We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming & small”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The New Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
amsterdam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Charming & small”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

I was thrilled to find this hotel online in what I consider the best neighborhood in Miami Beach. Having lived in Miami and been part of the up and coming of South Beach since the late 80s, I adore the area between 69th and 75th street since it really has that South Beach feeling from the early 90s. It is quiet, a bit run down, not entirely safe and just very laid back with a good choice of regular shopping and some good reasonably priced restaurants. The beach is fantastic uncrowded and friendly. Until the New Hotel opened it was just the Days Inn and some dingy motels around here, but now there is the fashionable, hip and friendly New hotel!

I arrived around 1pm and could not check in until 3, but was friendly met by Luis at the pool. The pool is great but there are no sun beds, which I was told would arrive later this month. I was staying in room 10, which is very large. It features an open kitchen (that has no equipment other than a small fridge) a very comfortable king bed and a small couch. The bathroom was beautiful with a shower. There was a flat screen TV and cable but not a lot of channels were available, which is a pity. The room and hotel look indeed very new and clean but I was missing some typical and small features that would make the hotel complete. But the great thing about a hotel this size is that you just mention it to the owners and really have the feeling they will follow up on it. Another charming aspect of this hotel is that you automatically socialize with the other quests without having the B&B feeling of that you have to talk to them.

The hotel provides beach towels and beach chairs and that makes it a great choice if you just want to do the beach. Guests that expect to be in the middle of the South Beach non-stop party may be disappointed, it is quite a distance from there. But if you are here to relax, rest, unwind, socialize and to top up on your tan, you just won't have a better choice than the New Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    60
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
136
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flevoland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Rooms look great and are comfortable and clean. There are not a lot of rooms which has a positive effect on the vacation experience, for instance by getting more contact with the staff.
Staff is indeed very nice and helpful, food is good as well.
From this location in Miami beach (residential area) you can easily take a bus for $2 to SOFI, Ocean drive etc. The bus stop is on the other side of the street.
We were able to make day trips to the everglades, key west and Kennedy space center from here (rented a car). The beach is very close as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

It is the great hotel. I was there with my husband. The New Hotel is in family oriented area of Miami Beach. It is very friendly atmosphere over there. We had a nice time there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I just discovered this fantastic hotel in Miami Beach. I am a frequent traveler to Miami and usually stay in the Raleigh or Loews hotels, but since this was a budget weekend getaway I wanted something reasonably priced. WOW!! This hotel is amazing. The rooms are even better than at the Raleigh! Everything is brand new, and the people (Ann and Luis) are amazing. I felt pampered in a luxury 5 star B&B atmosphere. The hotel has 10 rooms, all of which are fabulous (Ann showed me a bunch since I will be returning in December). The hotel also has a pool in the back with Lou's Beer Tavern. The bar/restaurant in the back is great, and the pool is the perfect temperature. The ocean is just a block away, and you're in the middle of a perfect residential community. Everything is so close by and parking on the street is a breeze. There are meters, but usually you can find parking on the street (FREE) right across from the hotel.

All in all I think this is a great hotel, and a fantastic deal as the rates are cheaper than the other hotels I have been to, and the service is better than I have ever experienced! Ann knows how to run a great hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovz_the_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, ON
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two days and it was amazing! Everything from the location to the food and the awesome staff and the beautiful rooms was perfect! Luis is an incredible chef, I'm still dreaming about his stuffed squid, and he's so friendly as well. Anne was more helpful then we could have hoped for. We arrived a day earlier than expected and she was incredibly accommodating. Luis and Anne always had great advice on where to eat and visit within the area and were always around when you needed someone. I would recommend this place to anyone! I was most in love with the atmosphere; the perfect balance between modern design and art deco chic!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianEsmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlj108
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for an extended weekend and neither of us could have been more pleased. The staff was amazing, very hospitable and went out of their way to make our trip most enjoyable. The food was amazing, Luis you have a gift! Ann and Priscilla were so kind and helpful. The rooms were quiet, very clean and beautifully decorated and you are only steps away from the beach! Overall this was a great experience and I would recommend a stay here to anyone...you won't be sorry! Thank you Ann, Luis and Priscilla for top notch service!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We booked The New Hotel as the last part of our honeymoon, and it capped off an excellent honeymoon, we could not have asked for anymore from a hotel, we were made to feel at home from the moment we stepped into the place, Luis the chef manager, one of the nicest blokes you will ever meet, made us a fantastic meal and even recommended others to try. Although it is a little way from South Beach the staff and the atmosphere cetainly make up for it, we will defiantly be staying there again when we visit Miami again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#166 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#114 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#109 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hotel

Property: The New Hotel
Address: 7337 Harding Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel, situated one block from the Beach, is a charming boutique hotel nestled within the historic Miami Modern architectural district of Miami Beach, surrounded by the area's unique shops and restaurants. The Hotel's clean and modern rooms, Day Spa with in-room Spa services, and eclectic Mediterranean Bistro stand out as the newest and chicest lodging choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing