We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Value Hotel In The Heart Of SoBe”
Review of Sherbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherbrooke Hotel
Ranked #184 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Hello tripadvisor,

I recently stayed at the Sherbrooke Hotel in Miami Beach for 6 nights to celebrate my wife birthday. The hotel is a gem. It's located a block away from beach and nightlife. The hotel is located on Collins Avenue and 9th Street.

The hotel doesn't have a front desk like normal but it doesn't matter because Mitch takes care of everything. Mitch runs the hotel.

The hotel rooms are clean and large with wood floors and plenty of windows. The room had a very comfortable bed, tv and a kitchenette (medium size refrigerator, stove, microwave and sink). The a/c works great.

The lobby door is always locked making it safer then a regular hotel. Mitch will give you a key to let you in and out of the hotel. This is a plus.... Hotels normally have a open door and let anyone in. In this case, just the hotel guest have access to the hotel.

I recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting south beach.

This is not a party hotel. It doesn't have a bar or lounge.

Below is the hotel contact information.

http://sherbrookehotel.com/
info@sherbrookehotel.com
Sherbrooke All Suites Hotel
901 Collins Ave.
Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone: 305.532.0958

Make sure you read the faq page for good information regarding this hotel.

Miami International Airport has a bus that runs every day from 6am to 11:15pm express to South Beach. The fare is only $2.35 per person. Compare to a cab ride of $34 plus tip.

Mitch Thank You,

Luis & Kimberly Salcedo

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bklynknight81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed in this frickin hotel for 1 week and the owner was never around if you needed anything. The sheets were never changed during our stay. There are bed bugs and I was bitten several times. Do
Not stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of our 3 week trip to the USA.

There is no reception but you buzz the door and it put you through to Mitch who runs the hotel. You can't enter it without being let in by him.

It seems really very secure and when there was a shooting a couple blocks away during our stay we still felt safe knowing the whole building is locked up at night

He comes down and meets you, takes you to your room. The rooms are clean, had comfortable beds. Nice cooking facilities.

The beach and cafes are less than a 2 minute walk.

Even though it's not your conventional hotel set up I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is a little worn out but has all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay. Instead of treating this like a hotel, think of it more like an apartment. You get the Keys from Mitch and you come and go as you please, we also had a microwave and kitchen in our room though we never used them. The location is perfect less than 5 mins from the beach and in the arty district, centre to pretty much all South beach has to offer.

We met Mitch a few times during our 1 week stay and wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews on here. But I can happily say he is a really cool guy and has the cutest dog. On arriving he gave us some pointers on what there was to do around town.

Just don't book here if your expecting a 5 star hotel like service and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't really wanna drive whilst in Miami and staying here confirmed that there really is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wain_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

what we had was not a room but a small apartment. Although not in front of the main road, it was a bit noisy. The apartment itself is nice and in well conditions (a part from the entry door which did not look at all safe or closed). You do not meet the famous Mitch so often. We met him only once, over a 4 nights staying. You are in touch with him by email: no reception or stuff like that but it works fine anyway. No one makes your bed,Mitch checks daily whether your rubbish box in the room is full and empties it in case it needs. towels are not changed daily. The bathroom door was dirty and so was the one of the bed hedges.
The closest public beach access is few meters away. 1 block away there are all the bus stops. Lincoln road is some 7 blocks from there. You can walk there in some 15 mns.
If you book your room through email, Mitch will offer you some discount on the lowest rate you have found on internet...
PS: you might feel lost when you get there the first time and it is night...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samppa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

What can we say except that this is a great place to stay in South Beach. It's all about Location, Location, Location & price. Mitch is fantastic person to work with & we would definitely recommend staying here.

Thanks again Mitch for your great service & hospitality!!

Sincerely,
Scott & Carrie Post
Las Vegas, Nevada

Room Tip: Mitch is the guy to talk with & hook you up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having read some of the reviews on tripadvisor, we didn't really know what to expect, however, we were pleasantly surprised and would def go there again!

The Sherbrooke is all about location. For 79 dollars/a night for a double room, this is a real bargain and you couldn't get any better on Collins Avenue/9th street! Ocean Drive and the beach are just around the corner, as well as News Cafe and the lovely 11th Street Diner (where we usually went for breakfast) and the restaurants on Lincoln Road (Don't miss out on Nexxt Cafe!) and Espanola Way are six blocks away. We found the location very convenient since our main focus was to enjoy the beach and to explore South Beach on foot.

On your arrival Mitch will show you to your room and you will have to pay the total amount for your stay - and that's it. You won't see much of him later on. Mitch (he is friendly and he and his poodle live on the premises) seems to be the only one in charge there and he drops by your room to change towels (They are clean but pretty ragged!) and to empty the garbage once a day. But don't expect anyone to clean your room or to make your bed! Bear this in mind!!!

The room itself was large with a lovely wooden floor, a kitchenette (we only used the fridge), a table and two chairs, a chest of drawers and a TV. The bed was very comfortable and the mattress seemed to be relatively new. NO bed bugs. We had a view on Collins Avenue, but didn't really feel bothered by the noise at night.

And yes, as previous reviews have stated, it could have been cleaner! The room itself appeared more or less spotless to me (except for windows, mirrors and some dust) but what put me off a bit were the bath tub and the shower curtain which were rather dirty - a tribute to the spirit of youth hostels!

I guess the Sherbrooke is the place to be for younger people on a budget and those who feel young and can do without the luxury of a Marriott hotel room in favour of a well-located and reasonably-priced room in South Beach.

Room Tip: book at their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiselustig79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#138 of 212 in Miami Beach
421 reviews
Beach Place Hotel
#112 of 212 in Miami Beach
518 reviews
City Center
Hotel18
Hotel18
#128 of 212 in Miami Beach
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princess Ann Hotel
#141 of 212 in Miami Beach
618 reviews
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#197 of 212 in Miami Beach
785 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#80 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Hotel

Address: 901 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5058
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#115 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $127 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherbrooke Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Hotel Miami Beach
Sherbrooke Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing