We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good price for location but remember it's a 3 star - don't expect 4 star because of price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #100 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good price for location but remember it's a 3 star - don't expect 4 star because of price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Reminds me of staying in a hospital - very spartan but servicable. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd give it another half star on how nice everyone was. No complaints about the stay... and you're really only two minutes from walking on the beach! Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_dH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Frank,

Thank you for posting a review about Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Townhouse and thank you for the added half star!!

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    434
    198
    62
    44
See reviews for
123
514
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to Ocean drive and Lincoln mall, a 100 meters fr.o.m. the beach. Lobby and room are bright and clean. Rooms are a little worn and electricity a bit scary but as a whole, well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Buskachi,

Thank you for reviewing Townhouse.

I appologize if you thought your room was a little worn. Coulf you let me know what was your room number so we can look into it?

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic rates for very basic accommodations in the heart of South Beach. The super friendly and helpful front desk staff welcomed me and my friends to this very "cute" boutique hotel right off Collins Avenue. I likened it to an "upscale youth hostel" based on my observance that there was not one single guest that seemed to be over 30. I also felt that the communal help yourself daily breakfast albeit quite sparse with its selection of bagels and french bread, one type of muffin, coffee and OJ lent the feel of the place to a hostel as well. The property is well maintained and spotlessly clean including the rooms (the hallway carpets however are in dire need of replacing). The rood top deck is a wonderful place to take in the sunset. The placement of a stair-master exercise machine in the hallway was a clever but silly way to offer gym facilities without actually offering a gym. This hotel lacks a pool, and other amenities which is reflected in the room rates. The rooms are modern minimalist, but quite nice considering the lack of soft surfaces. My only real complaint was the bed itself. It is an "Ikea" type platform with a very thin and firm mattress that after a three night stay grew quite old.

Room Tip: lower floors mean you can skip waiting for the one elevator and use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTimeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the comments on the fairness of our pricing and the friendly staff.

I can see the comment on having a majority of young guests at the hotel. We do however welcome families on a frequent basis and older guests also. My grandmother for instance loves to stay at Townhouse!!

I am glad you notice the hotel is spotless clean. Our Housekeeping Manager puts a lot of effort into it. And the hallway carpets are being replaced next week.

I hope you had a nice trip back to Atlanta and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel and the rooms are simple but nice in the Art Deco style maintained. The small kitchen with a simple breakfast buffet is also refilled diligently. It's ideal if you don't necessarily want steak with fried eggs for breakfast. You feel immediately comfortable in this hotel and the price / performance ratio is right on every case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for the simple yet to the point review about Townhouse, we appreciate you tasking the time to write about Townhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was lucky enough to travel to South Beach during Tropical Storm Isaac. The Townhouse is conveniently located on the 20th block of Collins Ave.

The rooms are very crisp and clean. It is a no frills hotel, but what else do you need? We were hoping to take advantage of their complimentary bikes and chairs for the beach. Unfortunately Isaac had other plans for us. The amenities at least sounded nice!

Breakfast was very basic, but included when you are spending a ton of money in South Beach. Bagels, croissants, pastries and hard boiled eggs. They have an espresso machine, juice and milk as well.

If you want great drinks close by walk to Liquor Lounge at 15th and Collins. They make the best mojitos in all of South Beach! Really if you want to get anywhere in South Beach from Townhouse, you can walk or you can take a fairly inexpensive cab ride. The front desk led us to our favorite night at Mangoes on Ocean Drive!

The front desk is very friendly and excited to give you different ideas of things to do and see. I would definitely stay here again. Hopefully next time I can when there isn't a hurricane!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulacherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you couldn't take advantage off everything we offer due to Tropical Storm Isaac. At least we were lucky enough that it didn't get upgraded while passing over Miami.
Just a small correction; the bikes are complemntary when you reserve using one of the promotions on our site and there is a small charge for the beach chairs. ( We do offer complimentary beach towels)

I didn't know about the mojitos on the liquoer lounge on 15th St. Thank you for the tip, I will make sure to let the Front Desk know about it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the reccomendations you were given.

Please let me know when you are coming to Miami again and feel free to contact me directly. Hopefully no storms next time so you can also enjoy the beach.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Townhouse in Miami is a nice Hotel near to the center of Miami Beach.
You can reach everything easily by foot.

Staff: very friendly and helpful. You feel welcome.
Rooms: are very bright and clean. but there are only the most necessary things in it.
Breakfast: ok, but not much variety.
Rooftop with nice view and sound.

To spend a few days in Miami - perfect. Would go there again for a next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlrlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the honest comments.

I hope you had a nice trip back to Switzerland and look forward to welcoming you agin on your next visit to Miami.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This little hotel has as the first important feature the location. It's in front of the beach, next to the Shore Club and very convenient to visit the area.
Rooms are simply and comfortable and the breakfast it's more similar to an European (French) breakfast than American, but original and good. There's free wi-fi connection at every floor.
There's also a very nice terrace on top, with the bar and a nice lounge area.
The service, however, leaves something to be desired, especially considering the price and the hotel rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fernap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Yes, location is one of the most important features of Townhouse. We are in the most sought after area of South Beach, a few steps from the beach, walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Dr, and to many shopping , restaurants and night life in the area. (and the best value of all the hotels in the area)

I am sorry to hear that service was not up to your standards. Could you be more specific so we could address the issue?

I hope you had a wonderful trip back home and hope to see you again at Townhouse.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
L Hotel Miami Beach
#123 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#91 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hotel
#134 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
City Center
Villas at Shelborne
Villas at Shelborne
#185 of 205 in Miami Beach
2.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing