We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$30 in "resort fees", unfriendly staff, and cheap finishing”
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #78 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

They add a hefty $30 for "resort fee" to the bill, quite a bit if you're staying short term.
Service in general also lacks professionalism. Reception generally gives off an air of unhelpfulness, and that you need to beg to get things done.
The actual rooms don't look as nice as the photos advertised. Finishing is a bit cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dorbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 628 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very modern ,beautifully designed,cozy hotel with young and friendly stuff and relaxing atmosphere. Really liked the location :in the beginning of main promenade ,but not in the middle of crowds and party noises+ 2 min.walks to the beach.Looked like hotel's restaurant was good too as it was very busy through the weekend...Will highly recommend to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was really big, clean and confortable! The partial view to the ocean was ok. The pool is small, but was good to refresh. The staff was very kind, specially Jessie. The restaurant was very good as well. The location is great, at Ocean Drive but in a quiet area. The beach was just 2 minutes walking. There aren't enougth umbrellas for all rooms, so its better to get one early.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Na_Aguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Sense Oct. 12-13 and unfortunately had far too many issues.

Issue #1 (medium/large issue): We paid in advance for the room and had a confirmed King. When we check in they say "sorry, a pipe busted in your room so we can only place you in two doubles" there was no offer to compensate in any way for this disruption. I get it...things happen but for the price we're paying for this "boutique" hotel you're not hurting for money and you should compensate things like this with something. How about a complimentary meal or beverage, something?

Issue #2 (small issue): When they say you get a "sea view" it's not really that easy. I (5'11") could only sea the ocean if I stood on a chair on the balcony.

Issue #3 (huge issue): The valet attendant returned our car to us damaged. The driver's door wouldn't open and a portion of the rear view mirror had broken off. It took several minutes to get a Valet manager to meet us. Instead 4 valet attendants stood there staring at us wondering what was going to happen. Once the Manager arrived he says that he has no power to fix the issue and we should not pursue it further. When confronted why any damage to our car wasn't noted when we checked in he said "that's a good point I don't know" The manager felt we dropped off the car damaged and refused to contact the attendant who parked our car when we initially arrived. The Manager further said "well we have big guys who drive so they might have done something but they're big guys" and left in the middle of our conversation. In the middle of this the Sense manager on duty comes out expresses his horror but says they can't do anything. While he was polite he really didn't offer further advice and stated he would make a report for the hotel. He further stated that the hotel is REQUIRED to contract with this valet agency and they have no choice in the matter of who they contract through. I find that unacceptable and feel they should be an advocate for their customers. Instead of helping the problem they just sympathize and wring their hands of it. We still can't get the driver's door open, I can't understand how not one but two major things INSIDE the car get broken. I could see a valet dinging the car or something but breaking things inside the car??

This was a terrible experience and I hope the hotel will offer to make this right.

I did give them 2 out of 5 for the friendly staff and modern, comfortable hotel but that won't bring me back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for only two nights, but I wish it were more, because we had a great time here!

The hotel is really nice and you actually have the feeling to enter a beach house when you come through the front door. With the natural color schemes and materials, they make you feel home in an second.

The room we had was no. 10 and had a view on the street and a glimpse on the beach. Great room with very nice beds and a modern bathroom.

The hotel has the option to breakfast, but we only ordered the banana pancakes on one morning, which are to die for! The other morning we went out for breakfast, since there are so much eating facilities in the area.

They do have a lot of nice cocktails which you can bring up to the roof where there is a nice pool. They serve them in the best glasses you can imagine; Ball's Mason Jars!
The pool is not really meant for swimming since it not very deep, but more for chilling en cooling down. The have very nice sun beds a towel-service and there are some umbrella's.

If you like the beach more, then you're at the perfect place; just across the street you enter the beach. The hotel has towels to lend for their guests, just ask the person on the desk downstairs. Also, you can get some small chairs along with you, if you prefer not to sit on the sand.

Also, this hotel is about 2 minutes walking from the most famous place in Miami; Ocean Drive. Location is a big plus here!

The last day, we checked out in the morning, but had a whole day ahead of us, before flying home. We got the card for the hotel pool ánd a bag with towels, so we still could have a great day, although we were no longer staying in the hotel. Ain't that a great service or what!

We enjoyed our stay here and must say that the housekeeping is the best. I forgot my TomTom and iPod in the room when I checked out. When we came to get our stuff in the afternoon, they came to tell they found it.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

i loved everything about the hotel, staff, food, room, pool warm, the list can go on...the Russian waiter is very funny and he makes a good mojito....well they all do.

everything was clean i could not fault on anything...

Now to better things this is what i would suggest, at least a continetal breakfast within the cost of the room, if you are going to charge Hotel service, towles etc then throw in breakfast. When your at the pool no one comes up to see if you want drinks or anything, well they didnt for me. and the Wifi being great to have but chargable with in hotel service then make it work by the pool.

3 comments improve but i did enjoy the hotel and would stay again.

Thanks Michael

Room Tip: i stayed on the third floor room 14...you got a sea view and its only i flight of stairs to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Came here with 9 girls for a bachelorette party and had no complaints! Pool on the roof is salt water and clean- we had it all to ourselves!

Downstairs kitchen/ bar area is very intimate and the food is great with unl mimosa specials. The rooms were large and all had balconies. A great value and nice quiet location right across from the beach!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Elsie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,419 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
566 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,813 reviews
Blanc Kara
#32 of 212 in Miami Beach
429 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#74 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $180 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing