We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18% tip included a bit presumptuous”

Cavalier Crab Shack
Ranked #735 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“18% tip included a bit presumptuous”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were on South Beach for the afternoon and didn't want to venture much further than our spot at 13th and Ocean. The first warning should have been that it was empty beside a packed patio next to it. The second indication that something wasn't quite right was that when asking for a regular sized margarita, we were pointed to a display which showed a glass the size of our head for $25. Despite the fact that the menu had reasonably priced drinks it seemed at that time of day we were only allowed to have their massive alcoholic drink. Though we did want a couple of margaritas, we just went with a bottle of beer and a diet coke instead. This may have been language barrier issues but I happen to think the server's language skills were better than he let on.

The menu is so huge that we just ordered a sandwich platter for the both of us which was equally huge. Extremely tasty but the "bun to weenie" ratio was off, meaning there was very little inside the sandwiches for the amount of bread. Great sweet potato fries and deep fried green beans.

This was our first and only meal on Ocean Drive so I was a bit surprised to see the 18% included tip so I'd like to warn customers about that.

Great potential from the kitchen but a bit of a tourist trap if you're not careful. Thankfully we didn't become the next victim.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    7
    6
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Horrible”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is the worse we test in Miami.
My wife ended her dinner around 15mn before my son and I were served !!! We wait more than 30mn for 2 little hamburgers and french fries (I'm still looking for the avocado in mine ...)
They don't ask cook for meat.
We ask for a little alcohol free mojito for my son and paid $15 for ice mint and lemon !!
Let have a look on picture !!

Helpful?
Thank Nicoscop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for the price and location in Miami beach”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I think the price was fair for the quality and the fact that it is in miami beach in ocean drive.
The service was correct, not too slow not too fast. The waiter was quite friendly.
But the the gratuity (18 %) is already included in the bill, which i found not cool. So no need to add it again.
food quality was correct.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Regular place”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

It is my first dinner in this restaurant. I liked it but nothing special, the service was slow to get my order.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis MD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should have read the reviews....ripped off”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Went there for dinner....food was less than average and in the smallest print possible, it says an automatic 18% tip is added.... who reads the fine print by candlelight.... I added a 20% when we finished the meal...when we complained the next morning, we were told "all the restaurants automatically charge the tip" .... So beware!!!!!

We would have settled for free drinks as compensation....didn't get them...
Skip this restaurant!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank annapolitan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Cavalier Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing