We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League
Ranked #3 of 126 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sponsored by the Miami Design Preservation League, the daily walking tours of the Miami Beach historic district are a terrific way to see the amazing architecture of the area. The tour guides are knowledgable and helpful.The ninety-minute tour provides an introduction to the Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival, and Miami Modern (MiMo) styles found within the Miami Beach Architectural Historic District. Explore hotels, restaurants, and other commercial structures with a visit to a number of interiors. The tours depart from the Art Deco Gift Shop at 1001 Ocean Drive (at 10th Street) on the following schedule:Mondays at 10:30 am Tuesdays at 10:30 am Wednesdays at 10:30 am Thursdays at 6:30 pm Fridays at 10:30 am Saturdays at 10:30am Sundays at 10:30 am You do not need to make advance reservations - simply arrive at the Art Deco Gift Shop within 10-15 minutes of the scheduled departure time in order to purchase your ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dunedin, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to start your visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I did the walking tour of South Beach at 10:30am the first day we were in South Beach. It was very informational, and a great way to get a feel for the city and learn about Art Deco. Our tour was about two hours long and well worth the cost (around $20).

Helpful?
1 Thank floridabuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    106
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami , Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walking Art Deco Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

March 15 2009

Sunday at 10:30 am my husband and I lucked into the Walking Art Deco Tour. The Welcome center was a bit hard to find, for it is a gift shop on a side street.

OUR Tour Guide's name is Scott Timm.
What a fantastic tour guide and what a wonderful 90 minute+ tour of South Beach.
This is well worth the time and money to do.
Whether you've lived here all your life or just visiting, this tour will NOT disappoint.

I hope you are lucky enough to get Scott Timm as your guide his enthusiasm and knowledge was priceless.
Anita & Dale Whitten
Miami Lakes, Florida

Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SoBe Art Deco Preservation Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

We took this tour in Dec 2008 with Art Deco Welcome Center and went at night (given Thursdays), which I definitely recommend. We had already walked the area in the daytime and seen the buildings. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and really customized the tour to what the group wanted to see/know (although he had a list of buildings he intended to show). We asked many questions, so didn't get to see all the bldgs on the guide's list, and it was the 1st day of Art Basel in Miami, so some of the places were closed to the public for chic artsy cocktail parties, but overall we saw some great places, and were able to go back to some of the buildings on our own after the tour to check out the art deco lounges and check the beach night skyline. This group is responsible for watchdogging the preservation of the art deco district and buildings for the enjoyment of us all and the future gen of tourists. Great cause...great tour!

Helpful?
Thank ChixRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent insight to fascinating and unique historic district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

The tour was a two hour long walking tour and very enjoyable. Really enjoyed learning about the architecture and colorful history of the area from a local's perspective (the woman who gave the tour grew up on South Beach and was excellent.) It's wonderful that this important historic district has been saved so that we can all enjoy it today. I highly recommend the tour; it was one of the highlights of our time in Miami. Go to http://www.mdpl.org for the website of the Miami Design Preservation League who runs to the tour and to learn more!

Helpful?
Thank ChaseAustinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

We did this tour on Sunday 15th June 2008 - 10:30, it was excellent and highly informative. A group of about 15 people, guide only spoke when stopped so no one missed any of the information. It took about 1.5 - 2 hours and cost $20 per person.

Note the starting location has moved as they are refurbishing their building on ocean drive over the next two years. To find the shop go to 12th street head away from Ocean Drive and on the right side just before the road that runs behind the back of the ocean front buildings is a temporary shop and the place where you can buy tour tickets and start the tour.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League also viewed

 

Been to The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing