We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, but..”
Review of Sense Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sense Beach House
Ranked #79 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were very excited about our stay in the Sense Hotel, since it really looked like a personal and boutique hotel. The room (suite with ocean view) were excellent, but at the minute we entered inside, we noticed that it did not have a mini refrigerator, although in the specification of the room it was included. We went to talk to the staff, but the receptionist did not seem to be so concerned with the fact and said the maintainance person was trying to fix it and the majority of the rooms were without it. We were negatively impressed with this reponse and explained the importance of this item in the room. By the night it was put in our room. Moreover, there was a major construction on the street, in front of the hotel that prevented us to leave the hotel with tranquility and the hotel did not provide any assistance to this.
Overall the hotel seem to lack a more personal assistance, that is contrary to the aims of a boutique hotel. We felt loose, although some members of the staff were helpful, some were desinterested.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MichelleRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

I was very happy when i saw the hotel for the first time. The hotel is very clean and modern. I love the roof top pool because it is private and only people staying at the hotel can access the pool. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel is located in a quiet area but it was still close to all the restaurants, bars and beach.

The staff was great too. They were very friendly and helpful. The manager, Alex, was very nice and helpful. Our flight was unexpectedly delayed and Alex continued to take care of us even after we checked out. They take care of you from the time you check in until your flights departs. I recommend this hotel 100%. I will definetly stay here again. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Let me just begin with... I have stayed in plenty of hotels in South beach, from the Cardozo to the Old Clevender and this hotel is rating at #1. Its quite, clean, comfortable and convienient. Walgreens and the liquor store is right around the coner. The night life is close enough to get to, but far enough from the noise. The rooms were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The roof top pool is small, but no complaints, the views are great, and I maybe saw 2 people up there the whole entire 4day stay.

One word of advise, ask for Alex (who I like to call Alex Sensation) as soon as you check in. He will take great care of you from whatever you need to make your stay comfortable at the hotel, to giving you advise on where to go and not to go in South Beach!

I will definetly stay there again. My search is over when it comes to looking for a place to stay in South Beach Miami!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mari1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed May 2-5. SOBE-convenient and clean but got a handicap back-building room -- scratches, dings and patches on the walls, small prison window, extremely loud motor A/C , low-pressure water flow, wide open shower room floods entire bathroom, pool shower covered by dilapidated thorny palms. Did not get [none available] beach towels, chairs or umbrellas despite having been charged daily resort fees.

The redeeming value: Alex and his recommendations of Joe's Crab [had dinner there everyday], Las Olas [fabulous Cuban sandwiches, Cuban coffee/request less sugar] and free Metromover ride through all the loops for spectacular views of downtown Miami.

Room Tip: ask for NOT handicap room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

After a short hot trip from Fort Lauderdale, this was a pleasure to behold. Even though there was construction outside of the hotel, valet parking made access easy. The room was very European in style and very modern and up to date. It had two double beds which I groaned at but really enjoyed the mattresses and had a great night's sleep. The staff was very helpful with recommendations and suggestions as to where to eat and go for entertainment. Highly recommend and will stay again on our next trip to SouthBeach.
Hint Joe's Stone Crab Restaurant was close and easy to walk to. Food was terrific.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltrek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in the beginning of April for our honeymoon. From the very beginning we were very well met by staff. The rooms were fantastic, big and spacious.
The location right on ocean drive did not cause us at all as much noise as we thought. No problem sleeping through the night. The roof top swimming pool were also a nice surprise although not very big, nice temperature. The whole hotel have a clean and fresh feel to it.
Beach towels, small sun-chairs, umbrellas etc. can be collected from the reception in the morning. (try to be early for that, may run out)
All in all very pleased with the stay and can highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niklashalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Alex is what makes this hotel "go round". He gave us all the information we needed to get around and find the right places. He knows how to make people feel comfortable in a foreign country. Without him the hotel would not be what it is........The hotel itself is located in a great spot: Silent but yet in a few minutes walking distance party party party. Yeah.... !
Also only 2 Minutes to the beach. Wonderful !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,447 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
607 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#15 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#32 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,109 reviews
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#23 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,345 reviews
The Julia Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sense Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sense Beach House

Address: 400 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6614
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $182 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sense Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sense Beach House is just steps from the beach, offering a personalized and casually sophisticated vacation getaway. The hotel offers 18 modern rooms, a rooftop pool and lounge area with ocean and skyline views and indoor/outdoor restaurant, The Local House. Perfectly situated on the southern end of South Beach, in the chic SoFi neighborhood, Sense Beach House provides what South Beach has been missing – a true beach escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelsClick so you can book your Sense Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sense South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing