We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #62 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just arrived home from a long weekend in South Beach. My husband and I frequent South Beach a few times a year and we LOVE LOVE LOVE staying at the Sense. This trip was no different. As usual, the place was full but very hard to tell because the people that stay here like to have a great time but not let the entire hotel know it....people act civilized and classy. The King Suite we stayed in was spacious and the bed, just can't say enough about the bed. So comfortable, crisp, and clean. The pool area on the roof is a delight and European style sunbathing is welcome, not sure why so few people utilize it as a way to cool off after being on the hot sand. New this trip, they added red cushions to the lounge chairs which made it very comfortable. Overall, a wonderful stay and thanks to Alex and all the front desk folks for being so friendly and making us feel like this is our place to stay while in Miami. See you next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennisgirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    188
    42
    17
    19
See reviews for
75
321
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I adore this hotel...The location is perfect. On the quite side of Ocean drive, but by only 2 blocks and you are right where the action starts. Also close to great shopping areas on Collins a few blocks away within walking distance. Also 1 block away from pharmancy/drug store and liquor store. The King suite does have a little refrigerator in the room.
What sets this chic hotel apart from the others is its Excellent Staff. Alex in particular is amazing! After a stressful day of flying he made checking in a great experience...along with the bonus of being knowledgeable about great places to eat, party, and visit on S.Beach...not just the tourist stuff.
The room was large, clean and nice...We had the King suite with ocean view. It is an ocean view..but thru buildings(pic). Walk across the street and you are at the beach...its that close. The hotel will provide beach chairs etc if you ask.
I've book "boutique" hotels on S.Beach before and when I arrived it looks nothing like the pics...Thats not the case with Sense. The decor is art deco very simple. Its not a loud/party atmosphere...so no "bar scene" at the hotel. The wifi signal is strong throughout the hotel, which is great.
Also they totally adhere to the check in and check out times. However you can leave your bags at the hotel and go walk S.Beach etc until its time to check in.

Room Tip: King Suite Ocean View...overlooks ocean drive can sit on balcony and ppl watch in peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSetChris814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in Miami. The rooms are very clean and the hotel staff will make you feel very comfortable. Sydney was the best and very friendly he made our stay extra special. I would really recommend this hotel to everyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Sense hotel is on the quite site of Ocean Drive. It is about 40 meter from the beach. The rooms are modern and the bathroom is big with two showers. We booked a room with partial view of the ocean. If you stand on the balcony of your room you will see the ocean. Look at the price before you decide to book a room "with a view".
We also used the valet parking at the hotel. The prices are about the same as on the rest of the Ocean Drive. It is only $5,- a day more than self parking, so it is a perfect service.
You can hear sounds from the hallway because the door has an half a inch space at the bottom. Each floor has its own color and the is one floor red, as a dutchman I hat the "redlight district" feeling :-). To be honors it is clean.
There are no extras in the hotel, except the swimmingpool on the top floor. The pool can only be used to sit in because it is only 2 feet deep. You can see the ocean from the pool and there are enough towels available. You must use the roomkey to get to the topflor for the swimmingpool.
The complementary wireless internet was sometimes very slow and as a CEO of a software company annoying if I could nog get connected.
It is a perfect modern hotel with luxury rooms on the quit part of ocean drive with only a small walk to the Cleverlander or other clubs.
I also like the jogging in the early mornings on south beach, and I was not the only one. Great location in a great town.

Surroundings
Make sure that you arrive before 4:00 pm so you will not get stuck in a traffic at the end of the day. All visiters want to see Ocean Drive at night.

Room Tip: Room on the Ocean Drive site are bigger but you will be close to the noice of the compressor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdwinOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
372 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I had booked two rooms, one for us, one for the couple we were traveling with. The room itself was lovely and very big--a corner room, very spacious and modern, with a nice wrap-around balcony. But the lovely room came with a fairly steep price (the total for one couple came to over $650 for two nights). The hotel is very well-located in that it's only a block or so from the beach but away from a good deal of the noise, and with the exception of inconsiderate people in the hall, we slept very well. While the minimalist decor is very nice, I would have found it helpful for the room to have an armchair, for instance (there was plenty of space), and there were some omissions and inconsistencies--for the in-room coffee maker, only one packet of regular coffee with two packets of decaf; no cream or sugar; no luggage rack; etc. The desk clerks seem very nice, but they don't always have accurate information (one, for instance, said there was no cream or sugar available for in-room coffee, but then there was some in our room when we got back). We like the hotel very much, and the smell of fresh paint and sound of construction in the late afternoon tell us that the hotel is still working things out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grmpmbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris, france
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were expecting to spend a grand last night in this hotel on Ocean Drive in South Beach and were attracted by a seeming discount of 40% off. Seeming only, because at 7:30 AM when the bulldoser, dump truck et. al. went into action on the road works 50 m from our hotel room, we understood that this was no discount!
We had already been disappointed by the appaling state of the shower and toilet the night beore (and you can often really judge the quality of a hotel by the state of the bathroom!): mouldy grouting, floor tile coming off, shower door that didn't want to close, bath-rug frayed and full of holes :-(
Only one person at reception (when he was there, because a friend had to call FOUR times to get though to our room, after landing on voice-mail the first THREE attempts!), not worthy of a wannabe high-end hotel, priced at over 200 USD/night.
Avoid this place at any cost, is our humble advice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burkele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I deeply apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. In regards to the construction taking place outside the room this is a project that the city of Miami has been working on for the past 8 months but thankfully it has been completed, it is unfortunate that you were inconvinienced during your stay due to this. We take great pride in our rooms, all fixtures as well as our linen is brand new and high quality, and I am sorry that you were dissapointed by the state of the bathroom. I hope that in the future we will be able to show you just how great our hotel is and if you would consider staying with us again I can assure you that you will not be displeased.
Please contact me directly if travel needs should bring you to Miami Beach again, i will personally set up your accomidations and garuentee a flawless stay.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel is ok. It is NOT on the beach. Had I known that I would have paid the extra 25 or 30 for resort property! Definitely not as good as its website makes it appear!! Had 30+ mosquitos in bathroom but front desk was unable to do anything but imply that we were lying! Pay no more than $100 per night. It was ok... Just not as advertised!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pptrias, General Manager at Sense Beach House, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your most recent stay at The Sense Hotel. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with your stay in our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience the best possible stay with us during your travels. Our hotel is conviniently located only half a block away from Miamis wonderful beaches. I am sorry that it appeared that the hotel staff was anything but concerned with your complaint. We are very responsible with our pest control and I apologize deeply for your inconvinience. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again so that i can personally assure you the best possible stay in Miami.
Please contact me directly if your travels ever bring you to Miami again.

Patricia Trias, General Manager
ptrias@sensesobe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.4 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Five Hotel
Ocean Five Hotel
#110 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Property: Sense Beach House
Address: 400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing