We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“biggest disappointment”
Review of Mr Chow

Mr Chow
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr Chow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 1,098 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Nautilus
Cross street: 22nd and Collins
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“biggest disappointment”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

food was a huge disappointment. we were looking forward to our splurge meal of our vacation. we have had better food at pf chang's and any other chinese restaurant. decor was amazing. service was not that informed about menu. also pushed drinks to run up tab. all flash and low quality. we left hungry (not even a half of a chicken breast) and with a $250 check. this was for an appetizer, entree, and one drink for each of us. go to lincoln road and save your money. never again on our yearly visit to south beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    242
    154
    113
    148
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just a Chinese”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really dissappointed - this was like a chinese meal in a run of the mill chinese restaurant you get in any high street. Service was great although main waiter was a miserable as sin - others thogh were great. Starters we nice but the rest of it forget it and at $300 you would be better to spend your money for better food elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank benalexhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Looking forward to coming back for the full menu”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been wanting to try Mr. Chow for some time now, but was motivated by a Gilt City deal to finally commit. I read the mixed reviews, but for some reason got the feeling I was really going to like this place as I had walked by many times and it was always busy for dinner and it is just plain beautiful..beautiful people included.
It has a 'Miami Sexy' feel. It is, after all, in the gorgeous W. The outside seating, which we chose, has an intimate cabana feel, complete with long, white, flowy curtains. We arrived 15 minutes early for our 9pm reservation. The hostesses were friendly, and we asked her if we could get a drink at the bar first to relax. She asked if we would like to be seated for dinner inside or outside, and then was happy to direct us to the bar. We grabbed a glass of champagne, and enjoyed it in the cozy, living room-type waiting area. The hostess came by at 9 and asked if we would like to be seated at that time. We followed her outside to our table. Our server came by shortly after, and was more than happy to help us with our Gilt deal. We both ordered Mr. Chowtinis for drinks. Food as follows:
chicken satay - A 9 out of 10 (it's close to Philippe Chow's, but a little smaller. The sauce is the same - very yummy. But, Philippe's can't be beaten in the satay department - it's impossible)
seafood dumplings - Good. My fiancé liked them. I'm just not a huge dumpling fan in general.
Green prawns - very yummy
Drunken Fish - very good, but a tiny bit too much salt
Sautéed Rice - good, but not that flavorful
Seasonal Vegetables - cooked perfectly, slightly crispy
Key Lime Cheesecake - very good

I think we made out with the Gilt City deal. Since we were limited to the Gilt menu, I'm sure there are other dishes on the regular menu that would be a little better suited for my taste.
The service was absolutely amazing. We did have at least 4 different people helping with our table (between the water service, people serving food and clearing the table... I don't know why some other reviewers had a problem with this. They worked as a team and everything flowed perfectly). Everyone who came to our table was friendly. We are very friendly, social people who like to talk and joke with our waiters. All I can say about the reviews with negative comments on the servers is you get back what you put out :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sobevip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It is definitely worth”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had dinner at Mr. Chow with a group of friends and we had a great night. The place has a cool and trendy atmosphere, beautiful design, good music, beautiful people. We had the seafood tasting menu, with samples of different chinese dishes on a contemporary approach, and it was great. The food is completely different from the usual chinese, it is light, delicious. The waiter was really nice and friendly - gave us some hints about the menu and explained the traditional dishes - service was perfect. It is definitely not a cheap restaurant, but the prices correspond to the quality they offer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivi_vai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Poor food. High priced. Great service. Great aymosphere”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Title says it all. Extremely mediocre food - ESP for te price. If you're ging solely based on the food, might as well go to pf changs which is much better! Ridiculous prices. Food was room temp and lacked flavor. However, if you're going for a fun atmosphere this is a great place to grab a drink before heading out on the town. The service was also excellent. I only wish the food was better or else I'd be a regular!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chow also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Mr Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing