We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best point - the breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #108 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santander and London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best point - the breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our bedroom was certainly minimal. It was like waking up in someone elses apartment. bed and pillows were fine. Excellent shower and good toiletries. There was a fridge and ice bucket yet no bottle opener. Plenty of artwork for sale in the hotel corridors.

The roof top bar was expensive. The route to it was quite odd with access via a service stairway (we did not see any signs to indicate another route). We had two cans of Corona larger. Each was $6.00. However, the bill was $14.40 which was explained by a 20% service charge equating to $2.40. The bar man advised that I did not need to tip as it was included in the price. That's a new one !. Noise from the roof top bar (open until 2am) and the street was easy to hear from our 4th floor room. Water marks were evident on the bedroom ceiling and that can be remided by the appropriate paint.

Breakfast was very good and included in the rate. Lots of bagels, coffee, tea, cheese, butter, good orange juice and eggs. The lady looking after that area was pleasant. She and the reception staff were the only staff members whom we found friendly. The car valets certainly were not. Bedroom staff just ignored us.

Reception staff arranged a 1½ hour extension to check out and that was appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    441
    209
    65
    47
See reviews for
124
530
52
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location close to beach, restaurants and bars. The hotel is comfortable and service is very attentive. We felt the hotel staff cares about your experience, and wants to make sure you are satisfied and enjoying your stay. Nice notes: beach towels available at the front desk; bicycle rental available; free breakfast food in the lobby until late; and coffee was available for most of the day. I saw only one down-side: the nice rooftop is not open during the day. Overall, very good place to stay at this price range. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iem207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located close to the beach, few blocks far from Lincoln Rd and the fancy parties at Delano and W. The lobby is bright and always full of natural light during the day. Room are comfortable, big with all necessary room facilities. There’s a lot of choice at breakfast and always fresh juices, croissant, muffins, marmalade and real Italian espresso (not just the coffee machine). What about the staff? Immaculate. To me, this hotel is great and the value really really worth. If I’ll be back in South Beach I’ll definitively stay again here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano_BigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Adriano,

Thank you for your review of Townhouse. Nice of you to notice that we do use real italian coffee. I will forward the message to the department heads in regards to your comment about the staff. They will appreciate.

Best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Reminds me of staying in a hospital - very spartan but servicable. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd give it another half star on how nice everyone was. No complaints about the stay... and you're really only two minutes from walking on the beach! Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_dH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Frank,

Thank you for posting a review about Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Townhouse and thank you for the added half star!!

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to Ocean drive and Lincoln mall, a 100 meters fr.o.m. the beach. Lobby and room are bright and clean. Rooms are a little worn and electricity a bit scary but as a whole, well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Buskachi,

Thank you for reviewing Townhouse.

I appologize if you thought your room was a little worn. Coulf you let me know what was your room number so we can look into it?

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic rates for very basic accommodations in the heart of South Beach. The super friendly and helpful front desk staff welcomed me and my friends to this very "cute" boutique hotel right off Collins Avenue. I likened it to an "upscale youth hostel" based on my observance that there was not one single guest that seemed to be over 30. I also felt that the communal help yourself daily breakfast albeit quite sparse with its selection of bagels and french bread, one type of muffin, coffee and OJ lent the feel of the place to a hostel as well. The property is well maintained and spotlessly clean including the rooms (the hallway carpets however are in dire need of replacing). The rood top deck is a wonderful place to take in the sunset. The placement of a stair-master exercise machine in the hallway was a clever but silly way to offer gym facilities without actually offering a gym. This hotel lacks a pool, and other amenities which is reflected in the room rates. The rooms are modern minimalist, but quite nice considering the lack of soft surfaces. My only real complaint was the bed itself. It is an "Ikea" type platform with a very thin and firm mattress that after a three night stay grew quite old.

Room Tip: lower floors mean you can skip waiting for the one elevator and use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTimeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the comments on the fairness of our pricing and the friendly staff.

I can see the comment on having a majority of young guests at the hotel. We do however welcome families on a frequent basis and older guests also. My grandmother for instance loves to stay at Townhouse!!

I am glad you notice the hotel is spotless clean. Our Housekeeping Manager puts a lot of effort into it. And the hallway carpets are being replaced next week.

I hope you had a nice trip back to Atlanta and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel and the rooms are simple but nice in the Art Deco style maintained. The small kitchen with a simple breakfast buffet is also refilled diligently. It's ideal if you don't necessarily want steak with fried eggs for breakfast. You feel immediately comfortable in this hotel and the price / performance ratio is right on every case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the simple yet to the point review about Townhouse, we appreciate you tasking the time to write about Townhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#97 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#96 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
1.3 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#119 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#61 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing