We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect and affordable”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #107 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect and affordable”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Townhouse hotel is within walking distance to everything in South Beach and yet the rates for the beautiful rooms are very reasonable. However, what we loved the most is the breakfast: croissants, muffin, bagels, orange juice etc served in a nice, sunny room. We would definitely go back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    461
    218
    67
    48
See reviews for
129
552
55
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Wife and I (late 50s, early 60s) are English visiting daughter and son-in-law who live in Ft Lauderdale, Decided to treat us all to a Friday and Saturday night in Miami Beach. Booked Townhouse after internet investigation. Having had many bad experiences of so-called boutique hotels in city centres (noisy locations, suspect plumbing, poor room-room insulation etc) I was sure 90% of hotels in South Beach would be potentially high risk in this respect. Unable to afford Loews we went downmarket and selected the Townhouse. We were on 2nd floor at the back of the hotel. No complaints whatsoever except for high level of noise from air-con plants etc on rooftops outside our room. But this noise is a constant hum so doesn't impact sleep. Next to lift but no noise from it. Love the breakfast arrangements even if kitchen is a bit cramped (almost intimate!).

Staff were fine, car valet was fine. Bond Street cocktails were poor. "How can they call this a Margarita when we get stupendous Margarita's at the Carlyle on Ocean Drive for less!!" So, an excellent stay and we'd stay again rather than risk similar priced establishments given all the potential issues for hotels in this area.

Room Tip: Floor 2, far as possible from Collins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBThamesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed her for 3 nights at the end of May 2011 arriving late our first evening. Check in was very quick, and the front desk staff very pleasant. I was slightly concerned when we got to our second floor room which was directly opposite the lift in case of noise but I needn't have worried----not a peep could be heard from it.
The room was clean, very minimally decorated with a comfortable bed. Wifi worked great, the bathroom was clean and housekeeping did a great job.
Breakfast is served downstairs in a lovely room off the lobby. Its decorated with wooden shutters, very calm and cool. The breakfast itself is really nice, plentiful croissants, muffins, fruit etc and tea , coffee and fruit juice are readily available. Later in the day the breakfast nook becomes a great relaxation space with board games appearing from hidden drawers in the tables, and candles lit.
The rooftop terrace is a wonderful space, such comfortable seats, and plenty of umbrellas to shade you from the sun .
The hotel is in a great position for the beach and also for the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Rd Mall and Espanola W

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales , UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We ended it up staying at this hotel due to issues with our original reservations in Miami South beach (long story ) . It was excellent indeed . We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay there again . The staff were friendly and very helpful and the whole feel of the place is welcoming . Room rates are reasonable and breakfast was included . Our room was on the 2nd floor and it was light ,spacious and very clean .The whole hotel has a modern feel but decoration & fittings are traditional with a sophiscated tone . We couldnt praise the staff enough ,they pulled us out of a huge jam and were great for the whole length of our stay ,even trying to solve our previous reservation issues by phoning and emailling at no charge to us . The location is fine for shopping ,nightlife and 5 minutes to the beach . Bicycles can be hired ,maybe free not sure. Definitely a great hotel: no question.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheThomasTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Cute & affordable boutique hotel in the best location on Collins Avenue. Minutes from the beach & between the Shore Club & Setai. Some of the staff at reception were not very friendly or helpful but there were a few who were.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theexploringprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Nice boutique hotel with a relaxed atmosphere for a relatively good price. The only downside is that our room was at the corner of Collins av., which was quite noisy at night.
We enjoyed breakfast and the rental bikes to ride down the boardwalk to Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilhornis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed at the hotel with my husband for 4 days in April from a Wednesday to Sunday (first time in Miami). In terms of hotel service I didn't feel the staff we spoke to were overly friendly or helpful - not rude either, just not what we've come to expect from American service. When we checked in we didn't really get advised where breakfast would be, what amenities the hotel had or even a 'welcome' to Miami - not always needed but would have added to our experience. I've read previous reviews which have badged the hotel as 'shabby chic' and I think that's what they are going for here. I normally like minimalistic style however the rooms were just very sparse with no comforts at all. The breakfast was good and hotel was generally very clean. The location of the hotel was perfect for us - really close to the beach (2 min walk) and a 10-15 minute walk away from good restaurants either on Ocean Drive or Lincoln Rd Bvld. The main issue for us with this stay was that on the Thursday and Friday nights of our stay we were wakened 3 times each night (starting around 3am) by the fire alarm. Now these things happen however 2 nights in a row spoiled our experience. There was little explanation or apology from the staff at the front desk however one of the gentlemen did try to explain that the system that operates the fire alarm is linked to a local nightclub and when they have a power surge then it triggers the alarm in the hotel. If you plan to stay on a weekend and want some sort of sleep I would take some ear plugs! We have since complained via expedia and received a 50% discount in our rate which shows that the hotel knows that this is an issue. Miami was excellent just a shame about the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the floor number the better at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Cadet Hotel
Cadet Hotel
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#105 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#87 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#103 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#125 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.3 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#106 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing