We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Vernieuwde hotel aan de rustige zijn van Ocean Drive Miami Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #65 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Vernieuwde hotel aan de rustige zijn van Ocean Drive Miami Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

it was already a year ago that we visited this hotel. The changed the website and the hotel. There is now a restaurant in the hotel that serves brunch, lunch and diner. It is a good addition to the hotel because there is now a roomservice available. The rooms are renewed and it is even beter that before. The value for money is not bad because it is is a small luxures locatie.
As most hotels in Miami Beach you can hear everything from the buren and the hallway.

Room Tip: All rooms are good in this facility, the rooms at the site of the ocean drive do not have partial vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    182
    41
    17
    18
See reviews for
72
309
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I'm sure the Sense Beach House is a very lovely hotel. I booked it based on the beautiful photos, location and amenities. However, despite having a confirmed reservation I was not able to stay here. I booked this a reservation for Friday night online the evening before, when my return flight to New York was cancelled due to inclement weather. The Sense emailed me my online confirmation.

At noon on Friday, Sense Beach House called me and told me that they were overbooked and I could not stay there. I was unclear as to why they had not called me earlier to inform me, since they were basically stranding me in Miami at the last minute. I told them they had very much inconvenienced me, and asked if they would book me a complimentary room at another hotel. They said they would help me find another hotel, but I would have to pay full price for it.

I have stayed at hotels in many different price ranges all over the world, so I know that not honoring a confirmed reservation at the last minute is very unusual. It happened to me only once before. I was staying at the Marriott Las Vegas, and they cancelled my confirmed reservation at the last minute due to overbooking. They paid for me to stay at a nicer hotel in the area, and also paid my taxi fare to the other hotel.

So I do know that this is exceptionally poor service, especially for a hotel in this price range. My "confirmed" room was $321 a night.

Perhaps this is a very nice hotel. But do you really want to risk being stranded in an unfamiliar city three hours before check-in time, despite having a confirmed reservation?

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank sunita_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Neat place, we had a small room that overlooked the alley in the back, but most of the other rooms had balconies. They were all very friendly and had beach chairs and towels to take to the one block to the ocean. The roof-top pool area was fun, and there was never anyone else up there. We had Sunday brunch and it was pretty good for the price, and the unlimited Mimosa's were a hit

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Having lived on south beach I know that ocean drive hotels are not really that great. This place is amazing!! It's small only 18 rooms, great roof top deck and pool. Really nice cafe/ restaurant downstairs. Staff very helpful and friendly. The entire hotel is clean everywhere, and you just don't see that in every hotel. I will only stay here from now on

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelinaogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london- Tuscany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel room is spacious and bed is very comfortable, entrance and hall very modern and nice.
The restaurant is good and Staff extremely friendly.
Location is below 5 st street so you have to do some walk to get in the heart of South Beach area. Valet parkinng is available at 28 dollars.
I think the hotel is very nice and well restored, good choice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maserati3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sense Beach House and had a wonderful stay. I usually prefer to stay in larger hotels but the Sense had a good rate so I decided to give it a go. I was really pleasantly surprised by how well organised and beautiful the hotel is. The room was spotless with a stylish beachy theme, great Molton Brown toiletries (my favourite) and fantastic double shower. The restaurant does a really good breakfast (the best coffee we found in Miami) and bottomless mimosas were a nice touch. The location is perfect - one block to the main restaurant strip on Ocean Drive but far enough away that you can get some quiet time. Also a short walk to Nikki Beach (which by the way does a great Sunday brunch).
We will back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely relaxed hotel. Extremely clean, large rooms and great staff. A really great chilled out atmosphere. We took our baby (I don't think they were expecting him!) and while not really geared to babies, they were so helpful and kind.
Pool area amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#67 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Blanc Kara
#39 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#28 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 203 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Property: Sense Beach House
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing