We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly food for overcoming jetlag!”
Review of Mr Chow

Mr Chow
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr Chow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #217 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nautilus
Cross street: 22nd and Collins
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heavenly food for overcoming jetlag!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lovely atmosphere. Great food - very pricey but the food was just what we needed after a long flight. Enjoyed watching the chef make noodles - it was quite a show!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    241
    151
    112
    147
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fly in food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have visited this restaurant a number of times, but will not be returning again. We ate in the restaurant last Tuesday and discovered a large dead fly in our vegetable dish. The reaction from the staff was extremely unprofessional. Our waiter told us that the restaurant manager would speak to us. After a few minutes he casually walked over and told us that the fly must have dropped from the ceiling and that it can just happen! It was very obvious that this was not the case as the fly was under a pile of vegetables. No apology was made.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annamwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location, average food, nice service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about Mr. Chow is it's location, right by the beach and part of the W Hotel Miami.

The restaurant itself could be very beautiful but they have crammed too many tables in and provided no waiting area causing a huge glut of people desperately trying to grab a drink at the bar in the middle of the only walkway through the restaurant.

The service was good but inconsistent as we didn't have one waiter for the whole evening so the continuity of service was poor.

Food - decent Chinese food, drunken fish was incredible but apart from that no dish particularly stood out.

5 out of 10.

Helpful?
Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overhyped Chinese Food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am still regretting dropping so much cash at Mr. Chow. This place clearly rests on the laurels of its sister restaurant in NYC. The food tastes no better than the strip mall take-out place up the street in our home town and the service is off. They try too hard and are rather pushy, hovering in a way that makes the diner anxious. Several times servers attempted to clear dishes still laden with food, our silverware still poised above and our mouths still chewing. Also, the prix-fix menu makes no sense. Perhaps if we had ordered a la carte our experience would have been better but I'm not a fan of restaurants that feel they can charge an arm and a leg just because. And just to clarify--I'm not cheap. We had lovely and worthwhile dinners at Nobu, Bazaar, Joe's Stone Crab, and Hakkasan while we were in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“always reliable”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I always love ease of this restaurant, never had a bad meal or poor service. I highly recommend the duck and outside seating weather permitting. The tables are nicely secluded away from the "buzz" of the main dining area so when you just want a chilled out dinner with good food and great company I would definitly recommend this restaurant. Dress up or dress down, its Miami so anything goes in the place..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chow also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Mr Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing