We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to hang out”

Playwright Irish Pub
Ranked #391 of 1,080 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to hang out”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to hang out with a friend and share a we few pints together. The staff knew how to give us space to connect and feel like we were the only ones in the place. Great 2-for-1 happy hour from 4-7 on week nights. I recommend the black velvet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinderellaManJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    47
    30
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went here for some Irish food. Great food. Only thing is I couldn't find any alcohol I like to drink. My brand of whiskey was unavailable, No Dr.'s and several other drinks I asked for were uavailable. Definitely no Brandy either. Finally I laughed and asked the bartender to make me something fruity whatever he made tasted pretty good. Not sure if smoking laws are the same 6 months later but smoking in the bar was legal while we visited. Didn't bother me but it might bother some.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TamieSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
281 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“IRISH WHAT PART IS IRISH.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

HMMM no irish cider, no irish ales, beginning to wonder if it is just the name. food was only ok and the place could do with a spring clean, it is good for watching the world go by on south beach and sit with a beer (american beer)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smoky haze”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Would like to have stayed but we were greeted by a lot of smoke and couldn't get past it... Being from NY I haven't been in a "smoking" restaurant in years... Not sure what the FL laws are BUT I think smoking is allowed in Bars..unfortunately there isn't really a distinction between restaurant and bar here...too bad... It looked like a really cool neighborhood pub..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
2 Thank Sthrnbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent food, good atmosphere for a game”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stopped by here to watch some college basketball on our trip to South Beach last month. Dark, very typical of a musty Irish pub feel, but the food was good and the beer was plentiful. We will consider this place again next time we are in South Beach.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playwright Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Playwright Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing