We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple Decor and Good Value for Miami Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #107 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simple Decor and Good Value for Miami Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

- Front desk staff were friendly and helpful (apart from one guy who didn't seem to speak any english..). They helped us carry our cases up the stairs to the lobby. The breakfast is complimentary - bread, bagels, fruit, boiled egg and pastries. There is a room with tea and coffee and water open 24 hours a day too.

- The hotel is a couple of minutes from the beach and you can hire sunbeds from the hotel itself (though we got a cheaper deal buying directly from the guy on the beach) and the hotel provide free beach towels.

- The rooms are big and airy, very simply decorated and kept clean. There is an iron, a safe and big television.

- Location is a 20 minute walk from the main hub of south beach which is fine during the day but might be difficult at night in heels. It is much quieter than being right on south beach would be. It was helpful being able to get away from the crowds.

- Only negative comments I have are that the shower wasn't very powerful and it was noisy early in the morning on the first floor. There is a bigger hotel very close which has music playing most of the day which could be heard from our room on the first floor. The back of this hotel was very close to our room and we could hear garbage and delivery trucks arriving and leaving early in the morning which was very noisy.
If you'll be out most of the day and then exhausted at night then this wouldn't be an issue. Otherwise ask for a room on the other side of the hotel to the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    453
    216
    66
    47
See reviews for
126
542
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a good three night stay at this place during one of the busiest times of the south beach. The interiors are intentionally modest and soft in appearance, I am guessing they don't believe in unnecessary show of opulence. Its at a 2 minutes walk from the beach and all the other attractions in the area are closeby. Lincoln street (great food) is 10 minutes walk and so is the famous Mansion (nightclub). The only grievance I have with the place is that they don't have a pool although they have tried to make it up to their guests by providing a great terrace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Townhouse with my husband during one of the craziest weeks in Miami Beach - Miami Swim Week. I was on the go a lot, but the Townhouse proved to be the perfect place to call home base. The staff was so kind from the second they carried by bags in, through check in, and carrying the bags to our room. I love the decor of the bathroom particularly - the all glass showers give a modern and clean look. There are windows everywhere which leaves your room flooding with Miami sunshine... amazing! The breakfast (free) is self serve in the lobby and guests are all downstairs eating, its a very social but laid back setting. It was raining the first night, so we spent time on the front porch watching the storm and sipping wine... relaxing and it reminded me of being at home! Also my husband had to work some so the free wi-fi was a plus for him.

I will definitely be coming back to the Townhouse--the rooms are incredibly affordable and you are smack in the middle of so many shops, night clubs, restaurants, and attractions. I didn't get to spend time on the rooftop as I was so busy.. but I hope to go back soon and fix that!

Room Tip: If available, so for one of the suites! You get a private balcony, which is great for overlooking Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmeerikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I surprised my husband with a trip for our anniversary and stayed at Townhouse for 1 night. This place is a joke. The TV never worked and during the night I woke up to a sound of water in the bathroom. I got up to check it and the roof was poring water out of it. In the morning I told the front desk and they were very rude about it. They sent maintenance in to fix it and they stole my camera. When we checked out they were very rude when I asked if they had fixed the leak. We were on a cruise so I couldn't contact them till we returned about my camera. I called in Saturday and by Tuesday I was calling back to find out about my carmera. Once again very rude and of course no one had turned it in and they refused to check their security cameras. The camera stolen was a $600 camera! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdowns1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am somewhat surprised by all the excellent/5-star reviews on this site about this hotel. There are undoubtedly several good things going for it (see below), but ultimately the hotel fails in two key aspects:
(1) it was extremely noisy and I found it impossible to get a good night's sleep or an afternoon kip there: the noise was coming from outside all through the night (street noise, nearby music, deliveries) and from the hotel (I could hear EVERY step from upstairs. I was on the 3rd floor (out of 4).
(2) the location is great for the beach (5 min walk away), but not for the shops, restaurants, etc. If that is a concern, bear in mind you will need a few taxis given the heat.

For me, these two drawbacks are major ones for a hotel in what-should-had-been a relaxing destination. On the plus side:

-the hotel was much cheaper than anything else of similar standard that i could find on the Beach. In hindsight, I would have paid extra to go somewhere else
-staff was super helpful
-they don't try to make money off you at every opportunity: wi-fi and 24-hour coffee are free and there is a decent cold breakfast included in the price. They also provide towels for the beach (and I believe bikes for riding around town, but i didn't use them so can't tell for sure). I should say that $34 for valet parking (only choice) seemed a lot when there was a public parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AV_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pesaro, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Veramente una bella esperienza.
Struttura piacevole a due passi dalla splendida spiaggia e accanto alla via principale, la sera piena di mivida.
Camera carinissima e veramente pulita, doccia splendida.
Ottima la colazione.
Unico neo: il valet parking (non ci sono parcheggi in zona) a 34$ al giorno.

A really good experience.
Nice texture to two steps from the beach and next to the main street in the evening full of mivida.
Cute room and really clean, great shower.
Excellent breakfast.
The only drawback: the valet parking (there is no parking in the area) to 34 $ per day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahhenry8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cadet Hotel
Cadet Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#132 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing