We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite different to your normal hotel in a good way!”
Review of Sherbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherbrooke Hotel
Ranked #188 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of our 3 week trip to the USA.

There is no reception but you buzz the door and it put you through to Mitch who runs the hotel. You can't enter it without being let in by him.

It seems really very secure and when there was a shooting a couple blocks away during our stay we still felt safe knowing the whole building is locked up at night

He comes down and meets you, takes you to your room. The rooms are clean, had comfortable beds. Nice cooking facilities.

The beach and cafes are less than a 2 minute walk.

Even though it's not your conventional hotel set up I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 215 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is a little worn out but has all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay. Instead of treating this like a hotel, think of it more like an apartment. You get the Keys from Mitch and you come and go as you please, we also had a microwave and kitchen in our room though we never used them. The location is perfect less than 5 mins from the beach and in the arty district, centre to pretty much all South beach has to offer.

We met Mitch a few times during our 1 week stay and wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews on here. But I can happily say he is a really cool guy and has the cutest dog. On arriving he gave us some pointers on what there was to do around town.

Just don't book here if your expecting a 5 star hotel like service and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't really wanna drive whilst in Miami and staying here confirmed that there really is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wain_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

what we had was not a room but a small apartment. Although not in front of the main road, it was a bit noisy. The apartment itself is nice and in well conditions (a part from the entry door which did not look at all safe or closed). You do not meet the famous Mitch so often. We met him only once, over a 4 nights staying. You are in touch with him by email: no reception or stuff like that but it works fine anyway. No one makes your bed,Mitch checks daily whether your rubbish box in the room is full and empties it in case it needs. towels are not changed daily. The bathroom door was dirty and so was the one of the bed hedges.
The closest public beach access is few meters away. 1 block away there are all the bus stops. Lincoln road is some 7 blocks from there. You can walk there in some 15 mns.
If you book your room through email, Mitch will offer you some discount on the lowest rate you have found on internet...
PS: you might feel lost when you get there the first time and it is night...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samppa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

What can we say except that this is a great place to stay in South Beach. It's all about Location, Location, Location & price. Mitch is fantastic person to work with & we would definitely recommend staying here.

Thanks again Mitch for your great service & hospitality!!

Sincerely,
Scott & Carrie Post
Las Vegas, Nevada

Room Tip: Mitch is the guy to talk with & hook you up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Having read some of the reviews on tripadvisor, we didn't really know what to expect, however, we were pleasantly surprised and would def go there again!

The Sherbrooke is all about location. For 79 dollars/a night for a double room, this is a real bargain and you couldn't get any better on Collins Avenue/9th street! Ocean Drive and the beach are just around the corner, as well as News Cafe and the lovely 11th Street Diner (where we usually went for breakfast) and the restaurants on Lincoln Road (Don't miss out on Nexxt Cafe!) and Espanola Way are six blocks away. We found the location very convenient since our main focus was to enjoy the beach and to explore South Beach on foot.

On your arrival Mitch will show you to your room and you will have to pay the total amount for your stay - and that's it. You won't see much of him later on. Mitch (he is friendly and he and his poodle live on the premises) seems to be the only one in charge there and he drops by your room to change towels (They are clean but pretty ragged!) and to empty the garbage once a day. But don't expect anyone to clean your room or to make your bed! Bear this in mind!!!

The room itself was large with a lovely wooden floor, a kitchenette (we only used the fridge), a table and two chairs, a chest of drawers and a TV. The bed was very comfortable and the mattress seemed to be relatively new. NO bed bugs. We had a view on Collins Avenue, but didn't really feel bothered by the noise at night.

And yes, as previous reviews have stated, it could have been cleaner! The room itself appeared more or less spotless to me (except for windows, mirrors and some dust) but what put me off a bit were the bath tub and the shower curtain which were rather dirty - a tribute to the spirit of youth hostels!

I guess the Sherbrooke is the place to be for younger people on a budget and those who feel young and can do without the luxury of a Marriott hotel room in favour of a well-located and reasonably-priced room in South Beach.

Room Tip: book at their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiselustig79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed here with friends who were skeptical about staying somewhere that wasn't part of a well-known chain. I was just hoping to find a fairly clean place to stay, free of bed bugs. The Sherbrooke was more than that. The suite was spacious enough that I didn't feel cramped with 2 other people. The mini kitchen helped save on food expenses (eating out for every single meal in Miami is only for the wealthy!). Mitch was friendly enough, and helpful with information. Lots of great restaurants, bars, clubs in walking distance. Of course, this isn't the Ritz Carlton, so if you can't go a few nights without 8,000 count bed sheets, do not stay here.
Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CaramelMacchiat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have just returned from the Sherbrooke, we didn't expect much due to the really good price we got. It is what you would call basic, original and very historic. Spotlessly clean, full size tv, big bed, kitchen and an 1930's shower, very unusual! Mitch was very helpful and pleasant.
Only problem we had was the noise but it is South Beach and wax earplugs are wonderful.
Recommend for a long weekend, if it is for a week or more, possibly not.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#182 of 214 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Spray Hotel
Ocean Spray Hotel
#193 of 214 in Miami Beach
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bikini Lodge
Bikini Lodge
#141 of 214 in Miami Beach
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Suites
Ocean Reef Suites
#115 of 214 in Miami Beach
703 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#135 of 214 in Miami Beach
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherbrooke Hotel

Address: 901 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5058
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#115 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $110 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherbrooke Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sherbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherbrooke Hotel Miami Beach
Sherbrooke Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing