We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding; expectations met and exceeded”
Review of The New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding; expectations met and exceeded”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The New Hotel is a boutique hotel whose accomodations and facilities are well maintained, clean and just plain cool. The pictures on their website do a fine job of what to expect. That being said, the New Hotel is not a four diamond resort, it is a laid back, new, funky SOBE property that does everything it can to give guests a 4 diamond experience.

The rooms are nice, clean and the staff never said no. Each request (and there were a few) was met with a smile and either no problem or I'll be right there. Yes, you do have to walk through the charming courtyard past the pool to get to check-in, but God forbid you have to walk a few steps.

The highlight of our stay was a bosa nova duo that performed in the courtyard one evening during dinner, outstanding. We never experienced any excessive noise, but maybe that was because we used our forsight and requested one of their quieter rooms.

All in all, comfy, fun and a great value.

Room Tip: Ann has great dining suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribBeachPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    61
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
22
136
24
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This small hotel in North Miami Beach is two blocks from the beach, a bit away from the South Beach action. We stayed for 2 nights. The room was large and comfortable, though strangely bare of decoration. The bed was comfortable, though we'd have appreciated a queen-size as opposed to full. As noted below, check-in is kind of haphazard. The office is in the back, past the pool, to the left of the bar. Just ask. We never did get a receipt except by email after we'd returned home.

They are exceptionally proud of the bar/restaurant, Lou's, which is hopping at night. Unless you're a light sleeper, don't let this discourage you. The sounds from the bar barely make it to your room. We had drinks and pizza there for happy-hour and the food was quite good.

I'd expect this place would go over well with a younger clientele.

Room Tip: We were in room 6, which is on the front (street) side, away from the bar. If you want quiet, ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBNewtonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel is very nice, the room is great and clean, i loved this hotel. Ann is great and helped us very much. Can you walk to the beach or take a bike, perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Based on the great reviews of this place, we stayed at the New Hotel for one night and it was a disappointing stay. The check in was really disorganized to the point that we were uncertain if we should even stay there (but we had already paid for the night when we booked the room online). Finally, after signing the paperwork twice, being asked to repeat our name countless times, and receiving two different card keys to the room, the room was ready but there was no toilet paper, the kitchen sink didn't work, and the room and bed felt damp perhaps from the fact that the AC had not been running. There was an ironing board with sheets set up outside our room and a ladder remained outside the reception door (right next to the pool) for the duration of our stay - small things but they seemed weird as if no one was maintaining the place. The pool was uninviting because it was full of leaves. No one cleaned the pool or the bistro/beer garden area which was also covered with leaves. We did enjoy the beer and pizza at the poolside that evening and our waittress was very friendly and efficient. Perhaps we just caught this hotel and the owners/staff on a bad day, but our stay was definitely not consistent with the experiences others have posted on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Three days in this little hotel were perfect. The price was right, and the evenings around the pool were relaxing ad magical. Amazingly quiet. Two blocks from the beach and around the corner from some fantastic restaurants - some open 24/7!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cap_Hill_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel has an amazing beer garden with twelve incredible microbrews on tap -- stuff like dogfish 120 and rare belgians. They have a sat/sun brunch that's excellent, as well as good bar food (pizza, burgers). They also have a few bikes for guest use and there's a nearby trail that runs up and down the beach. The rooms and bar are all around the pool, making it small and really cool. The rooms were really, really nice (brand new) with huge showers, beds, direct tv, fridge, sink, couch, etc. Lou runs (and owns?) the hotel -- she's extremely nice. I wouldn't necessarily recommend the place for families because the bar can run late, but it would probably be fine if you stayed in the rooms away from the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_hav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed alone (female) three nights in January. First, I was surprised by how quiet the room was given the hotel's proximity to active party spots and the beach. The bed was more comfy than mine at home. The courtyard entrance gave me a strong sense of security. The last night, I went to the courtyard for dinner and drinks at Lou's and had a wonderful time with the other patrons, many of them regulars. I ordered a simple pulled pork sandwich, but soon found out that nothing is "simple" at Lou's. It was easily the BEST pulled pork I have EVER had, bar none! Ann and Lou who run the hotel and restaurant were friendly and welcoming. I had a wonderful experience and would gladly stay there again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilaEndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#92 of 208 in Miami Beach
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#97 of 208 in Miami Beach
945 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#143 of 208 in Miami Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Hotel

Property: The New Hotel
Address: 7337 Harding Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel, situated one block from the Beach, is a charming boutique hotel nestled within the historic Miami Modern architectural district of Miami Beach, surrounded by the area's unique shops and restaurants. The Hotel's clean and modern rooms, Day Spa with in-room Spa services, and eclectic Mediterranean Bistro stand out as the newest and chicest lodging choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing