We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League
Ranked #3 of 126 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sponsored by the Miami Design Preservation League, the daily walking tours of the Miami Beach historic district are a terrific way to see the amazing architecture of the area. The tour guides are knowledgable and helpful.The ninety-minute tour provides an introduction to the Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival, and Miami Modern (MiMo) styles found within the Miami Beach Architectural Historic District. Explore hotels, restaurants, and other commercial structures with a visit to a number of interiors. The tours depart from the Art Deco Gift Shop at 1001 Ocean Drive (at 10th Street) on the following schedule:Mondays at 10:30 am Tuesdays at 10:30 am Wednesdays at 10:30 am Thursdays at 6:30 pm Fridays at 10:30 am Saturdays at 10:30am Sundays at 10:30 am You do not need to make advance reservations - simply arrive at the Art Deco Gift Shop within 10-15 minutes of the scheduled departure time in order to purchase your ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I took the tour last week. Our guide Pamela was very passionate about the local architecture and provided great informations. Our tour was meant to last 90mn but was extended to over 2 hours. I also want to thank the other people at the Visitor Center for their help. I had a great day in Miami thanks to you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    106
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I took this walking tour with the guide Kent, who was very pleasant and knowledgable. He explained the history of Miami Beach, the history of Art Deco and the meaning of its features, and we visited and discussed several hotels on Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue and around. He also offered some information on where to eat / drink in Miami Beach for a reasonable price - which I see that some other reviewers have criticised but personally I found this very useful as only the evening before I had been unpleasantly surprised by an unexpectedly large bill at a restaurant. Kent took the group into several hotels to point out interior features and also explained that some other hotels do not wish groups to enter but that we could visit on our own after the tour. So as we'll as the 90 minute tour I also had a few suggestions of places to visit afterwards, which I did! I found this tour good value for money at $20.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slickvic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art Deco History Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Jeff was our guide for the Thursday evening tour on Sept 5th, and we learned a lot from him. At $20 per person, it was worth the cost and the time, a full 90 min, to get an inside look at the design of buildings from the '20's and '30's in South Beach. Jeff shared the history of the preservation efforts, why it's important, the background for the 3 design styles, and insight into the details of the design features used in the buildings we visited, including the process of updated lighting design and how new construction blends into the historic district's original buildings. The tour added a great deal of appreciation for the area we were exploring on vacation.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The knowledge is superb. Interesting personal stories & answers to questions. Guides are very good. We took the MiMo once a month tour & unfortunately didn't take the Art Deco daily one- next time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prettyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

kenn finkel is an excellent guide. Very profesional. He gave us papers material and advice to see anothers places after the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivicito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League also viewed

 

Been to The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing