We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, we never expected!”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #112 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience, we never expected!”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We entered Miami Beach without making any hotel reservations and soon found out we maybe should have. Luckily the Townhouse still had some rooms left at a very affordable rate (for Miami Beach) and at a great location. Its on 20th street, which means walking 10 minutes to Ocean Drive, but you do get a very clean hotel, nice breakfast for free, excellent service, great location, a very fresh decoration in the rooms. and all that for quite a low price! Definately check this place out!

Room Tip: We had a regular room with a queen size bed, which somehow wasn't as small as we thought it migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anathorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    466
    227
    71
    50
See reviews for
132
564
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Given the price of this hotel, it maybe the best on the beach. I really liked it. Okay, okay they don't have a pool but the ocean is a block away. Do you really need a pool?

Room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. It sort of has that minimalist look about it.

I LOVED that they give you coffee and a continental breakfast in the morning. AND the coffee was excellent. They have bikes there that I used but I don't remember if there was a charge. I like it was minimal.

I found the guests at this hotel to be an interesting mix of people from around the world. The staff were kind and helpful.

There are tons of restaurants within walking distance. I will stay here again next summer.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I went down to Miami for our birthday weekend in late August and stayed at Townhouse. We arrived early before check-in and our room was not yet ready, but they allowed us to have some of the breakfast that was laid out. After taking a walk and coming back around noon our room was ready. Very nice and clean, if a bit sparse and small. Shower only and I would have liked a bathtub for just one night to soak in after being on the beach. We were on the second floor facing 20th street, but there was no road noise as it is a dead-end street. The T.V. was a bit wonky with the sound, but really didn't watch much of it anyway since we were there to have a fun. Super close to the beach, though passing the beach resorts with pools makes you wish the hotel had one also! However, the beach chairs and umbrella were very nice and close to the hotel. We did not go up to the roofdeck during the night, but it has very nice views of Miami Beach. Great location, super nice and friendly, and good looking staff. Gave us a great dining recommendation a few blocks up the street. Also, do not take a cab from the airport!!! The bus stop from MIA is literally two blocks south of the hotel, otherwise its $33 each way! Since we had a 6 am flight we couldn't take the bus, but the cabs are a rip off, more than the cab ride to and from LGA.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at the Townhouse with my girlfriend over the Labor Day weekend. It is a wonderful hotel, but before you head here there are few things that a guest should know.

Parking
The Townhouse is located on 20th st in Miami Beach, this block is only about 300 meters long and there is no outlet. If you are driving a car, there is very little room to maneuver and the hotel only has one valet employee. I would recommend avoiding this area during the hours of 4-6 since it is rush hour and the parking attendant may not be there. There is a metered parking space one block over, I parked my park there while I checked in and got my valet information so that way I didn't have to wait or block anyone else on the street.
Guests who use the valet are charged $25 a day, you can park your car in a private lot across the street but you have to move your car every day. And in the end you end up paying $20 a day if you have that option. You can also use the meters, but you also have to constantly return to add money to the meter and parking enforcement will notice your car's presence. The Miami Beach meter maids are heartless and will not hesitate to boot your car if they see it there for over 24 hours.
I would recommend to pony up the money for valet, it's hard and expensive to park anywhere on Miami Beach so you might as well get the convenience.

Hotel Room
The room is exactly how it is in the pictures. The bed is a full size, big enough for two people. The mattress is thin, but not uncomfortable, if you prefer to sleep on a very cushioned mattress you may not like this bed. The room is not carpeted, so the floor is cold but this is something I found pleasant in the hot Florida climate. The TV is always set to loud, even if you set the volume to nothing it is noticeably loud but not enough that it will blow out your ears. There is a mini fridge, I highly recommend that you buy water bottles and leave some to chill. Two drinks on South Beach will cost you anywhere between $15-$40 depending on what you're drinking, so I recommend pregaming in your hotel room. The bathroom is big enough for two people to use and they have a walk in shower. NO TUB, so if you're looking for a tub this is not your hotel. Other reviewers stated that they didn't have enough towels, I encountered that same problem but a simple call to front desk resolved it. The room is very clean and temperature wise it was very cool. We did hear some noise from other rooms and from the street, but nothing too loud that would bother our rest. A very comfortable room indeed.

Amenities
The hotel does not have a pool or hot tub. The rooftop lounge is open 24 hours, but during the day it is extremely hot but it is perfect for sunbathers. At night, it is a nice place to see the city and can be very romantic. The front porch is very well shaded and offers a relaxing environment away from the main street of Collins to enjoy a book or a drink. The porch is secluded so you don't see the street. Townhouse offers free breakfast, while it is not a full breakfast bar it does offer the very essentials of a light breakfast. Coffee and tea available 24 hours a day, bagels, muffins, croissants and baguettes, this kind of breakfast would run you $9 on South Beach. The breakfast bar is self serve, and it is small but I didn't wait any longer than 2 minutes. There are a lot of places in the breakfast lounge to sit and eat or you can eat on the porch.

Customer Service
Everyone at this hotel was friendly and helpful to any questions I had. The only lack of customer service was from one valet attendant who made it obvious that he didn't want to be there. But you don't have to tip the guy and I felt I was vindicated for his lack of customer service by not giving him a tip.

Personal suggestion
When visiting South Beach, it is best to walk everywhere. This hotel is located in the center of all attractions. Parking sucks and driving sucks even more on Friday and Saturday in South Beach. It is best to leave your car with valet and enjoy walking to the many attractions South Beach has to offer.
Children, South Beach and the Townhouse is not a hotel suitable for large families or children. While it will do for travelers with children, the one child we saw during our stay looked miserable. If you are staying in Townhouse or South Beach, bring plenty of toys or distractions for the kid. Also, South Beach is a place where people come to get loose. There are a lot of things that happen here that children should never be exposed to, keep that in mind.

I would stay in this hotel again, and the daily rate is lower than most hotels on South Beach. But keep in mind, South Beach is an expensive place to vacation. You can save some money by staying in downtown Miami and drive to the beach, but you are also risking your sanity by driving into congestion and high parking rates. With free breakfast, a centralized location and a trendy hotel with simple amenities it is a perfect getaway if you do a little planning.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk on check in if you can get a room further away from Collins ave for maximum quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank oakcityandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The townhouse hotel was a great surprise! Reserved via internet with a good price for the location, the hotel is very confortable, has a simple but nice breakfast, the staff is always there to help you and the rooms are very good and very clean!
There is a great sushi restaurant on the basement, i do recommend a visit!
The location vs. price is the best. just 3 streets from the top atractions, lincoln road and ocean drive. And does not have the noise and crowd from the collins av.

I think the only down side is the price of the vallet parking.. 25 usd per day... but with you look arround you will see that is one of the cheapest! Calling for your car on your room... NICE!

It was a great experience, and i already recommended to my friends on a stay at miami beach!

Room Tip: Reserve on the internet and get some discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elrafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

First off.... waaaay OVER priced!!!!!! i had a friend book it for me (my error). Either way if you're paying more than $120 a night you would "think" it'll be AT LEAST up to par. I've could of stayed @ the Hyatt in downtown Miami for cheaper. As soon as i stepped in i knew it was a mistake! The rooms aren't white---there gray. They either dont clean the walls or they haven't painted in years. The rooms are very small and it had a very light smell of old.
Again there's nothing extraordinary about this hotel.
Pro: Location
Con: Price, Room Size

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elcolombiano218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Clean and quiet big rooms. Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Really close to the beach and at walkable distance from Lincoln road and Rodeo drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILANTOMON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
951 reviews
L Hotel Miami Beach
#113 of 208 in Miami Beach
154 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#95 of 208 in Miami Beach
217 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,435 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 208 in Miami Beach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing