Barton Co.
should pick-up the tap. I asked her if she knew if the company or hotel was affiliated with any locations in New York. She told me she would speak with her manager and
have him call me back. I never received a phone call.The following day
11/14/12 I called to follow up with the spa and spoke with Collin Hicks the
manager for the Spa he was by far the rudest, upmost disrespectful person I have ever encountered. Hicks accused me lying, laughed at me when I told him I was in pain and assured me he was not going to accommodate me in anyway. I made several suggested every single one was shot down by Hicks he told me that his therapist was not at fault, I must have done something to cause the pain I was experiencing, suggesting I must of sleep wrong, or my plane ride played an active role in my pain.Hicks refused to give me any contact for his higher up. Insisting he has final say so, I wasn't getting any accommodation at all, and hung up the phone on me. Collin Hicks sham on you for your outrage poor customer service and double shame on David Barton Gym and Spa for tolerating his behavior. It's 100% clear why all the staff at the Spa where unhappy and unmotivated. Never once did Hicks extend a courteous hand, suggestion or advice any solutions.

Helpful?
3 Thank D1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxed, inconspicuous work out.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Awesome work out experience. Lighting is like a club, but there is an atrium area for those that prefer the sun light. The low light allows you to work out without feeling like everyone is looking at you. Lots of aerobic equipment, pumping sounds; it was a haven in the midst of a storm.

Helpful?
Thank GreenTechLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
“Great Gym and Spa”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all it's hard not to like a gym where the girl working out next to you is Kim Kardashion...So I was off to a great start... The hotel (Perry) is under construction but they informed us before hand and the rooms are huge, and cheap.. It rained the whole time I was there so my wife and I hung out in the gym and discovered the coolest spa.

We both did facials and and body treatments with Ava. She was great! Her hands are like secert weapons, best face and shoulder massage I ever had. We joked about taking her home with us.
They also hooked us with gym passes-as we were paying $15 each per day to use it, that was really cool.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was at the spa this weekend with my sister-in-laws (we're all around 30 from DC and NYC) and we had a wonderful time. All of us got manicures and two of us had The Kinks massage and other other one got the Barton 123 package (she was the bride). The weekend itself was very empty in Miami and I think for that reason they did not have more than 2 manicurists on site at the same time, so we had to have the bride get her manicure at a different time. Other than that, everything was amazing. My massage was the best I've had- it included heated rocks that melted my muscles. The facilties are beautiful and the steam room and showers were just what we needed after being pampered. I would definitely go back when I'm in town again. Ask for Jay, the new manicurist, he made our experience very fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank limegreen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went to the spa with a friend to check out the "Miami Spa Month" a few weeks ago. She had a Massage that was so-so. I had a facial that was so-awesome!!

We had a bit of trouble booking the appointments becuase they only have one girl that does facials and I guess she's always booked. Well now I know why! Her name was Eva she's from Hawaii, and she could not have been more professional and the extractions didn't even hurt... oh and I love that the services came with a 3 day gym pass.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Barton Gym & Spa also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to David Barton Gym & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing