We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great experience and personalized service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #38 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great experience and personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great boutique hotel with lots of personalized service. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Jessie, she went out of her way to provide us with excellent service. While this was across the street from the beach and not on the beach, it was a super short walk. The location is also walking distance to everything South Beach has to offer.
We stayed here for two days and at The Savoy for two days. Once we got to The Savoy we were instantly missing Sense Beach House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCRSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    175
    38
    17
    17
See reviews for
66
290
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Be warned. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed

We booked the hotel for 5 nights in February/March based on its location, design, size and reviews.

THE GOOD: It is a new-ish hotel and so the rooms were as advertised and pictured. Clean and stylish, good mattresses, etc. The location, for our purposes was brilliant with beach access and bike rentals at the end of the street and just far enough away from the crowds on Ocean Drive. We enjoyed the quiet location and proximity to Cafe Aroma for healthy breakfast.

If you have low expectations, you will not be disappointed.

THE BAD: We became concerned when arrived around 11:30, clearly too early for check-in. We did not necessarily expect our room -- we knew we were early, but the greeting was rather aloof and ungracious. The young man at the desk just looked at us and said, "Well, you ARE early..." Well, yes. But we did not ask for anything except to advise we had arrived, perhaps find out how long our room would be and where we might have a light bite. Even though he was not at all busy, he chose not to do our paperwork. I found that lazy... When we did check in a bit alter after an acceptable (but not fantastic) lunch at the hotel restaurant, I specifically asked "Is there anything else we should know to make out stay more enjoyable." We got a blank stare and a shrug: "No, nothing..." (and we had to wait at that point to check in because now he was busy with another guest.)

The weather was a bit cool during our stay and I lamented to my husband that I wished I had brought my guess passes for the Equinox gym at the corner. (I am a member and would have welcomed working out. Yes, I cold have paid, but I get cheap...) The night before we departed we discovered quite by accident from a lovely and helpful young woman at the front desk that the hotel offers free guest passes to Equinox. I was shocked and explained I had specifically asked if there was anything I should know.. I was told that the aloof young man was likely losing his job for poor overall performance. . Not really a apology or very helpful to me but perhaps future guests will have benefit of a decent orientation. Or perhaps this young man is still employed here and nothing has changed...

And then there was the random BANG BANG BANG on the pipes in our corner room with the ocean view. Lovely and spacious room. We were told it was the best in the house. It appears that some sort of plumbing issue creates this noise. From our experience it becomes more active the more crowded the hotel becomes. When we questioned it the aloof young man attributed the noise to the hotel's rooftop pool plumbing and said it should subside since the pool had been closed that day for maintenance. The noise persisted. Other hotel employees were concerned, said it would not go away and we should have our room changed (but all of our things were unpacked and the thought of moving did no appeal to us.) Try as one might, one never is allowed to speak to a manager. The hotel is staffed by very young front desk people who appear to phone an offsite manager (or at least a manager who is not interested in meeting guests). We accepted a one-night reduction to our bill as compensation for the noise (which subsided but did not disappear Sunday as the hotel grew less busy). But the manner in which this compensation was offered was crude and ungracious and was accompanied by a stern and practically finger-wagging message from the invisible manager that "there will be more no more reductions." As if they suspected us of some sort of scheme to get our bill reduced. Amazing!

With regard to noise, one should also know the following: One reason we opted not to change rooms is that the banging occurred mostly during waking hours when people are using the plumbing, plus, on the weekend, we also were awaked by extremely loud guests of the hotel. Yes, South Beach is a party city, but the hotel on this particular weekend attracted a rowdy party crowd who were playing musical rooms at 4 a.m., chattiing, shouting, slamming doors... One night the hotel management summoned the police to handle rowdy hotel guests who were fighting. And from our room we could hear every word of conversation spoken by the couple next door, and every cry of the infant traveling with the couple to our left.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner room facing the ocean. Street noise was not a problem but plumbing noises were a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a great time there after the first night because our AC wasn't working right but they corrected it quickly and then put us in a better room with a better location. We had a great time and they always looked out for us with ice downstairs and extra towels etc. The whole staff was super excellent and gave us great recommendations on places to eat as well. The beds are super amazing and relaxing too. Overall, we will becoming back soon.

RJ

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yungrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

we booked this hotel for our 3 night stay in south beach based on trip advisor reviews and we were so happy we did! loved this boutique hotel!! Spacious rooms with great decor and loved the bathroom! we ordered room service twice from the hotel restaurant and were blown away but the taste! This hotel was perfect for us as it was 1 block from the beach, 1 block from the Collins Ave shops and 1 block from the Ocean Dr shops and restaurants - but was not in the middle of all the noise and crowds of south beach. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazirap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location, wonderful staff, great cocktails, and delicious food. In South Beach, but quieter. Clean, modern rooms, with soft and firm pillows provided. Comfortable and clean pool areas. Beautiful and thoughtful decor, with beach theme carried all throughout. Our room overlooked Ocean Drive with some ocean view. Fun to sit and watch the eye candies below. Glass doors kept out the street noise and we slept comfortably without any disturbance. A shout out to Jessie, Gabriele, Tatiana, and the housekeeping staff for a great stay. We rented a car; valet parking is $27/day with unlimited in and out. Try the L'Imperatrice cocktail, it's delicious; the friendly bartender really knows his drinks.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here with friends during the Ultra Music Festival/Winter Music Conference. Worried that we might be disturbed by the madness that is South Beach during this time, Sense Beach House was the perfect retreat. Turned out that my friends and I were the disturbance. It's walking distance to EVERYTHING yet it's secluded so you don't hear any of the party/street/club noise. GABRIEL IS FANTASTIC!!!! I've never met a more welcoming staff. My friends and I stuck out like sore thumbs in this wonderful retreat and the staff was over-accomodating and so friendly. We honestly left feeling like we had made friendships! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The rooftop deck was just the way to end our weekend, reminisce and soak in the beauty of South Beach from this gorgeous oasis. We left talking about how we would genuinely miss Gabriel and the rest of the Beach House staff. FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for just one night after we docked in Miami from a cruise. I wish we had longer to stay because the place was beautiful. The room was spacious. I loved that our balcony overlooked ocean drive (great for people watching!). The staff was courteous, even going as far as printing out the weather report for New York upon our checking out. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crtnymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,949 reviews
Blanc Kara
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Villa Italia Hotel
#53 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Beacon Hotel
#46 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Property: Sense Beach House
Address: 400 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing