We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stayed in better....not overly helpful staff.”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #126 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed at the hotel with my husband for 4 days in April from a Wednesday to Sunday (first time in Miami). In terms of hotel service I didn't feel the staff we spoke to were overly friendly or helpful - not rude either, just not what we've come to expect from American service. When we checked in we didn't really get advised where breakfast would be, what amenities the hotel had or even a 'welcome' to Miami - not always needed but would have added to our experience. I've read previous reviews which have badged the hotel as 'shabby chic' and I think that's what they are going for here. I normally like minimalistic style however the rooms were just very sparse with no comforts at all. The breakfast was good and hotel was generally very clean. The location of the hotel was perfect for us - really close to the beach (2 min walk) and a 10-15 minute walk away from good restaurants either on Ocean Drive or Lincoln Rd Bvld. The main issue for us with this stay was that on the Thursday and Friday nights of our stay we were wakened 3 times each night (starting around 3am) by the fire alarm. Now these things happen however 2 nights in a row spoiled our experience. There was little explanation or apology from the staff at the front desk however one of the gentlemen did try to explain that the system that operates the fire alarm is linked to a local nightclub and when they have a power surge then it triggers the alarm in the hotel. If you plan to stay on a weekend and want some sort of sleep I would take some ear plugs! We have since complained via expedia and received a 50% discount in our rate which shows that the hotel knows that this is an issue. Miami was excellent just a shame about the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the floor number the better at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

We loved staying here! Such good value - lovely breakfast & free wifi. Nice staff who were really accommodating when we had to check in early.
Great location, right next to the beach & an easy walk everywhere - they gave us free (or very cheap i can't remember) bikes to use. Nice modern design elements & funky interior design, & great rooftop chill-out/ lounger area.
Room wasn't huge, and reasonably basic, but had everything we needed - remember it's 3 star, & i have stayed at places that call themselves 5 star that offer a far far lesser standard of accommodation.
Would certainly recommend..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in April as one of our cheaper stays on a 4 week honeymoon. Even though we opted for 5 star in other locations this was one of the best hotels. Friendly service, clean rooms and good location for beach and quieter stay in South Beach. If you want to be closer to the ocean drive action though this may not be the place for you

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykonoswithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is a nice, clean, basic hotel. Breakfast and wifi are included in the room rate. The all-white rooms are small but and functional. Great roof terrace and penthouse suite. There is no pool but the hotel is right on the beach. Travel essentials, food, drinks and souvenirs are for sale at reception. Friendly staff. Fantastic sushi restaurant in the building. Interesting mix of guests. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briansmiththompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed for one night here in March 2011, the location was perfect and staff were very helpful, even allowing us the room for an extra hour the following day so we could shower after swimming at the beach. Beach towels given for free at reception. Breakfast was lovely, nothing fancy but a good variety of breads, muffins etc and nice coffee. Roof-top terrace was stunning!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dairygould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a great place to stay! Very modern and minimalist-if you are looking for a "standard" hotel this may not be for you. For those that are up for something more unique, it's fantastic. We enjoyed a Parisian breakfast in the morning, the lovely rooftop lounge for cocktails and star gazing as well as a delicious sushi restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McMissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here for business. Hotel was in good location but room although clean was in dire need of renovation, flooring was cracked and peeling in wardrobe and bathroom was dingy. Not the stylish hotel I was expecting.
The hotel was also very noisy at night (due to nearby nightclubs and other residents).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,833 reviews
Hotel St. Augustine
#109 of 212 in Miami Beach
724 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#161 of 212 in Miami Beach
757 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $130 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing