We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League
Ranked #4 of 131 Tours in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sponsored by the Miami Design Preservation League, the daily walking tours of the Miami Beach historic district are a terrific way to see the amazing architecture of the area. The tour guides are knowledgable and helpful.The ninety-minute tour provides an introduction to the Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival, and Miami Modern (MiMo) styles found within the Miami Beach Architectural Historic District. Explore hotels, restaurants, and other commercial structures with a visit to a number of interiors. The tours depart from the Art Deco Welcome Center at 1001 Ocean Drive (at 10th Street) on the following schedule: Daily, Monday through Sunday at 10:30 am and every Thursday evening at 6:30 pm. You do not need to make advance reservations - simply arrive at the Art Deco Welcome Center within 10-15 minutes of the scheduled departure time in order to purchase your ticket.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype, and more”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the largest and most interesting historic districts anywhere in the U.S., and would take several days to see adequately if you really like Art Deco. By all means take the walking tour offered by the local Art Deco preservation group, you will learn things way beyond what you can read in any guidebook. This district, coupled with one of the nicest beaches in the U.S. and great nightlife and shopping around Lincoln Rd. explains why Miami is now one of the most attractive destinations in the U.S., especially for Europeans. Do plan a visit, if you like this kind of destination you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank stoptravelscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    108
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Art Deco walking tour”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tour was excellent,educational and funny. The tour guide was was very well versed in all aspects of the Art Deco era of Miami beach. This tour also brought back memories of my childhood vacationing in Miami beach. A must see

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank holly62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Audio Tour - Ok, not worth $15”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We decided we wanted to do the Art Deco Walking Tour but the guided ones at 10.30am were not convenient so opted for the audio tour.

It was ok. The Art Deco Welcome Center on Ocean Drive gives you a small MP3 player and headphones and it lasts about an hour.

It highlights the buildings, gives you a bit of history about the area and the Miami Design Preservation League's efforts over the years. It's just not the most engaging audio i have ever heard in my life.

It takes you on loop (heading north to begin with) that gives you a taster of the art deco buildings, but by no means all of them. It features the 'Versace' mansion but oddly does not refer to him by name.

I'm sure a guided tour would be preferable - so long as the tour guide is lively and not too dry.

So in summary: it was ok, bits of the audio were interesting but i don't think it's worth $15.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter-Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdpl76, Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
As a a non-profit organization devoted to preserving, protecting, and promoting the Art Deco Historic District, where historic preservation is a concern, we want to create awareness of our plight. We want our tour participants to be provided with the best information available, learn about the importance of preservation and leave having had the best experience possible. Our Audio Tour was voted Best of the Best by the Miami New Times - "Best Value on Ocean" and receives many awards and great reviews, so we are surprised to have received this review. Regardless, we are sorry you did not fully enjoy the tour and would love to offer you a complimentary guided tour. We think you would enjoy the interaction with the guide better. Additionally, we would like to let you know that it is in our plans to revamp the Audio Tour and have taken your concerns into consideration as we improve upon our Audio Tour. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Waste of our time and money, lousy boring guide”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I hope I am writing this review about the correct organiser. We took a tour from the Art Deco Center on the corner of Ocean Drive and 10 th street.

Our tour guide Matt was uninspiring, unlively, quite dull, slow and after 1 hour we had barely seen anything. He could not manage to bring history to life and breath wonder in these wonderful buildings. We left the tour at 7. 45, bored and tired. A waste of our money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdpl76, Manager at The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your tour. Matt normally receives great reviews and has been a wonderful and loyal tour guide and board member for years. Perhaps, he had an of day. either way we sincerely apologize. We have taken your review seriously and we always appreciate comments that help us improve our tours. Please come back for a complimentary tour another time, we truly believe that you will enjoy our tour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guided MDPL Miami Beach Art Deco Walking Tour”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We learned a great deal about Miami Beach's Art Deco heritage in a short time, met other admirers and had a pleasant walk in the area, all at the same time! Howard Brayer, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the building styles and history, and helped us understand and see the local buildings in a new way. We enjoyed, on our own subsequent walks, identifying for ourselves various buildings and architectural elements as Art Deco, Mediterranean Revival or Miami Modern.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGCVBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League also viewed

 

Been to The Official Art Deco Walking Tour by the Miami Design Preservation League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing